Journal logo

7 Books I Want To Write

Including WIPs

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
7 Books I Want To Write
Photo by fotografierende on Unsplash

For all the hundreds of works I’ve published, there’s thousands upon thousands that have never reached the page. I’ve been a part of over a dozen books, and I still have many plans to write more. They’ve covered many aspects, poetry, sci-fi, romance and fantasy. There are seven from the top of my head, that I really want to write, publish and share with the world. Some of them I have started, some of them I haven‘t. I’ve got 3 WIP drafts at the moment and some of them are readily available online whilst others are still trapped in my head, waiting to go on the page.

By Lucas Santos on Unsplash

Playing Poetry

As a girl who loves playing video games and writing poetry, I would at some point love to make a poetry book about video games. There’s so much emotion from gaming that could stem into a poetry epic like rage quitters, kick starter projects, the process of making games and playing them. The gaming industry has changed a lot over the years. Gaming does not cause violence in real life, regardless of what people believe. The gaming community does contain some of the most caring and toxic spaces out there. I love how interactive it is, and poetry too is also interactive in it’s own special way. I plan between 30-50, but I might end up writing more poems for this one.

I’m thinking about writing poetry about video game characters, Easter eggs, nostalgic joys, adorable mascots and the feel of controllers. I’ve ot a lot of ideas and Ineed to sit down and plan all these out. This has been a book idea in my head for years. It wouldn’t surprise if there isn’t already a couple of video game poems out there.

By Dan Gold on Unsplash

Eating Poetry

This could be a counterpart ot my first book, Drinking Poetry. In Drinking Poetry, I wrote 50 poems. In some of the other poetry books, I only managed 30. For me, as long as he inspiration is there, Eating Poetry could be either 30, 50 or 70 pages. Eventually the plan is to get all my poetry books together for one big poetry book called Life With Poetry. I’m also inspired to update my other poetry books, Travelling Poetry, Loving Poetry & Loving Poetry and eventually add their poem count from 30 to 50. However, I feel that turning seven little poetry books into one big poetry book sounds more economical.

Eating Poetry would be a collection of poetry inspired by my favourite meals and I would seep in facts, opinions and other facts about the food. Maybe I could have a poem about an apple that’s shaped as an apple.

By Gaby Baldiskaite on Unsplash

Matcha Lattes & Cherry Blossoms

This is one of the prequels to Game of Mass Destruction. The main character, Yuzuko lives in a futuristic Kyoto. Due to the declining population, and Covid wiping out a lot of the population, the goverment goes to extreme lengths to increase their population by forcing school kids to get married and have children. I never had the place to explore this concept in the novel as it was about the game show, but in this book I plan to explore Yuzuko’s world and also how she fell for Sakura and how her husband, Hiroki died. It will also feature dancing robots.

By Manki Kim on Unsplash

No Tea, No Sanity

Another prequel to Game of Mass Destruction. This time it’s about Lavender Knickers who was well liked for her name. The closure of Sensei Lee’s Bubble Tea Palace exposes the toxic friendship between four young women. Lavender has once again split up with her boyfriend, Christian Strippers. Whilst trying to get him back, she finds out her three best friends have also fallen for him and they end up fighting for him.

By Oğuz Şerbetci on Unsplash

Taegong

This is inspired by listening to t.A.T.u. and BTS. BTS is one of the biggest bands in the world right now, and South Korea’s biggest export. I love the positive vibes a lot of K-Pop music have, but I’ve been finding it hard to listen to because of the horrific regimes, body shaming and diets hey have to go through. Watching a lot of videos expose the K-Pop industry puts me off listening to it quite a bit, But I do like some songs from BTS and Black Valentine.

t.A.T.u. were a Russian duo I listened to a lot. Even though their romance was fake and they were heavily sexualised, I still loved Yulia and Lena’s vocals. I loved their hits and liked a lot of their albums. It’s a shame Yulia and Lena are no longer on speaking terms, which leaves any chance of a reunion, let alone a new album unlikely. To this day, they’re still one of Russia’s biggest exports.

Both these bands really inspired me to want to write Taegong. It’s about a former K-pop idol, Dal Gong-gi forming a duo with upcoming idol, Gang Taeyang. Dal Gong-gi is forced to do it as punishment for breaching his old contract with his last band.

As crazy as it sounds, K-Pop idols aren’t allowed to have relationships because they have to be ready for their fans.

By Stephen Leonardi on Unsplash

Caged & Framed

This was a story I started, but abandoned for a long time. It’s about James O’Quinn who was wrongly imprisoned for raping his wife. I only got up to the bit where he finds his aunt has transitioned into a woman and is so far the only person James knows that is willing to take him in. The plan for this was that James’ favourite rapper gets arrested for rape, and James wants to help him as he believes that his idol is innocent.

James has to live with the consequences of his ex-wife’s lies and by doing so, he also discovers that her lies have ruined other people’s lives, including thier son. I never decided if the rapper is actually guilty or not, but I still want a surprise twist in somewhere.

By Andy Kelly on Unsplash

Sequel to Game of Mass Destruction

My boyfriend reads a lot of my Vocal articles. He read 30 facts about Game of Mass Destruction where I had an idea for a spin-off novel where it’s written in the points of view of Lavender, Yuzuko and Aron. He said to me, why don’t you just write a sequel instead of writing the same story again. That’s when all the ideas started coming to me.

Without spoiling the ending to Game of Mass Destruction, I had ideas about diplomatic immunity being questioned. Countries where they had contestants killed seeking justice via protests. The consequences that the contestants had to deal with on the show, and how they meet other survivors.

I don’t think Yuzuko’s character arc is finished. Maybe’s haunted by the spirits of those who died. I think the ending I wrote has given even more questions instead of giving answers. The threads are still loose. However, Yuzuko does gain knowlege of things that were sheltered from her, and I want to explore what she does with it.

career
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.