Interview logo

Interview with Simkee123

Getting to know the Wattpad Authors

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Simkee123 (Elizabeth) is a passionate bookworm whose favourite authors include greats like J.K. Rowling and Terry Pratchett. She has one book out on Wattpad called Up In Flames. I started a project to interview as many Wattpad writers as I could to get a taste of other people's writing journeys. I've been writing for a very long time and I've had people both online and offline help me a lot along the way so I thought it was my turn to help give back to the writing community by helping promote their work as well. I asked them all the same questions, but got very different responses.

First of all, thank you very much for taking part in this project with me. I hope you get as much out of this as I do.

Chloe Gilholy: What made you become a writer?

Simkee123 (Elizabeth): Before I became a writer, I was (and still am) an avid reader. The more I read, the more ideas popped into my head until one day I decided that they might be worth sharing. Ever since I've fallen in love with writing.

What brought you to Wattpad?

I stumbled upon Wattpad entirely by accident. I'd run out of new things to read and all of the novels I had on my to-be-read list were waitlisted, so I searched on google for new stories, and voila!

What is the latest project you’re working on?

I'm currently working on an ongoing story called Up in Flames. It's a romance, since that is one of my favorite genres, but I tend to prefer romances where it's at least 85 percent really intriguing characters and 15 percent romance. Since I'm a bit older than a lot of the writers I've seen, I tend to lean towards slow burn stories because it's just not realistic to me to see someone and instantly be head over heels; there has to be more there.

Have you ever been published outside of Wattpad?

Nope, I've never been ballsy enough to post anything else publicly.

What’s your greatest achievement as a writer?

Honestly, finishing a story (which is still unpublished). I work one full time job, one after hours job, and have a husband with two kids, so finishing anything is an accomplishment.

What are your writing goals?

Honestly, finishing a story (which is still un-published). I work 1 full time job, 1 after hours job, and have a husband with 2 kids, so finishing anything is an accomplishment.

7. What’s your favourite thing about writing for Wattpad?

The ability to write, but be able to interact with the readers. I feel like getting input and constructive criticism so easily is incredibly helpful.

8. What’s your pet peeves about writing for Wattpad?

How hard it is to be noticed and get your book seen; especially when you are a new writer.

9. Aside from Wattpad, are there any other sites you’ve written for?

Nope

10. Where do you see your writing journey in five years?

Hopefully to have at least 1 story traditionally published.

11. How would you feel about someone making fanwork based on your stories?

Honestly, I'd be flattered.

12. Which Wattpad books, that you’ve written do you feel best displays your writing talents?

Since I've only got the one I'm working on, I'd say that one. =0)

Thank you for taking the time to do the interview with me. I wish you the best of luck in your writing journey. As for everyone else, I hope you stick around. Stay tuned as I plan on uploading more of the interviews onto this site very soon.

Wattpad seems to have a reputation for stories of recycled plots, romantic cliches and bad boys and good girls. If you dig deeper into Wattpad, then you will find there are some great stories out there. Some of them are even making it through to the big screens and Netflix.

Creators
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.