Interview logo

Interview With Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

Mariann Carroll’s First Vocal Blog Interview

By Mariann CarrollPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
37
Photo provided by: Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran has received many Top Stories recognition on Vocal. She is also one of Vocal’s Horror Top Creators.

April 20, 2023

Welcome to MariannCarroll’s Vocal Interview Blog. Today, I was given the honor to interview Dharrsheena Raja Segarran.

I interviewed, Dharrsheena from Facebook messager. It took me two days to interview her due to our time differences.

Mariann (New York, USA) : Can I interview you for my Vocal Interview Story Blog?

Dharrsheena (Malaysia): Oh wowww. That's soooo nice of you. Yea sure. I mean, thank you so much, this is like a huge honour. 🥰🥰🥰

Mariann: When did you realized you wanted to write?

Dharrsheena: I've always loved writing. Before my teenage years, if my teacher assigned us to write a one-page essay, I would write five. During high school, my teacher would look for essay-writing competitions for us to enter. My friends hated it but I enjoyed them so much!

I didn't write much after that as I went to university and started working. But in June 2021, I had to quit my job due to a decline in my mental health. In February 2022, I started writing again because my therapist suggested that I do something I was passionate about. I found Vocal during that time too and decided to publish my writing

Well, I hope that answers your question. I've always wanted to write!

Mariann: How long does it take you to write a story on Vocal?

Dharrsheena: Approximately a week. I usually only start writing once I have the story fully planned out beginning to end in my head. So it takes about 1 to 2 hours to finish typing it out. The way I do it is, I don't make sure my sentences or grammar are perfect as I type. I do a very lazy job.

The next day, I proofread my story. I either add or remove certain parts of the plot and dialogues. Then the next day, I check for spelling mistakes. The next day for grammar mistakes. I don't check everything at the same time to avoid getting overwhelmed. So this process takes about a week.

Poems are written much faster but just like stories, I proofread them each day for a week before publishing.

Mariann: What is your real life schedule? How do you fit your writing in your schedule?

Dharrsheena: Ugh, my schedule is very boring. If I don't have any hospital appointments or errands to run, I'm always at home. My mornings are usually filled with reading in the Vocal groups. Afternoons to evenings are usually my writing/proofreading time. If I'm not writing/proofreading, I'll either be promoting my older stories on Facebook or watching a movie. Nights before bedtime, I'm usually scrolling through TikTok.

Mariann: What do you like most to write about?

Dharrsheena: I would definitely say stories. Horror specifically. Though I try to insert some subtle humour into it. To give a more wtf effect hahaha.

Mariann: What’s your main goal in writing?

Dharrsheena: Hmmm, goals. I'm not the kinda person to set a goal. I tend to get very obsessive over things. So if I set a goal, I would feverishly work towards it until I overwhelm myself too much. So I just tend to go with the flow.

Mariann: Where do you get your ideas for your stories?

Dharrsheena: Oooo, this is a good question. Sometimes they just pop into my head. Even I would be like whoa, where did that come from. Then I'll just wait for my brain to come up with a plot for that idea. If it does, I proceed with the story. If it doesn't, I'll just put it into my ideas for stories list

Sometimes, I get ideas from friends. The Phantomic Coffee was inspired by Cathy Holmes.

Mariann: Where were you born? How many Siblings ? What’s the best word to describe yourself?

Dharrsheena: I was born in Selangor, Malaysia. I'm an only child. Not as cool as people portray it to be. It sucks. Big time. Hahaha. Best word to describe me, hmmm, that's a tough one. Let's see. I think 'crazy' would be suitable, lol!

Mariann : I find you fun, smart and beautiful person inside and out from all our interactions on Vocal and Facebook.

My next question, What’s your favorite stories you wrote and why?

Dharrsheena: My favorite would probably be The Phantom of the Lake. I'm a firm believer of karma and reincarnation, and I incorporated them into this story. I'm very happy with the way this story turned out.

Mariann: What does your writing space look like?

Dharrsheena: My writing space is my bedroom. It's plain and simple. Just my laptop on my table. That's it. Nothing fancy.

Mariann: Do you base your stories’ characters on real people?

Dharrsheena: Nope, all my characters are purely fictional. None of them are based on real people except the ones in my story Hostel Life Shenanigans. All characters in that story are real people whose names I've changed, including mine.

I have an upcoming story titled 'Don't Be A Mommy's Boy'. This is just a temporary title, I might change it later before publishing it. All the characters except one in that story are real people whose names I've changed.

Mariann: I look forward to reading your latest story. 🥰

I have some extra question and I will finish the interview with the first story I read of yours . All your stories I loved even if I was not into Horror stories at first . You helped me conquer the stigma I had of them.

We will get a little personal with these bonus questions.

What’s your favorite book to read and why?

Dharrsheena: Favorite book, that's a tough one. My favorite author is R. L. Stine. He's the author of the well known Goosebumps series. He's the reason I started reading horror stories. His books are my favourite! Sorry but I just can't choose one

Mariann: Why do you like Horror stories?

Dharrsheena: That's a very good question. I'm autistic and have ADD, so I always find it difficult to focus on things for a long time. Horror kinda holds my focus longer than any other genre would. I'm not sure if that's why I love horror stories so much. It sometimes help me ground myself, if that makes sense?

Mariann: If you can interview anyone on Vocal who would he/she be and why?

Dharrsheena: I recently discovered Stephen Avitable (Stephen Kramer Avitable in Vocal). His horror stories are really good. I found myself going to his profile whenever I'm free because I couldn’t get enough of his stories. I then invited him to the Vocal groups in Facebook. It would be great to interview him!

Mariann: What’s your favorite Horror movie?

Dharrsheena:Oooo, I have so many that I like. I think I'll go with Terrifier. Art the Clown was fantastic in the movie! It was so gory and creepy. It even has a sequel, Terrifier 2. I feel the first one is better than the sequel though

Mariann: Thank you, Dharrsheena Raja Segarran letting us in your writing world. Thank you for all the questions you have answered.

Readers, you may not know but Dharrsheena is also a Certified Nutritionist. She has articles on Vocal on nutrition diets. I will end this interview with the first story of hers that I read. I enjoyed this interview and was very excited to get her respond to the questions.

I hope you enjoyed this interview vocal readers especially fans of Dharrsheena.

Authors
37

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Loved this! So ggod to learn more about Dharrsheena! 🤍

  • Aleena Huda7 months ago

    Thank you Mariann for interviewing One of my favorite Vocal authors.

  • F. Leonora Solomon11 months ago

    oh Mariann, so happy i found this interview. love Dharrsheena on this platform and it was really cool to learn about her and find out about these other stories!

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Thank you so much for interviewing Dharrsheena! I was missing in action from Vocal+ for sometime. On my return I received a comment from an encouraging and beautiful soul. I subscribed and have been hooked. She is one of my favourite writers. An active participant on the Vocal Facebook Groups. This interview has been a delight to read. Pauline 🌸

  • Veronica Coldiron12 months ago

    Great interview!! Also one of my favorite Vocal authors!

  • Chloe Gilholyabout a year ago

    I remember Goosebumps from school.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Wow! Thank you so much for interviewing Dharrsheena! She is such a sweet soul. But she definitely has a stronger spine and stomach than me. I couldn't bear to watch the trailer of Terrifier let alone watch the movie 🙀

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    Really great questions, Mariann Carroll! Loved learning a bit more about Dharsheena - I've seen her name everywhere but not had a chance to connect. Thank you for taking the time to help us get to know our wonderful creators more 🤗 You're doing a wonderful job!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Great interview! I love Dharrsheena and her writing so much. Red Partner, it was so great to get to know you a little bit more! 🤗 I felt really enlightened by your "week long' writing process and how you dedicate each day to a separate purpose. I feel I must try! 😍

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Very cool interview! 😎 Well done Mariann and Dharrsheena ❤️

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Perfect person for this. A brilliant writer with a heart of gold. Always there with a positive comment.

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Thanks so much for sharing this interview with Dharrsheena Mariann!! I really enjoyed it.😊💗 I love interacting with Dharrsheena on here. While I haven’t written as many pieces like many of you have, Dharrsheena was so supportive to me shortly after I started on Vocal a year and a half ago, both on msg boards here and behind the scenes. I’m always super keen to see what she creates next as I love her use of humour and suspense, even if I don’t like the gore so much at times. Haha. 😂 There’s a lot of love on this board below and I can also feel it in my fingertips.

  • Thank you for doing this, Mariann. I love Dharrsheena's writing, too! I don't know if she remembers, but earlier this year we bonded a little over both of us being autistic. We didn't talk too much of her ADD, probably because it would have clashed with my OCD, lol. I'd never heard of the Terrifier movies before. I don't think they made it to any theaters in our area. Thanks again to both of you for sharing yourselves with us. Blessings.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Loved finding out more about Dharrsheena

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Loved finding out more about Dharrsheena

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    A lovely interview of Dharrsheena! I enjoyed reading about her creative process, and can totally relate!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    I really enjoy getting to know the Vocal creators better. Dharrsheena is a talented writer. Great interview, good job to you both!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Always love learning more about the Mistress of Horror :) Dharrsheena, you are one in a million! Wonderful interview.

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    R.L. Stine is a favorite author of mine too. Horror terrified me as a child. So, I stayed away from his books cause some horror movies were just too real and residing outside of the uncanny valley. R.L. Stine's horror was perfectly made for kids, and I oddly enough, felt safe reading them no matter what. I will admit though, I was creeped out when I read "Bleach" manga. The thought that a spirited being could be around me and I wouldn't know, let alone have the potential weaponry to fight back for my own self-defense sent shivers up my spine, and I like anime and manga. A real creepy anime though was "Ghost Hunters." They way they incorporated Japanese culture into the horror and detective work in there was spectacular. So, get out of Your comfort zone, but You don't always have to dive headfirst into things. Nice interview, Mariann. What made You decide to start doing them?

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    There is such warmth in this. It emanates off the screen. Lovely. ❤

  • Kelly Robertsonabout a year ago

    So wonderful to read and get to know you better, Dharrsheena! You're an amazing writer and such a supportive and encouraging person to everyone here! Thank you for putting this together, Mariann!

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Thank you both!! I loved the interview questions and answers! So honest and helpful. i.e. I thought, my stories would be better too if I took my time and didn't just throw something out there off the top of my head!! And a list of topics for later is great. I have had that once but haven't kept it up. Thank you😊💕😊💕

  • How foolish of me! 🤦‍♀️ I've been replying to the comments here but I forgot to leave a comment for you, my dear sweet Mariann. I was so surprised when you asked me if you can interview me. I felt like I'm not interview material. An impostor to be more accurate, lol. But I decided to rise above my insecurities and agree for the interview I gotta admit, I was very nervous thinking about the questions you were gonna ask because I'm quite a private person. But your questions were brilliant! I was so comfortable answering them! You didn't rush me for anything. You were so nice the whole way. I'm so grateful for this opportunity. Thank you so much! 💖💖💖

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Aww...what a treat from two of the sweetest ladies on Vocal! Awesome work! I loved your interview questions Mariann! I hope that this interview receives a TOP STORY! You deserve more time in the sun & More people need to be exposed to Dharsheena's (Shee Shee's) writing genius! You gals rock! 😍 Thx 4 sharing your gifts🎁🎁 with us! :)

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    Fantastic insight into a beautiful Soul. Great interview.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.