Interview logo

Interview with Author Mike Singleton

"I love the Sonnet and Villanelle forms and have learned to adapt them with other forms."

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 11 months ago 6 min read
Top Story - July 2023
42
Mike Singleton - Photo courtesy of guest

Today, I'm excited to feature one of the most beloved members of our Vocal community: Mike Singleton.

Mike is a creator, analyst, lover of books, music and people, as well as a proud grandfather. He has been a blogger for 16 years and on Vocal for more than two.

Cendrine Marrouat: Hello, Mike! How did you get started as a writer? Any particular story?

Mike Singleton: Like many people I had always wanted to write a book, but when I first tried it was with a typewriter, then came computers, but I have always failed in that particular area. There are many book crashes in my past.

With the Internet, I started doing web sites, and was on Myspace and the like, and then a friend started a blog. He published two excellent articles and then stopped. Almost all my blogger friends started and then stopped, even the writers.

I created a site called Song of the Salesman featuring Music in Adverts and that was quite lucrative, but was essentially to demonstrate that I could create sites using certain technologies to help me get back into work. It did die off due to Shazam and the changing methods on how people listen to music.

I then started Seven Days In, which I saw as a travel blog but became a sort of online diary, and I wrote on that most days for about fifteen years. It is still going at the moment but is mostly notes on the books that I am reading, and for some reason is getting over 3K visits a day (robots from Singapore) at the moment. When Vocal came along, that kicked off my writing that people see now.

Until Vocal I had done little fiction and poetry, but the prompts from the challenges and the encouragement of friends that I met on Vocal have given me the confidence to write.

I never thought that it would happen but I have five self published anthologies on Amazon, so Vocal has enabled a dream of mine.

There is still no novel… yet.

CM: How does creativity speak to you? And how do you approach your writing process, especially as a poet?

MS: I really cannot explain this but I can say what happens. I have a Muse and speak to them every day. That just seems to release things for me. I will then see or hear something and a story or poem will come.

Before Vocal, I didn’t write much poetry. Then there was a Summer Sonnet Challenge, so I took the format and wrote something that fitted. I like the challenge of fitting into a defined format, although most of the top Story poems on Vocal are fairly freeform.

I love the Sonnet and Villanelle forms and have learned to adapt them with other forms.

The feedback I get tells me that I am doing the right thing, so much so that I once made a poem from comments that people had left on my work.

I sometimes write freeform but feel that I am being a bit lazy when I do that. However if I think the end product is good then I will share it.

CM: How would you define your style? Is there one piece you wrote that sums up who you are as a writer? Why?

I think one of the reasons Vocal doesn’t see me as a serious creator (that is Vocal as opposed to my Audience, Friends and Me) is because every piece can be on something totally different. Images you subscribe to in a magazine, one week it’s about birds, the next it’s on Formula One, the next it’s on Trawler Etiquette, which makes it difficult for people to get a handle on me. They like to put others in boxes and I think I am unboxable.

Many other creators have defined styles but I feel that I am like a box of random fireworks that someone threw a couple of lit matches into.

The piece I am probably most proud of is “Another Raven” because, while it was based on another person’s work, it showed that I can be disciplined to get things right.

I do write a lot about myself, which must make it difficult to interview me, because people do want to learn something new.

Maybe this by Melissa Ingoldsby says something about me.

I am a Top Contributor in Vocal Confessions so maybe that will contain something too. This was the last one.

CM: You are the author of several books, including The Ha'Penny Dreadful: A Collection of Unusually Worrying Stories, A Book Of Poems For The Twenty First Century, and The Girl With The Sun And Moon. Would you tell us the stories behind those titles?

MS: The first one was a complete accident, I was testing out self-publication for a close friend and then this happened.

The second one was a test run for the third one, which was a collection of poems for my muse, and the title was taken from her favourite poem, which I had written for her at the time.

They are all collections of Vocal stories and poems. The Girl With The Sun And The Moon is a wooden statue in Pannett Park in Whitby, a place I love to visit for a few days.

CM: What has been your most challenging book project so far? And which release has been the most successful? Why do you think that is?

MS: Every new book project is more challenging than the last because I want to make everything better than the last. My most successful one is my first release just because of the time it has been available.

I am only putting them out because I finally have the ability to collect my work in print, and if anyone else wants to pick up on that, then I will be happy, but I don’t really market them.

CM: What is one of your writing quirks that you feel makes you unique among your peers?

MS: I am probably the only writer who will not now how the story is going to unfold when I start. Sometimes I don't even know the ending. I remember seeing an episode of Hamish MacBeth, where three gangsters standing on a moor have just buried their fourth member, and his mobile phone goes off. I think that Danny Boyle thought of that ending and then wrote the episode around it. I sometimes do that too.

I feel I am quite unstructured and undisciplined but I am always confident that the end product will be excellent, and usually I am right.

CM: What do you want people to learn from your work?

MS: I often leave stories open ended hoping people will work out the finale for themselves.

I do a lot of pieces on how to do things and I hope that people learn something from them that makes their creative life better.

I also want people to feel encouraged by my work and show them that it is fine to step outside the mainstream.

CM: What is your most important piece of advice to other writers?

MS: Be Yourself, that is something that no one else can do. Only You.

CM: Anything else people should know?

MS: I am thinking of expanding "The Sandman and the Seagirl" into a book, but there are only five Vocal stories, about four thousand words so far.

I intend to create an anthology for the Plagiaristic Poetry series.

Also to keep writing and keep entertaining people.

Support Mike Singleton’s work!

----------

Interested in being featured too? I would love to hear from you!

Check out my guidelines below:

----------

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

CreatorsAuthors
42

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey11 months ago

    Wow Mike has definitely done a variety of projects, It was nice to hear more about him

  • Denise E Lindquist11 months ago

    Very nice interview and a great choice for an interviewee!! 😊💕

  • The Dani Writer11 months ago

    Fantastic coverage of an unofficial official Vocal icon! YAY!

  • Abby Kay Mendonca11 months ago

    Love reading Mike’s works! Such a talent. Great piece about him.

  • Zohaib Iqbal11 months ago

    Hi, please readout my stories for sporting me I will be very thankful to you

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    This was a great interview with Mike, an integral part of our community. Congrats to both of you on a well deserved Top Story! 🥂

  • Thank you all very much for your comments!

  • Test11 months ago

    Great interview. Nice to get to know Mike a little better! Congratulations on Top Story 👏Pernoste

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    A great insight into the way Mike works. We are all different, but I think we all have similarities that we don't realise are similar until we say them aloud. It's nice to know we aren't the only ones :)

  • Mark Graham11 months ago

    Great interview. I learned a lot about your style and Mike's. Have you interviewed people before?

  • I especially love all of Mike's dark poetry and currently I'm enjoying this Plagiarist Poetry Series! Awesome interview!

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    Lovely interview! Congrats on TS, and thank you Mike for sharing your process. I love that Vocal has been a vessel for you to achieve your writing goals and dreams. Keep it up!

  • Caroline Jane11 months ago

    This is an excellent interview. So many accomplishments Mike. Did you ever write an article on how you set up your first book to be published? I would like to read it if you did because I missed it! Thank you. BTW... Vocal would not be the same without you.. juat sayin'!!! 🤗

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Fantastic interview, Cendrine! I loved learning about Mike and his process! My favorite line: "I feel that I am like a box of random fireworks that someone threw a couple of lit matches into." SO perfect! Looking forward to exploring more of Mike's work!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Great work. It was nice to learn more about Mike and what makes him who he is.

  • Alex H Mittelman 11 months ago

    Great interview! Well done!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Wonderful interview, Cendrine! Mike is an excellent choice. I look forward to reading more of his work and yours.

  • JBaz11 months ago

    Great person for an interview, Mike is a staple and well loved by all. His work ethic is insane, the number of good work he produces is proof of that. Well done Cendrine.

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    This was excellent! Congratulations on Top Story! I loved reading more about Mike's process. For one, I love that Mike is "unboxable" - it's one of the things I look forward to when logging on to Vocal: "What is Mikey writing about today?" - the answer always surprises and delights me. Plus, there is always an abundance of writing to explore on his profile. I'm never disappointed. :) There is so much rich advice in this article, from perseverance (blogging for sixteen years! 👏🏻) to the beauty of being yourself. Wonderful job and hats off to both Mike and Cendrine. This was a fantastic interview. 💓

  • Test11 months ago

    Congrats on the top story! What an excellent interview :)

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    Excellent and professional interview! I love Mike! He’s my brother and great friend! Excellent work incorporating all his expertise and skills in your interview 😊and thanks Mike for the shout out for the poem I wrote for you!🥰

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    I appreciate your polished style, Cendrine. I am not skilled, I believe, in interviewing people. This is something I'd like to improve, and reading your work is quite instructional.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Kudos to both of you for a great interview. Mike and I have a few things in common where work history is concerned and he's one of my most respected Vocal poets.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story, definitely the writer got this

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.