Poets logo

The Humble Poet

Mike, a dedicated friend and amazing writer

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
17
The Humble Poet
Photo by Free Old Photos on Unsplash

This poem is dedicated to a dear friend and fellow Vocal creator, Mike Singleton - Mikeydred. He is a truly humble poet, thus the title, and has an expansive and highly expressive portfolio of poetry and stories. The intense rawness in the way he creates his craft has a very palpable intimacy that is inspirational and full of heart. I have collaborated with Mike so far on two poems, and I feel his talent and highly mature perspective on poetry has helped me grow as a writer. He is my brother from another mother, as I so often tell him! Here is my take on a sonnet, hopefully it is correct!

Here is his profile, give it a look!

*******

He leaves his mark on your heart, a friend, true

His words carry melted fall leaves, dreams bloom

A dreamscape that lends to heartstrings, crisp blue

A majesty of colors, the feelings, he leaves room

—-

A kind word, his heart is bright, a warm hug

Always a dedicated brother, affirmed

Not to be ignored, honest words, never smug

A poet in every aspect, I learned

-

He paints love in every picture, fresh art

His muse brings so much beauty, in life and word

Bringing in every inspiration, heart

Each sentiment, longing, his thoughts never blurred

—-

A teacher, someone that does not give up

Tears, warmth, his unique story, my heart struck

vintage
17

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER12 months ago

    I just stumbled upon your poem, a tribute to Mike, after using the link in Cendrine's interview of him. One of your phrases will live with me now because I love it: "His words carry melted fall leaves..." Thank you. 💜

  • This was a very beautiful and touching tribute to Mike! 💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.