Humor logo

Vocal Memes for Established Creators (Part III)

When life gives you lemons... cut them into circular slices and make them into sunglasses?

By J. R. LowePublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
10
Image by Pavel Danilyuk on Pexels

Ok, so I'm still working on the inspirational quote about life and lemons in the subtitle. It's been a work in progress ever since the first instalment of Vocal Memes for Established Creators, but we'll get there one day. Until then, you'll just have to put up with my half-baked inspirational quotes (sorry). Perhaps I should stop trying to rip off Dale Carnegie, and make an original quote, but then again, memes are almost entirely based on satire and unoriginal jokes, so it's kind of fitting in a way.

I have to admit, it's been a hot minute since the last Vocal Memes were released at the start of 2022. But hey, good things come in small packages, and... slowly. I'd like to make the usual comment and slide in the excuse that life has been rough and chaotic (blah, blah, blah... ain't it always?). To be quite frank though, life is a bumpy outback road filled with potholes, and I'm a Suzuki Swift. I'm not saying that's going to stop me from getting to where I need to be, but forgive me if I need to stop and change a tyre now and then.

Well, that's enough of the waffle and deep and meaningful car-related metaphors. Below you'll find eight brand-spanking-new Vocal themed memes (as well as a few complimentary motivational sentences) to get you through your next writing block. Enjoy!

#1 Losing your inspiration

1

Ever wonder why these instalments are always several months apart? The answer is a magical phenomenon I like to call procrastination, also known as being divinely uninspired. It happens to the best of us. But know this: you will get there. It may take a day, or a week, or a month (or in my case, six months), but sooner or later, you're going to have that 'Aha!' moment, and everything will fall in to place. Sometimes your brain just needs a little break from it all. Hang in there.

#2 People who DEMAND tips

2

It's unfortunate, but tip-pressuring has become an issue recently. Both the Vocal Social Society, and the Vocal & Medium Café have had reports of people harassing other creators for tips with persistent messages. Don't get me wrong, it's ok to tell your readers that you accept tips, and if you're leaving little notes in your articles like:

"If you liked my content, please subscribe, and if you loved it, I always appreciate tips."

Then this meme isn't about you. Who this meme is about though, are the people who persistently demand tips on social media... relentlessly, and rather bluntly might I add. Despite this, the two pages mentioned above are still wonderfully supportive communities 99.9% of the time and are fantastic platforms to connect with other creators. So please, don't ruin it with tip-pressuring... else you'll end up in a meme in Vocal Memes IV!

#3 Writing challenge dry spells

3

Perhaps not everyone can relate to this, but for me, I find there's nothing better to get the creative juices flowing than a writing prompt (I suppose the potential monetary reward is also a nice little bonus as well). But when you've written your entry, or entries, and there are no new challenges, sometimes the wait for the next one feels a little long.

#4 Losing challenges only makes you... ripped?

4

What would a Vocal Memes for Established Creators update be without the classic 'I didn't win a challenge' meme? But, as always, I encourage you to see the good in every negative situation that comes your way. No great writer ever achieved anything without some losses along the way.

#5 Damned be the typos!

5

I've come to the conclusion that typos are simply inevitable. For some reason, not matter how much proofreading you do, one or two will always slip through the cracks. So, whether you like it or not, they're gonna be there. Thank the heavens for Vocal's Quick Edit feature.

#6 Praise the Vocal Wallet

6

Ah yes, there's nothing like having a little extra turkey - I mean, cash - to dip into when you really need it. The holidays are always so expensive, so it's a huge relief when you have a little extra money on the side you can access. Cheers, Vocal.

#7 Crushed hopes

7

There's nothing like a Top Story to get your hopes up about winning a Vocal Challenge. I'm sorry to say it, but just because you get a Top Story, it doesn't mean you're going to win the challenge. Then again, if someone chose your piece for a Top Story, then they did it for a reason. So maybe your hopes should be up. Just don't hold on to that hope too tightly...

#8 The comments feature

8

And finally, we can't conclude this edition without a meme about Vocal's shiny new comments feature. I'm sure we can all relate when I say, the comments feature was a huge upgrade we'd been waiting on for a while. So on that note, let me know what you think in the comments below!

And that's all for this instalment!

As always, I can't stress enough the importance of humour - it really is the remedy for, well, all of life's inconveniences. Until next time!

Looking for more memes? Check out part four below!

humor
10

About the Creator

J. R. Lowe

By day, I'm a PhD student, by night.... I'm still a PhD student, but sometimes I procrastinate by writing on Vocal. Based in Australia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Ha! Comments absolutely eclipse insights. Your writing style in this series is so fun to read!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Enjoy it . Excellent. 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.