Humor logo

- Twins -

~ The Alpha ~

By Jay KantorPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
37
Original 'Schtick' Art © Kantor Kreations-Kolections

Nuts & Bolts – Kantor '©' Morning Sports Page –

— Just Us —

The sketch depicts from memory of a photo that hung on our Sisters' wall for years - We were about 3~ish with our matching striped shirts - and our Dog, 'Friskie.'

– SECRETS ABOUT TWINS –

🏆 The NERVE 🏆

The post-war so called 'Boomers' didn't have social-media or electronic devices/games that would occupy us much of the time; as this generation is engrossed-in. There were no instant digital recording phones to tell 'Our Kids Someday' about some standout events. Thanks to the V.M. Platform we can now offer our then non-digitally-archived life experiences, in which the next generations may enjoy, with these brief blueprints.

We relished outdoor activities—some really daring! The Beach Boys '60's Group sang about Fast Cars and Surfing; hence the 'In-Crowd' really jumped into these dangerous crazes with vigor.

My Twin, Lucky Lar, was way into drag-racing his modified Chevy. Although we didn't do any street racing, the San Fernando Drag Strip was close by where he could compete with his overwhelming competitive itch at 130+ mph —Whew the 'NERVE'...!

He would line his rear windows displaying 'Winner' decal-stickers. Later on when showing his Jensen Interceptor (British sports car) he won 'Trophies' 5 times in a row. Then he was asked NOT to show in certain competitions to give others a chance to 'SHINE'....!

His car landed on the cover of a national magazine. Proof is proudly framed ALL over his Corporate office walls, among other Trophy-Wins. Wife probably didn't want a Trophy-Wall hanging in HER hallway – Since she's the only In-House Trophy he would ever need!

Once married he was instructed to 'Grow-Up' and began driving a little Datsun (Nissan) Sedan; not a 'Match-Up.'

Then, of course, there's the 'World-Class-Poker-Player.' Don't know what took more 'NERVE' the Drag Strip or Bluffing in a High-Stake Poker Game – Or, messing with the I.R.S. for that matter.

Never to be identified as your stereotypical stuffed-shirt C.P.A. Along with his Tally-Up-Skills and large-staff administering expertise, his personality has kept butts in their seats across the desk from him, all of these years.

Contrasts — Stereotyping twins as being more alike than dissimilar is common:

Often it is said that 'Twins' are alike; well sometimes. Although our Sarcastic traits seem to be genetically implanted, others often are not tuned into it. Trophies are not me; different choices about almost everything else stand out. But, we could always 'see into' one anothers' differences, whether pointed out or not, better than we could ourselves. Perhaps too close to the shaded 'Family Tree' to see what may be shadowing us.

For Instance: Long ago Lar warned me, in his never subtle fashion, if I marry a woman I was then engaged to that I will turn into 'HER' – last name, identity and all. Once I absorbed this, I called off the wedding right before it started; numerous costly consequences and cleanup thereafter - She's probably the one who dodged the bullet.

— Do we see the world differently? —

The 'Twin-Stand-Alone-Theory' was always encouraged with us; especially in school. Never quite understood that, but I don't believe that 'Theory' is prevalent today.

We all have a choice; who's right? Things that may have motivated us, as individuals, to succeed: Power orientation ~ Fame orientation ~ Money orientation, even fear-of-failure orientation. No, I've never wanted to be the class President or win trophies, but I understand that he does, and good for him. In hind-sight I regret that I didn't listen to some of the advice he has given to me over the years, and vice versa!

But, Personality and Wise~Guy~Wise, pretty close; especially in the 'Sarcasm' department. We've always been there for one-another, no matter what. Special standout was when Rita died. Lucky-Lar sat alone (at 4:00 am) in the waiting room for me to come out, with a big-long-hug: Never forget that - Never enough payback - Hands down!

~ Always there if ever I fall ~

— The Other Brother —

Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California

Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

Family
37

About the Creator

Jay Kantor

Retired: Write for "The Kids Someday"

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • PK Colleran2 months ago

    Twin stories are always good because being a twin is something so special. Great family tale.

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    I wish we all were twins Jay. I sure could have used one growing up. So happy that you have one and a great relationship to boot. Be well and take care of yourself.

  • Margaret Brennan2 months ago

    That is so awesome. My brother was always like that for me. Although not twins, (he was 27 months older) he was my protector, friend, and hero. I lost him in 1995 when cancer decided to take him from me. Your story reminded me of our good times.

  • Kenny Penn2 months ago

    Jay you brought back some really good memories for me. Being a kid and listening to The Beach Boys with my Dad was always great. Your twin may be different but just as cool as you.

  • Grz Colm2 months ago

    How cool to have someone who is there for you even if you are similar but different! ☺️ I had a nice message from you recently Jay, but now it seems to have disappeared.. so thanks for that! Best.

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Fabulous family story!!! Loved the humorously written tale!!!💕❤️❤️

  • C. Rommial Butler2 months ago

    Brotherhood has fared me well too! Got several brothers from different mothers, and I could not be more proud of them all, and thankful for their help over the years, as they have been for mine (though perhaps they might have preferred it without the extra helping of Rommi's Big Mouth, at least in some cases!) This was a well-wrought and touching tribute, Jay!

  • Mother Combs2 months ago

    Dear Jay, Your brother sounds just as fascinating and kind as you are. The world is lucky to have two of you in it. Love, Mother

  • I relate so well with this J...My twin and I are so different (gender included) but incredibly connected. I would never want to be a single born! Thank you for sharing this story, such a pleasure to get to know more about you

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    How fortunate that you have someone that sees you so well! And, since you are his Bro—- Larry is truly Lucky

  • Ha! Good that there are differences. Can the world handle two of you?! I have always thought there was a special bond between twins.

  • Lana V Lynx2 months ago

    Loved this story, Jay. Growing up, I always dreamed of a twin or an older brother. But alas, I was a big sister to a 3-year-younger sis. It must be cool to know that there's another one who is always both like you and very different from you.

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Always thought it might be interesting to have a twin...but alas...that was not my calling in life lol. This was a great read - love the way you write and it was interesting finding out more about you and your twin, the similarities and differences!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Pretty interesting stuff, Jay... WAIT! there's TWO of you? That must have been a hoot growing up...Seriously though, I never knew you were a twin. I love hearing stories about twins and the phenomenon about being able to read each other's minds n stuff. No need for a psychic when you have a twin, lol. Thanks for sharing this and of course, love the artwork! FYI- I ended up watching old songs of the Temptation's music on You Tube for almost an hour after seeing your message. I will get to the movie soon! L-Bud

  • Hey Jay! I got a notification that you commented on my piece Harlequinade but your comment wasn't there when I clicked on it. So I decided to pay you a visit! I never knew you're a twin! Loved the genetically implanted sarcasm!

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Aww, I loved this story of nostalgia and brotherly love :)

  • Phil Flannery2 months ago

    What a great yarn. I'm a little jealous of your close connection to Lucky Lars. I am one of a dozen and my nearest brother was 3 years older. We didn't really come close to being close until the year before he died. We didn't hate each other growing up, I think I was the spoilt little brat to him. Family politics. Jensen Interceptor, what a great looking car. Not many around now.

  • JBaz2 months ago

    I was there in this story the time frame ( a wee bit before mine) but close enough. My siblings are close so I can imagine what having a twin is like. Also 'Jensen Interceptor' I never new was a British car, a band I used to listen to was called this. Now I know.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Beautiful story. I can feel the connection you have to your brother through your words. Well done, Jay.

  • Nina Yates2 months ago

    Jay describes an interesting balance between twin closeness and individuality! I enjoy his 'off the wall' picture of Lucky Lar and himself. :)

  • Kristen Balyeat2 months ago

    Love this so much, Jamigo! What an amazing tribute to Lar! Your storytelling is always so fun and unique. I love your wit mixed in with your softie soppy side. It was fun to read about your differences, and not surprised at all about the sarcasm gene...if he didn't have it, he'd definitely catch the bug from you...it's contagious you know. haha! Such a beautiful brother/friend bond you have in each other. Made me think of my boys. You already know that this sketch is a fave! Very heartwarming piece.

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    I think it's beautiful how you holding difference with such respect and love here.

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Jay! I was NOT expecting your story to wham me with so much emotion at the end. But after I got my breath again, I think this one has been my most favorite of yours! I saw your heart and Lucky Lar's, too. Ya'll are BOTH so blessed to have one another. Perfect drawing. You need to frame those drawings of yours...they are your trophies.

  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    I enjoy your drawings and humor!! Thank you!😊

  • Blood is thicker than water. Twins who are thicker yet is quite a gift indeed. Beautiful tribute, Jay.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.