Humor logo

Humor Can Be Different For Each Of Us!

Is that funny? What's funny?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
5
Humor Can Be Different For Each Of Us!
Photo by Michal Balog on Unsplash

It is my husband's birthday today! He is feeling old and maybe he should be. I found a picture of a cake with a 4 on it. He is 74 today! Is that funny?

Probably not. The reason I like it is because our granddaughter when she was six spent a school year with us every day due to the pandemic. One day we were talking about her silly grandpa and I said he is probably your age. She thought about it and replied, "Grandma, I think he is probably 4!"

I should say that this year as I was repeating that story she said he is probably 6 now. She is 9. He will probably never catch her but she does believe he is getting a bit older.

I didn't buy him a birthday present other than buy his dinner yesterday at the DQ. Yes, his favorite place to eat. No gift yet as he prefers to tell me what he wants. He can't think of anything he wants, so nothing yet. Is this funny?

As we were driving into town yesterday for his birthday gathering with his sister, I kept saying, "What the hell at all of the interesting, and not so interesting things we happened by!" That kept him laughing and finally, I was doing that just for laughs.

Every once in a while that train of thought happens along and I just go with it! Is that funny? He thinks so!

A friend was talking about how her husband has about 50 T-shirts. Hubby understood that as he probably has close to the same, and maybe more. So, no T-shirts for his birthday, except for the one he already got from his sister with a monkey on the front.

He was in the navy and so was the monkey. Is that funny? His sister is a minister and she is married to a minister. Each year we get together with them and a few other family members, usually 3 or four cousins and an occasional child.

His sister gave him a bunch of bananas, a game in a cloth banana bag, and a monkey with a leather vest that she made with an M for monkey and Big John on the vest! Is that funny?

Sister-in-law gave this to her brother for his 74th birthday!

John grew up with a female cousin and they played Tarzan and you guessed it, John was Tarzan and the female cousin was Jane and his sister the minister was Cheetah! That is funny to hear them reminisce. The cousin is always on John's side and insists that his sister is the real monkey!

Their female cousin gave John some beads that he was to wear around his neck until bedtime. At bedtime, I was supposed to flash my breasts and he then would give me the beads. I heard of this before and saw it happen when at the Mardi Gras in New Orleans. Is this funny?

Well, I got more than the beads! He thinks I should flash him more often. I told him once was enough and that was for his cousin as I just knew that she would be upset with me for not giving him her present! Is that funny?

He had just told me yesterday that sex and some other things help lower blood sugar and I am diabetic. I have friends and family that will say TMI and they are probably right. I, however, think it is funny!

The lowering blood sugar thing worked as I did not have to take any insulin this morning.

I thought the whole thing was hilarious. I got lots of laughs as it seems a bit inappropriate for a minister and his wife to be participating in this. After the female cousin left who gave him the beads, his sister said he should take those beads off. Now that was funny!

I told her that it isn't the flash as much as the feel that he enjoys! She laughed. They, after all have had kids too! Now that's funny!

LaughterGeneralFunnyFamily
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Whoaaaa, hang on. I'm a tad confused. Who flashed their boobs to whom?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.