Humor logo

Breakfast At The Wizards

I love starting my morning with laughter!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read
6
Breakfast At The Wizards
Photo by Rachel Park on Unsplash

We were all meeting at my daughter and son-in-law's house. My son was visiting from his home in the urban area and my daughter and I live in rural Minnesota. Her brother stayed in her RV with his two large dogs and his 3-year-old.

The hubby and I planned to take the kids for breakfast. There were 8 of us altogether. The oldest teen stayed home. He would rather sleep. When we got to Penguily, we parked behind my daughter's vehicle, and my son was parked on the side of the house by the RV.

We were waiting for them to get ready when I said I thought they were going to be ready when we got here. I wonder what is taking so long. Just then the phone rang. I said, why is Pat calling me?

Pat said, "Are you guys ahead of Dave?" Ahead of Dave? Where are you? He said, "We are following Dave and Joanna." I started to laugh and couldn't stop laughing.

I got off the phone with Pat and called Joanna and she said, "Where are you?" I said with uncontained laughter that we were at her house. She said, "Well, we will save you a chair then at Wizards!" I love getting a good laugh first thing in the morning.

Then I wondered if everyone was safe driving on the road. Did they get enough sleep?

The hubby and I talked about how we couldn't ride the snowmobile today or the 4-wheelers as it is hunting season. I told him that Pat wasn't concerned about his dogs who are huge and brown getting shot at our place.

John was all serious and said, "You can't tell about those city hunters. They will shoot at anything. They are the ones that get that buck fever!"

Everyone got to Wizards safe and sound. Eight of us in three large vehicles! After looking at the menu, Dave said it reminded him of when we went to breakfast with Pat at that fancy French restaurant in St. Paul. He said you leave there broke and hungry.

My whole morning was full of laughter. Everyone else was pretty quiet, so I think I laughed for everyone. I had a great time. I said breakfast was on me.

A few minutes, after everyone ordered breakfast the 9-year-old granddaughter scooted up to me and said, "Mom is putting money in your account." So I said, I just got a thousand-dollar check for one day of work, so I can afford to buy breakfast.

My daughter said, "Why did you say that?" So I told her. I told on my granddaughter and she got in trouble for telling me.

I didn't add that it doesn't happen often, so it's a good idea to catch me when I have it!

Again, a chuckle. Wizards is a bar with a restaurant, so there was a pool table and other machines for the kids and their parents. Grandpa and I sat and reminisced about the olden days with whomever was there to listen.

My son asked what was new for me in my life. He always has things going on and he and his fiance are always traveling. I talked about how I am writing a book for NaNoWriMo this month.

I told him I have a picture of my sister-in-law, cousins, a few partners of cousins and me in a photo and I decided I would interview or survey them on the topic of aging. It should be fun to hear from someone other than me in this book.

And it will give me more words! I can crack myself up today too!

GeneralLaughterFamily
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Lol, so glad there were so many reasons for you to laugh! Life feels so good when we're laughing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.