Humor logo

Fortune Favors the Bold

Your comfort zone expands accordingly

By Paul PencePublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
Fortune Favors the Bold
Photo by Hans-Jurgen Mager on Unsplash

😜 I don't have a motto, but this one might suffice. "Fortune Favors the Bold".

Of course, the bold may very well fail spectacularly, but at the very least we can get a good story out of it. They can tell it at my funeral. Presuming they ever find my body. "Can you believe that he actually TRIED that?"

When you're bold, there are two outcomes -- spectacular failure or spectacular success. When you're timid, there is no chance of success. Unless your definition of success is surviving in quiet obscurity and keeping all of your body parts intact. Or at the very least, maintaining your dignity.

People are not naturally bold.

Just consider public speaking. When asked their greatest fear, 73% of us fear public speaking, but only 11% of us fear dying. That mean that 62% of us when given a choice of public speaking or dying will actually choose death.

By Ehimetalor Akhere Unuabona on Unsplash

“Mister Smith, there are two doors. The first door goes to the stage where you will speak for 30 seconds about absolutely anything you feel like in front of a group of strangers who will never see you again. The second door goes to the polar bear cage.” 62% of the time, the response will be “I hope the polar bear is hungry.”

But I am not afraid of public speaking. What's the worst that could happen? They could laugh at me. But I'm a funny guy -- you're reading this now, right? Maybe they could throw something at me, but I'm fast enough to dodge and always make sure that I have a human shield nearby.

Oh? They might not LIKE me? I was King of the Nerds growing up. Threatening me with not being liked by strangers is like threatening me mayonnaise on my hamburger.

By Hello I'm Nik on Unsplash

Of course I'm not saying that I would go through the polar bear door just for a selfie. I'm bold, not stupid.

But I'm not afraid to write articles and submit them for publication. I'm not afraid to run for office. I'm not afraid to try new foods.

I’ve jumped off cliffs into unknown water, I’ve taken the wheel of just about any vehicle offered, I’ve explored dark cramped wet caves, and wandered into neighborhoods that do not welcome strangers. Nah, those weren’t scary.

Leaving home at 18 to make my fortune with my typewriter and $20, THAT was scary. Telling my best-friend-now-wife that I love her for the first time -- THAT was probably the scariest thing I’ve ever done. But ad-libbing a speech in front of a political rally with 3000 people… ppfffftt, easy peasy.

By Jemma Pollari on Unsplash

Well, saying easy peasy isn’t actually easy. It doesn’t come natural to me. I heard it on a Geico commercial. But I’m bold enough to say it here, even if I’m not sure about the spelling.

Remember me saying I was King of the Nerds? Well, being a nerd back in the days before being a nerd was cool was a sure way to deny yourself group acceptance. But that king part? That was boldness once again. Even the nerds who are reasonably resistant to peer pressure from non-nerds still seek group identity. And anyone who is willing to stand up and say “follow me” quickly finds followers.

So I was asked to write about being a “fish out of water”. Of being in over my head or being the odd man out.

The problem is, I’ve always been the odd man out, either by circumstance or by choice. “Didn’t it feel awkward to go to school painted green? How was it to meet your in-laws for the first time? Were you intimidated by being in a room with all those super-smart scientists?”

Nope.

If you spend long enough in strange situations and being outside your comfort zone, you no longer find them strange and find a level of comfort. And if the strange feels normal and comfortable, it’s easy to be bold.

Or, at least, be a little bit bolder than the people who live in quiet obscurity until they avoid public speaking by voluntarily walking through the door with the hungry polar bear.

By Hans-Jurgen Mager on Unsplash

Did I make you laugh? Want more? Here are a few more of my humor columns on Vocal

  • Fortune Favors the Bold
  • Why Clickbait is Wonderful
  • Language Confusion
  • Waddling to Work
  • What, Me Volunteer?
  • I'm an Urban Legend
  • Life Under the Glide Path
  • I Miss My Hair
  • I'm a Kennedy Cousin
  • Super-Secret Diet Secrets
  • My Dogs Love me. Honest!
  • Yucky Foods!
  • Trapped in K-Mart
  • Geminis are Skeptics
  • Click here to sign up for notification when the next humor column is published!

    #Humor #PaulPence #PenceHumor #Boldness #Fear

    Generalhumor
    Like

    About the Creator

    Paul Pence

    A true renaissance man in the traditional sense of the term, Paul leads a life too full to summarize in a bio. Arts, sciences, philosophy, politics, humor, history, languages... just about everything catches his attention.

    Travel and Tourism

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.