Humor logo

Finding Jessie's shirt

a Gilmore Girls ah-ha moment

By Jazzy Published about a year ago 3 min read
Priscilla by Joseph Szabo

I have always loved to write. I used to fill journals and books full of words and stories. I would write prose and songs, not caring who would read them. I actually came across some of my old writing, and I miss that side of myself. I have been distracted by responsibilities for the last few years but I am trying to get back into it. I always felt that writing had to be perfect and change the world. However, with that outlook, I was not writing anything, so something had to give. Whether that was my weird type A perfectionism or doing what Shia LeBouf said, "just do it." I have taken to writing about anything I can, anything that crosses my mind or strikes my interest.

These sentiments bring me to googling "how to write" and finding this article that states, "just write." If only it were that easy. There was some irony in the googling of "how to write," which was not lost on me. I followed other advice, including going to Wikipedia and using the random feature to find exciting things to spur inspiration. My random choice led me to see the photograph "Priscilla" by Joesph Szabo, which looked oddly familiar. This photo is of a young girl smoking a cigarette, and if you haven't seen it, look above. The young girl in question looks like RORY GILMORE. If you have ever seen "Gilmore Girls," you know that I'm right. The innocence, the young and bright look of youth. It's all there. "Gilmore Girls" is one of my comfort shows I watch in the fall. A mother-and-daughter duo that has witty banter and makes terrible life choices. There is nothing else you can want from television, though; the more times I have rewatched it, I have found it harder to watch them ruin their lives so much. C'est le vie.

When I looked at this photo closer, I eventually realized where I had seen it before. In Gilmore Girls, the character Jessie has on a shirt that HAS THIS PHOTO ON IT. Jessie is one of those characters that many people love or hate, and I love him. He was misunderstood but also a well-written teenage boy for the show. This whole time I thought he was wearing a shirt with Rory on it, which honestly would have been weird since they had broken up and not spoken to each other in years. Then none of the characters pointed that out, which was not in line with the virtue of the show. I was wrong. It was not Rory but the "Priscilla" photo by Joesph Szabo, his most iconic image from 1969. I was so excited to find this out, I had always thought that this was a cool shirt, and now I was on a quest to find this shirt for myself. This photo was used for the album cover for a band called Dinousaur Jr. So if you're lucky enough to find this shirt in circulation, you can get one. The four websites I have visited have said it is sold out. I had never heard of that band before but listening to their music, I was thrilled to find them. Wikipedia has done it again. Not only can you find random articles, but you can come across new music.

All of this is to say that not only did I kick start my writing journey once more, but a mystery that I had not known was bothering my mind. I will also stop rewatching "Gilmore Girls" since it seems that remembering specific scenes from a show means I may have seen it too much.

General

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jazzy Written by Jazzy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.