Humor logo

A Notification Dilemma, a Vocal Roasting

Shall I play the Imp today.

By Novel AllenPublished 11 months ago โ€ข Updated 11 months ago โ€ข 3 min read
Top Story - June 2023
47

A ONE WOMAN SITCOM

Disclaimer

I in no way apologize for roasting or for uttering the following truths or dares

First, I asked the "All Father" if he could make notifications scroll

"Wha-do-ya-mean-scroll"? He calmly vociferated

"All you-gotta-do-is-grab-the-link-and-jamb-it-somewhere-and-you-can- then-scroll-all-you-want. Dumb-dum"! I thought I heard him whisper when he thought I was'na listening. But, I heard it, I wouldn't lie to ya.

So I am grabbing the stupid link and planting it here and there

I am Techy challenged, I told him and everyone

I ask the kids to help with techy stuff, little farts have no patience and they will laugh at my lack of tech savvy

You gotta love em...Right?

Anyway, back to Notifications

So I write a story and posted it just two whole minutes ago

Suddenly a message pops up

Such and such liked your story six hours ago

Dude, I just posted the frinking thing three minutes ago

Who went back in time and read the story SIX hours ago

Wait! Give it a sec......Blink

Such and such liked your story two minutes ago!

Autocorrect works wonders...ain't it (as the British will say)

"What the #$#@&(#"?

Furthermore, "HOW CAN YOU LIKE MY STORY IN TWO MINUTES WHEN IT IS A FOUR MINUTEs READ AND I ONLY JUST POSTED IT"

Do me a favor and read the story before you like it. Like little baby Cezanne Libellen said when she threw a fit and cussed us all out:

"Please Don't read my Top Story". Cezanne is seriously ticked off here.

Seriously, she is fifteen going on forty, give the baby some support:

Then to add insult to injury, you didn't even bother to comment

#$@&^%)((*&%$$$#@@$%^&&&$#$#$%$%$$@@!##$*88888

I need Notifications to seriously scroll, it is a pain in the rear

But I can wait until more important issues are cleared up. (Spoken with a tone of shame and downcast eyes for cussing at the "All Father").

I must say that Notifications are great, I love it

Then there are those wonderful people who Subscribe to me

They don't mention if they have read any of my stories

So what am I supposed to do? How do I reciprocate, I love to reciprocate people, give me something. What did you read to prompt you to subscribe, there are too many of us for total freebies, we all need reads to feel loved and comforted. Damn our need for the human touch!!!!!

Do not get me wrong. I adore all of my subscribers, but let me know what you read. Please!

One of my favorite subscribers did not have one single story for me to read

Seriously, his profile said (0) stories....Woe is me

He joined in 2021, and he is watching us. Thank you for subscribing, but! Are you a spy or sumptin'. Better write something soon, or I will be forced to investigate. I love you phantom person. Hope u not a hitman.

OK. What is the fascination of DISCORD. I used it some time ago. Deleted it. Feels like landing on Mars again as I insinuated myself into the Vocal Discord channel. I finally figured out at least how to join the chat. Saw the slot for Top Stories. Apart from real time chat, I am stumped. Don't I already do all that stuff over at Vocal? 'Hep' me Jesus!

So "Humor". You gotta have 600 or more words to post over there, right? I think it should be open to all lengths, or maybe 100 words or more, or something. I am seriously having a problem being funny in 600 words ALL THE TIME. Tis exhausting.

I reserve for now my take on how the new changes have changed or not changed certain things, which I am not sure will ever change. 10 to 20 people will be fine, changes work great for them. The rest of us, UMMMM, I will have to consult with Zoltar over in Magical Realism.

Photo by Hulki Okan Tabak on Unsplash

The End! But, wait a minute. One more thing!!!!!

I just read a brilliant story, got to the end....And..."I am sorry, but (brand new story) is not accepting any comments right now"). Really ๐Ÿ’ง ๐Ÿ’ง For the love of G-d, and for goodness sakes put that at the top, lead with that, I feel like I just read the story in vain. ๐Ÿ’ง ๐Ÿ’ง ๐Ÿ’ง .

RoastImprovFunnyComedyWriting
47

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (37)

Sign in to comment
  • Thavien Yliaster11 months ago

    Notifications sometimes seem to bug out more than the mountains made out of ant hills. I like the notifications on the platform, but I would like a filter setting or different categories of filters. Like an inbox for comments and replies, bells for new stories from subscriptions, and a heart feed from stories (and maybe we can get comments to receiving hearts too) that are receiving hearts. On a different note, I think that Vocal's taking a more interactive approach because of other reasons these days. As the phrase goes, "The money flows where the eyeballs goes."

  • Jazmin Fernandez11 months ago

    Lol, Indeed, notifications can be a wonderful feature that keeps us informed and connected. It's always exciting to receive notifications and know that someone has subscribed to your work.:) Congrats on your Top Story!

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Congrats on your Honorable Mention Honor No! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ˜

  • Simona Rosso11 months ago

    As someone with very low views and reads, I have three subscribers but they don't comment my articles. I've got some insights on my only top story, but that's it. However, I did not understand who left said insights from notifications. With that said, I loved your style in this story!

  • Julia Alfred11 months ago

    Ive got 2 followers lol but they make comments on my stuff. I do have some phantom reads who send me messages off vocal because they think i write about them but i sure do understand you. 600 words is alot to make funny but i think under certain communities you can submit under 100 ๐Ÿคท๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธi liked this though!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    A very chaotic stream of consciousness! Intrigue and mind #%$!s abound! Great work lol and congrats on top story๐Ÿ‘Œ

  • Rebekah Crawley11 months ago

    This was so chaotic I love it! Congrats on Top Story, going to try and figure out the whole Discord thing in a bit myself and I am dreading it!

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    This is so good. Yes, what's with subscribing without reading? Strange. Brilliantly amusing.

  • This was great novel and in the spirit of things can we stop with the people just posting links to their story like the one below my comment: I mean did you even read this brilliant creative story before you advertised yours. Iโ€™m all for reciprocating ( man thatโ€™s a tough one to spell) but donโ€™t be pushy about it let somebody decide which story they want to reciprocate with.

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Woo! Another top story Novlet! ๐Ÿฅณ

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Hilarious! Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story๐ŸŽ‰โœจ

  • Stephen A. Roddewig11 months ago

    This would be a great counter-Vocal-culture piece. But the system it purports to criticize made it a Top Story, which makes me suspect an inside job ๐Ÿ‘€

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Novel, I was laughing from the start! I love the disclaimer โ€œI in no way apologize โ€ฆ โ€œ In the defence of those of us that do the โ€œpre-matureโ€ like, sometimes we hit like part way through reading because we already love it right from the first sentence! Bahahah!! โ€œAre you a spy or sumptinโ€™?โ€ I love your brand of humour a little too much!! ๐Ÿ’– I find it hard to believe that youโ€™re having trouble being funny in 600 words, unless thatโ€™s the limit them I can see how that would be a problem! Also, congratulations on another Top Story!! You are on a role!! ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽŠ

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Scrolling would be better and I think it would have been funny if you disabled comments on this one, hahah. Top Story celebrations are in order!

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story! ๐Ÿฅ‚ Glad to see this here. Wonder if the โ€œAll Fatherโ€ will see it.

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear 'N' ~ You always 'Magically-Humanly-Virtually-Touch' Me ~ It would be boring if we were all the same ~ - Always anxious for the next Juicy-Morsel you Toss at us within this Scrunch-in-Community - - My Pleasure- Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!๐ŸŽ‰

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Haha. This is great. Congrats on the TS. Scrolling would be so much better, you're right.

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    I laughed so heard I needed to gasp and snort- which alarmed people (so I blamed it on allergies). I dip into Discord a couple of times a day... and yesterday I see (I think) someone using it to create images for their stories. Which is cool- but I dunno why it happens where it happens, or who it is, and why is it Pokemon?

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Yay Top Story!! The cult has prevailed! ๐Ÿคฃโค๏ธ๐Ÿ˜

  • Kim Loostrom11 months ago

    Too true! I JUST WANT TO SCROLL! This gave me a good chuckle, great work!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story, this was fun. I left Discord as well. My creations are so far off Vocal's map , but you smashed it with this

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    LOL! ๐Ÿ˜‚ Novel for President! ( of the entire world!)โœŠ๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ˜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.