Humans logo

You don't need to be busy, you just need to insist on it

As long as you persist, whether busy or not, the results are the same.

By Many A-SunPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

A few days ago, a small friend in the time management class told me that after managing her time well, she suddenly became idle during this period and felt strange, asking me what to do.

I froze for a moment, and then answered her: Isn't it good to take it easy?

This answer seems to be at odds with the general environment. What kind of environment is this? The environment is that everyone is proud of being busy. When a group of people gathers, everyone yells about how busy they are, so that those who are not busy are embarrassed to talk.

Whether reading articles or listening to what others have to say, what is being promoted is the kind of effort that hangs on the beam, where someone sleeps two or three hours a day, someone never spends weekends, someone learns English on the subway, and someone writes in the sound of their children crying.

First of all, I have great admiration for this type of people, they have no time, squeeze time still in the dream and work hard, really amazing.

But ask yourself, I can't do it, and I believe the vast majority of people can't do it either.

I do not sleep enough eight hours a day, I will doze off; in a quiet environment, I have no way to concentrate; on the weekend I want to rest, even if it is half a day; when the child is crying I can not do anything; I can not read a book on the subway; even, I have no way to exercise while thinking.

Is it a crime for people like me to die?

I'm an impatient person, especially anxious, in the words of my mother, I "hate to work". In my mother's words, I hate work. That means, when I see a job, I want to finish it all immediately.

When I first started writing full-time, I worked hard, and I was the type of person who hung on to the beam. I woke up at six every morning, didn't wash my face or brush my teeth, and turned on the computer first. A morning sitting there without moving, noon even cooking time, but also run to eat canteen. In the afternoon sitting in front of the computer for half a day, dinner is casual, dropping the bowl and picking up a book.

At that time, no one forced me, but I forced myself to work more than eight hours a day. I never fell asleep before 2:00 a.m. Even when I was lying in bed, all I could think about was writing, and occasionally I would dream in the middle of the night and get up to write it down.

I ask myself to write at least 100,000 words every month, as long as there is something in my head, I write all day long, I can't write ten pieces a day. Of course, when there is nothing to write, I read books like crazy, read the news like crazy, looking for material everywhere.

Weekends are certainly not possible, a person who has not done anything to achieve, what face to spend the weekend!

The whole six months, I was so chaotic, and busy, more than the president of the bullying day to day.

What was the result? The result is a dramatic loss of vision, daily anxiety, hair loss, long spots, and a bad temper. If I had finished writing all the material the day before and didn't write a single word this day, I would have liked to stab myself with a knife.

I thought I was working very hard, you see I was so busy, I moved myself to death. But in those six months, I did not have any achievements, only little achievement, but also in the newspaper published a few more articles. In general, the amount of publications is still very small.

Later I decided to adjust, also because I did not see any hope. Anyway, it was already like this, so the big deal was that I had to go back to work.

I re-planned my time and made it a rule to write one article in the morning and one in the afternoon every day, even if I had a hundred materials, I would only write two articles every day. I no longer demand that I write endlessly every day.

Once the task is quantified, people suddenly become a lot more relaxed. Every day, I read the news and books, easily find two pieces of material, and then spend two or three hours writing them. I don't have to work eight hours, and there is not much pressure, I have time to make a delicious lunch, but also have time to listen to music and make phone calls.

I carried out this plan for three years, and it became a habit later on and became more and more relaxed. At that time, I went from working more than eight hours a day to working only four hours a day, and those four hours gave me unexpected results.

Fourteen hundred articles were published every year, which is the value created by these four hours a day.

Later, with the decline of paper media and my transition, I decided to write only one article a day, so now I only need to work three hours a day. If I do nothing else, I am simply the easiest person around.

I go to bed by 11 p.m. every night, take a lunch break every day, exercise every day, and get up at 6:30 a.m. every morning to write an article and do various things related to my work. Afternoons are free time to read, write long pieces, and do whatever I want to do.

Over the past few years, I've been getting idler and idler, but I've accumulated more and more stuff. There is only one reason for this, and that is that I have been writing consistently, whether it is two pieces or one piece, and I have never given up for a single day. I persisted for five years, the water drips through the stone, and the iron rod has to be ground into a needle

So I often say to people around me, you do not need to be busy, you just need to persist enough. You don't need to hang a beam and chisel a wall, you can easily, go to bed early and get up early every day, waste time every day, and travel around every day. As long as in the process, you have been persistent in doing the thing you want to do, your life will slowly change.

The kind of persistence that only two hours of sleep a day can last a day or two, can last a month or two, can last a year or two, or ten or eight?

Maybe someone can, but it must not be you and me.

Only if you have a lot of energy, eat well and sleep well every day, have time for entertainment, have time for your family, and nourish your body and mind well, persistence can be a sustainable thing.

For ordinary us, you have no way to sleep only two or three hours a day, there is no way to give up all entertainment, and there is no way to have three heads and six arms every day to cope with the super things. Then the only thing we can do is to choose one and keep doing it every day.

Now the popular slash youth, you can cross the border, of course, good, if you do not, then honestly do a good thing.

When I say this, some people may misunderstand. I just want to learn both English and piano, dance and painting, which I can not give up, what do you think?

The day before yesterday, someone left me a message in the background, listing a long list of things he wanted to learn or was learning, and he was working part-time. He said he was particularly busy, almost splitting his time, and asked how I could arrange my time to get it all done.

I didn't reply because there was no way I could help him organize his time and make a plan. There are just so many hours in a day, and each person has a very limited amount of time to focus on each day. I can help you arrange it so that you only sleep two hours a day and then focus on everything.

The question is, can you do it?

Can you afford to sleep for only two hours a day? Will you be distracted by focusing for long periods each day?

The answer is obvious.

This era advocates hard work, I also advocate hard work, and I am the best at motivation. But there is one thing we must understand, we are not superhuman, we have limited energy, we will also want to play and entertainment, and we will also crave the most comfortable state. Human nature has many weaknesses, each of which may make us surrender on the road of effort.

We want to go farther, want to go longer, and the best way, of course, is to reduce the load, rather than constantly put anything into the bag.

Only light and easy, full of energy, and good mood every day, we can less pain, to go farther and longer.

The effort is sometimes, not about adding, but subtracting.

What if you say, you just want to learn a lot of things? You can't just die with one thing for the rest of your life, right?

In this era of diversified development, it is certainly good to learn more things. You can do it one by one ah, first focus on learning the same, so that learning well, does not need to spend too much energy, easy to cope with, you can then go to learn another.

Food too much at once will be indigestion, something too much at once to learn will crush the spine. People who do not know how to moderate, are always hurt and sad.

So, don't take busy as the standard anymore. You are busy, does not mean that you are working in the right direction. Many people are busy every day, but nothing is accomplished, grab a handful of east and west, today to learn English, tomorrow to learn to write, and the day after tomorrow to learn to dance, the result is that nothing has lasted more than a month, everything is half-assed, what is the use?

In this era where everyone is busy, if you are also very busy, remember to be busy one by one, one by one to persist. If you are very idle, do not be embarrassed, because you do not need to be busy, you just need to persist enough.

As long as you insist, whether busy or not, the result is the same.

The vast majority of things in this world, are the only persistence that is not broken.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Many A-Sun

Where your interests lie, that's where your abilities lie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.