Humans logo

Why I Write

And other musings on composition

By Melissa HippPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Why I Write
Photo by Emily Morter on Unsplash

Why I write

As a generally creative person, writing provides me a medium to hash out half spun ideas in a way that exclusively thinking about something doesn’t offer. For example, when presented with an emotional situation I must address, I find it easier indeed to clearly convey my standpoint through writing, rather than face-to-face discourse. Occasionally, during this process, I discover my opinion or point of view to be flawed; having even been known to switch sides (a.k.a. consent my error) by the end of the exercise.

What I Write

Various types of composition give me pleasure. Some of my favorites are poetry, philosophical, and beloved nonsense.

Most of the writing pieces I’ve produced in recent years can effectively be lumped into three categories:

  1. Poetry or prose, sometimes for pleasure, often for the purpose of oration at a church or community event. (For example: my first Vocal Poetry Publication: Blindsided)
  2. Formal writings submitted for grant proposals, or news releases. Pieces relating to the community organizations or activities I, or my children, are involved in.
  3. Free writing used to gather my thoughts or work through a difficult situation I’m facing.

By Matheus Farias on Unsplash

When I Write

The wonderful thing about writing is how it springs upon me, the author, often without warning. I find myself mulling an idea or phrase over and over, sometimes for days, before I realize the potential creativity trying to take form. This inspiration can stem from any combination of personal experience, current events, or reflection upon whatever ecclesiastical or erudite study my attention happens upon. Included can be everything from spiritual devotionals, and opposing viewpoints non-fiction, to children’s books, classic literature and trending news articles or social media posts.

How I Write

Like my musing, my execution is typically haphazard. I mentally toy with an idea for a time; frequently in the solitude of the shower, or while dashing about in the car. Usually it's days or weeks before I even attempt to capture my thoughts in print. Sometimes, much to my vexation, it is near impossible for me to actually begin writing. A flaw I attribute to having GREAT ideas.......

By Chandler Cruttenden on Unsplash

.......in the shower .......

.......or while driving;

both, unquestionably, are times when it is logistically just not feasible to start writing.

Honestly, I know there are fabulous ideas in my head! However, when I consciously try to bring them forth, the result is ofttimes lacking. Like any first draft (well, most first drafts), much work will be put into molding the fledgling piece into something I can proudly put my name on, and share with the world. Which leads me to..........

Revision

Logically, revision is an integral part of my writing process. While typing first copy, honest attempts are made at not correcting errors.

But the red lines drive me bonkers.

I just need to fix

the ones I can see

before they scroll

off the page.

ANYWAY…… I will continue to revise until I 'Submit For Review'. However, you must be made aware: I’m a busy mom and staunch procrastinator. Like now. I’ve been a member of Vocal for almost 2 weeks, yet here I am, reworking my author's bio rather than working on the challenge that drew me in to begin with……. The Little Black Book

And the kicker? This is too long for my Author Bio.

Sadly, this disorganized method of writing has heretofore given me a handful of decent writings, along with a aggregation of disjointed, half developed prompts. Beginnings that I whimsically hope will one day develop into real works of worth, capable of eliciting an inkling of solidarity within some small portion of this digital world. A world brimming with hopeful, green, raw writers, not unlike myself.

Afterthoughts:

Are there bad writers?

Yes, but usually for lack of effort. Who's effort wants? That's up for debate. Writing, like any form of art, can be good or bad, enlightening or horrendous, worthy or a waste of time, completely dependent upon the individual (both writer and reader).

The SAME piece will strike each person who interacts with it uniquely.

There are a multitude of standards with which we choose to measure an arrangement; yet even those standards will be individually comprehended. Each reader passing judgement according to their own personal understanding; derived from preconceived notions and subconscious biases which effectively rule one's isolated interpretation. With the risk of sounding empiricist, I have found that my judgement of a piece of work can change; over time, or quite abruptly. Initiated by me simply hearing or reading or, yes, even experiencing something that sheds a divergent light on a subject.

One can easily understand that not all writing is created equal, but all we writers can at some point, wish upon the same star. So, if asked, "Do I believe anyone can be a good writer?" I would give an emphatic YES!! Provided they find the right audience.

By Марьян Блан | @marjanblan on Unsplash

With that, I'd like to thank you, dear reader, who hangs in there to the very end of numerous discombobulated ramblings.

There will be many more to come, I promise.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Melissa Hipp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.