Poets logo

Blindsided:

My Biggest Demon

By Melissa HippPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Blindsided:
Photo by Larm Rmah on Unsplash

I am prone to much grumblings

Whining, if you will

Little murmurs

Under my breath

In my thought closet

To anyone who tries to entreat sympathy

from me for a similar angst.

My nature will gladly drive me,

If given the wheel,

To a state of madness

Attacking my mind

Rehashing the past

Projecting gloom and doom into my

minds eye view of the future.

Too long spent in these catacombs

Forgetting the Well of Life

My reality starts to manifest

All the things I’ve feared

Right to the failure

Born out of the recesses of my own head:

BLINDSIDED

Yes, I said blindsided

Caught off guard

Unexpectedly knocked down

Defenses broken through

I retreat, regress

Pull further and further into my distant,

detached self.

Forsaking my physical body

To whatever hurt that lies ahead

Detaching, Withdrawing

Inside my mind

I know I can control

What is allowed to be felt ~ I’ll be the one

who torments me the most.

The world around me

Shatters, Jagged edges

Detaching my heartstrings

Nothing seems important

Why am I even here

What’s the point of trying, If I am

My own Biggest Demon?

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Melissa Hipp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.