Humans logo

Why I Was Chosen for Chieftaincy Title of 'Ugwu Ndigbo' - Whitemoney

Whitemoney explains new chieftaincy

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Big Brother Naija winner and musician, Hazel Onou known popularly as Whitemoney is in the headlines once again. 2 days ago, the artiste took to social media to share the news that he has gotten a new chieftancy title added to himself. He received the chieftaincy title of Ugwu Ndigbo by the Igbo speaking community of Lagos State. Taking to social media, Whitemoney posted his chieftancy certificate along with caption that reads:

"First of all, “Our People say when a child washes his hands well, he may sit with the Elders”. Another title added: “UGWU NDIGBO” ie “THE PRIDE OF IGBOS”. It was another humbling moment for me last Saturday as I was conferred as “UGWU NDIGBO” by the Igbo speaking community, Lagos State. Special appreciation to the Chief Sir Cyril Sunday Eze (President General) and all the members of the Igbo Speaking Community, Lagos State. Unu Emela👏"

Upon seeing news of the chieftancy, reactions were mixed. Some people congratulated and celebrated with Whitemoney telling him that the chieftancy title was well deserved. Others wondered why he of all people was the one to be celebrated as the "pride of the Igbos".

Well, during an interview with Midweek Entertainment, Whitemoney explained why he was picked as the receipient of the chieftancy title and also opened up on what he planned to do with the new title. Here's what Whitemoney said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking about why he was picked to receive the title of "Ugwu Ndigbo", Whitemoney said:

They were inspired to confer me with the chieftaincy title as the Pride of Igbos in Lagos State because of how I generally promote and uphold the values of the Igbo culture. They believe that I am a good fit and a role model to the Igbo youths in my community because of how I faced hardship while growing up and how I was able to persevere positively with hard work, God and determination. Everyone knows how particular I am about my culture, so it was only right to add a title to it in Lagos State by my community. I’ve learnt that all that glitters is not gold and that no one can be there for you and inspire you more than yourself.

Speaking about what he intends to do with the title and position now that he's received it, Whitemoney said:

I intend to use my title and position as ńwà àfòr Igbo to positively influence the youths in my community. I will actively engage and mentor them as much as possible because I understand that so many of them look up to me.

What do you think about Whitemoney's new chieftancy title as "Ugwu Ndigbo", the pride of the Igbos. Are you happy for him? Are you not? Do you care? Do you not? Anyhow you feel, let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.