Humans logo

Why I want to strangle my husband

There is a thin line between love and warm.

By AbikaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Why I want to strangle my husband
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Let me start by saying I love my husband very much, but sometimes I want to strangle him. If you feel the same way about your partner, you will understand what I'm about to say. Without further delay, this is why I want to strangle my husband.

Wives before you read my short article grab yourself a glass of your favorite alcohol and pray for self-control because I'm about to say things that will push buttons.

My husband leaves everything ajar

It doesn't matter what it is, as long as it can open and close, my husband will leave it open after he's finished. At this point in our relationship and marriage, I have come to accept he will never close anything, consciously at least. So after countless fights about this subject, I try to keep my composure and remind him to close the toothpaste.

It is exhausting to constantly remind a grown-ass man to close the kitchen cupboards or the bathroom door, but I do it to preserve my sanity. If he weren't the love of my life, I would have strangled him that time he forgot to put the toilet seat down. Unfortunately, there is more.

By Andy Holmes on Unsplash

My husband is lazy until he has to do something for himself

Taking out the garbage is a difficult task until the smell gets too obnoxious for him. With a baby thrown into the mix, you can imagine how smelly things can get.

I recall one day asking my dear husband to take out the bag from the diaper genie. That day, I was busy in the kitchen cooking and cleaning. Do you know he was upset, and even said, 'why can't you do it?'

I wouldn't have to tell you how angry I was after that. It felt like I was being taken for granted. But I stood my ground, and I wasn't going to empty it.

Wait until you hear about the constant litter around the house. And no, I'm not talking about the baby. My husband knows how to transform a clean house into a pig style. Sometimes I think it is a gift. He finds a way to leave his clothes, bath towel, shoes, and even paper littered around the house. Yes, it's true. I have two babies, a sweet six months old and a grown, almost 30 years old. One knows better but still acts like he's three years old again.

My husband hardly pays attention to things in the house

It sounds like I am complaining, but women who have similar experiences understand why I need to vent. It seems like no matter how many times you repeat or give instructions he simply doesn't adhere to them.

Let me give you an example. Dirty plates should be placed in the sink. I have accepted the fact that my husband will never wash the dishes, but at least can you place your dirty dishes in the sink? Wait, there's more!

T his struggle is two-fold. First, the task is to remind him to take his dishes to the kitchen. No one wants ants and flies lingering at the dining table on the island, not even him. Yet he leaves the plate to attract every insect in the vicinity.

Second, when he remembers to move his dishes to the kitchen, they are never placed in the sink. Whether the sink is clear or not, my husband refuses to place his plate in the sink. I cannot comprehend why.

Sometimes I really want to strangle my husband

My husband is the love of my life. With all the crap I have to deal with I probably wouldn't have married him if he hadn't meant this much to me. But most times I want to strangle him because I love him and I know he can do much better.

I love this man unconditionally. That means when he does certain things it upsets me more than normal. Simply because I know he is capable of doing better.

If your husband drives you crazy, but you are stuck with him because your heart will not let him go, I understand your pain. Sometimes this is the price we pay for the sweetest love we will ever find.

Thank you for reading. Subscribe, like, and share this article so others can read it too.

love
Like

About the Creator

Abika

I started writing because it was my way to vent. Now I absolutely enjoyed writing and sharing.

I also write at Medium, find me at:

Medium lisby230.medium.com

Twitter Healthwise94358280

facebook peppingyourstep

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.