Humans logo

Why I Didn’t Give up Acting to Face My Sick Husband - Patience Ozokwor

Mama G opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 16 days ago 3 min read
1

Veteran and wildly popular Nigerian actress Patience Ozokwor popularly known also as Mama G is opening up about why a woman should never give up her career, especially if it's her passion, because a husband says she should not do it. To buttress her point about this, Patience Ozokwor shared a personal story about her own marriage where her sister adviced her to give up acting when her husband got sick. She explains why she didn't do it, and why she's glad she made that decision. Here's what Patience Ozokwor had to say about the whole thing.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

On the topic of giving up your work because of a spouse, Patience Ozokwor was asked "What would you say about husbands telling their wives to stop working or give up on their passion like acting, just because they are married?" She responded saying:

PATIENCE OZOKWOR: My dear, that is not done anywhere. You can’t tell me to give up on my passion just because we got married. For instance, if someone studied nursing for over five years, you then tell her not to venture into it because you are her husband, it is not done. And for this acting, you know it is one passion that can drive you crazy, that makes you so happy. I remember then when I started acting my husband was very sick, my sister told me to stop acting and take care of my husband, but I told her no. I mean he is sick and he is not working and she wants me to give up my work too. My husband even told me not to give up, he will always tell my kids to put my movies for him so he can watch them. I made sure I registered him at UNTH for the best treatments, and when he had a crisis, I ran back to him. So, you can’t give up a passion for marriage.

Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going and I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a writing community called "Jide Okonjo Writers Club" where you can create, earn, participate in critique, and mingle with other writers. To join us, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.