Humans logo

Why Does My Boyfriend Laugh at Everything I Say?!

Influencedbylex | An advice column

By XelPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Dear Lex,

you know what I have entered a relationship for the first time in my life in January. I know him very well. He has an amazing sense of humour and an outstanding personality. But the thing which upsets me sometimes rather I have to use the word "weird" is that he laughs at everything I say( obviously when he replies) there is always 4 laughing emoji's. I expect a lovely response from him but he always turns my reply into a funny one( because of his good sense of humour). When I expect appreciation from him, he makes it a joke.(I find it kinda weird). How should I get used to this kind of behaviour of his?

I hope you can help.

Thank you

Sincerely,

Anonymous

_________________________

What is funny is that I actually have a bad habit of using laughing emojis an awful lot as well. If I don't use a laughing emoji, I may even put lol just because. Sometimes it is because I do have a big sense of humor but most of the time, it's just because... maybe to lighten the conversation or something. I never even thought about the fact that using laughing emojis or always trying to lighten the conversation may offend or upset the person on the other end of the conversation.

I say this to not make the conversation about me but to say, maybe he doesn't even realize that his always laughing about everything is upsetting you. If you haven't already tried to communicate how him always laughing makes you feel, you should just talk to him about it. Let him know that although you appreciate his good sense of humor, sometimes you would appreciate it if he would take the conversation more serious. Don't stop there, let him know why this is something that you would like him to do and then also let him know that you aren't upset... it's just a compromise that you would like to come to.

If you have already communicated this and nothing has change, I might suggest asking yourself if you can withstand being with someone who is like this... forever... Of if you aren't the type of person to think of forever in relationships, ask yourself, how much longer can you take being with someone so... "goofy" all the time? Because ultimately, it may not be something that you can get used to. You may desire to be with someone who is a little more serious and nothing is wrong with that. Sometimes you run into people who you think that you really like and then you come across a personality trait that you just can't quite get past. If you do happen to like this person so much that you feel like you absolutely need to get past this... well I mean... maybe you should try just being goofy too... or maybe pray about it? Maybe just accept that him being goofy is nothing personal towards you and how you feel.

Lol idk because it's hard to get passed something that bothers you. If it bothers you, it bothers you for a reason. As the individuals we are, we all like and then don't like different things. It is just another part of who we are.

Xoxo,

Lex

___________

All advice column entries can be sent to [email protected]. You will remain completely anonymous if you choose to be.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Xel

A writer with a lot to say. Below you’ll find advice, late night thoughts and diary entries! Don’t forget to check out my podcast, tik tik and instagram!🌸❤️

All The Feelings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.