Humans logo

"Why Did You Go and Change Your Sound After ‘Godwin’ Was Already a Hit?" - Korede Bello Responds

Korede talks Godwin, music, and Afrobeats

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

There is the classic saying - "if it's not broken, why fix it?". Some musicians like P-Square and Chike have openly talked about how they too stick behind the message of this saying and don't feel any pressure to alter their music or sound because the people who like that sound want more of that sound from them. But then there are a different set of artistes who try to experiment with different sounds and do different kind of songs. There is no right approach as time has shown us. Some people who stick to only one sound fade out, and others who also jump around sounds also fade. But still the question begs asking - if you've made a song that people like and have honed in on a sound that people enjoy listening to. Why go and change it?

This is the question that was essentially asked to Nigerian singer Korede Bello during a new interview with The Cable Lifestyle. After gaining massive sucess from his song "Godwin", why did he then change the sound? Here's what Korede Bello had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Korede Bello doing "Godwin" dance

Speaking on why he changed his sound after "Godwin" even though the song was a hit, Korede Bello said:

I put out songs before ‘Godwin’ that sounded different. It is not like Godwin is my style, it is just the medium that I used to express that particular message at that time. And after that, I have done other styles. If I have a message to pass, I try to choose the best medium for that message and after then I put out different songs that have done well. As I said, different levels come with different expressions.

Speaking on the criticisms he got from that decision and all the criticisms he gets till now, Korede Bello said:

It is all the same to me. Positive or negative criticism is a subjective opinion of something that is out there. You don’t have control over the people that are receiving the message you’re putting out. You can’t please everybody and people perceive information differently, so with that, I always focus on what I can control.

And the only thing I can control is what I put out, so whatever the reaction after that, I don’t pay too much attention to what doesn’t make me grow. Meanwhile, there are some positive feedbacks that you can take and work on.

Speaking on the commercialization of Afrobeats now, Korede Bello said:

I have been fortunate to be part of the artistes who have benefitted from the recent spread of the Afrobeats gospel. I feel like I’m one of the first people to experience the global impact of the Afrobeats with ‘Do Like That’ in 2016 or 2017. And even ‘Micasa Sucasa’ during the lockdown enjoyed global reception.

It has benefited me and it is still benefiting me. I’m happier and more grateful that it is benefiting the industry as a whole. That for me is the joy and not necessarily the optics. People have had it and will still have it after you. The fact that music no longer has borders; that freedom for music to travel brings me joy.

What do you think about what Korede Bello said? Do you think he was 'foolish' to not stick to the "Godwin" sound or do you appreciate that he was willing to try out different sounds and experiment with his music? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.