Humans logo

Why Bob Saget Will be my Favourite On-Screen Dad

He divided us with his jokes - but united us in laughter

By EdithPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

The world has lost yet another funny soul. Just when you thought maybe, just maybe, this year might end up being a little better than last year, January starts with the news that Bob Saget is no longer with us.

Bob Saget may have recently divided people with his crude humour and jokes, but to me, he will always be the first American on-screen dad I ever saw.

I grew up watching Full House, close to two decades ago, and was always amazed at how funny the show was. Sure, when I watch it now, I hardly ever laugh, (and sometimes become acutely aware of the fact that it featured quite a few problematic catchphrases), but back then, it was something else.

I grew up as an Indian expat, living in the Middle East, where choices of television shows for English audiences were few. And at that time, as a nine-year old, watching an American sitcom, that featured a great cast, and which back then tackled issues like divorce, death, and family love was something else. In a day and age when men were supposed to be macho (Sylvester Stallone and Bruce Willis were all the rage), this was a show that showcased a sweet and vulnerable dad, raising three girls on his own, with the help of two equally inept males around him. I remember one episode where Bob’s character says in tears “I don’t know how I’m going to do it. I don’t know how I’m going to raise them”, and it struck a chord with my parents, who were raising a bunch of girls too.

A show that talked about teenage angst, the fun of being a middle child, the joy of being the youngest and cutest kid, boyfriends, acceptance, bullying – you name it, and it was being discussed on this show. Even though I was just nine years old back then, I knew all of these experiences were just a few years away for me too, and it was comforting to watch it being shown, and handled, so delicately on screen.

Full House was one of those rare shows where we could all sit down and enjoy a comedy as a family. Portraying a single dad to three girls may not have been Bob's favourite role (as he often repeatedly said in his later standup videos) but it is one he will always be remembered for.

I’ve wanted to watch the reboot, Fuller House, but simply can’t bring myself to do it now, knowing that Bob Saget is no longer with us. Maybe in a few years’ time, when my kids are tweens, I might sit down and watch the show with them (although they will probably think it is ‘lame’, seeing as they already think half the things I liked are ‘lame’).

Recently, Bob may be better known as the voice of Ted Mosby on How I Met Your Mother (another excellent show, where he strangely gave it another level of humour), and for his crude jokes. In fact, I have to admit, the first time I saw his stand-up video, it shocked me, because this was a guy who went from being everyone's favourite on-screen dad to someone spouting 'vile jokes that will make you not laugh but vomit' as one reviewer put it.

But maybe that's why he should be celebrated. He dared to go out there and make people laugh, whether by making fart jokes, or by raising three kids as a single dad. And if his last social media post is anything to go by, he had no intention of stopping anytime soon.

Thanks for all the laughs, Bob.

You will be missed.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Edith

Writer keen to explore myriad topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.