Humans logo

Why Am I on Vocal

Too Many Reasons

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
3
Photo by Nicola König on Unsplash

I am not on Vocal to read the news again or to try to avoid them. Everything is news nowadays, except for the news. There are exceptions, of course, such as AI Is Finally Sentient. Welcome to Vocal!

I am surely not here to be preached to. Some of the preachers are very subtle, even poetic in their guileless beliefs. We all know the common variety, but there are a few exotic ones, which render the soup rather explosive. They even have bad soldiers, at least in the poetic sense.

I am not on Vocal to read how to succeed in anything, since I like who I am. No one can love itself (except for viruses) and not eventually throw up. We can only like ourselves because we are assholes, every one of us, but hopefully we are not more than one*, and there are many of those roaming around like bugs, all kinds of bugs.

I am not on Vocal to read bad English, and I mean paragraphs and even sentences tainted by grammatical errors and typos to the Moon. Where are the editors? Where are the English writers? And I mean the language. I speak French but I am not French. I am also not English. I wish I was Greek. I am whoever I am. Who really cares except my ego and thus my brain, the master manipulator, per its ultimate function, to make us believe in the impossible. It is what makes us tick. We are machines, after all. Yet, we are made to feel threatened by AI, instead of changing our ways and doing what is really right. Are we parasites?

I am not on Vocal to read lists (or listings), except for those about souls, not the music, although it is one of my favourite genres. And it is bad English to put a small number (10) and even smaller in a title or subtitle. Even Shakespeare would have been appalled, taking her dress off in protest. Yes; Shakespeare may have been a woman. Even over 400 years after her death, still no one knows who the Bard really was. There are two female candidates, and I have my favourite : )

I am not on Vocal to read texts generated by AI. These so-called writers are supposed to mention that they are using AI. Yet some number of them does not. I know at least two. Only a tiny number of humans ever read us. What a joke of a statistic! My best reader is myself. Not my Self! There is no such thing, although it thrives in many circles and triangles. The brain is capable of many things that most of us ignore. Unfortunately, many misuse this knowledge, attributing it to higher powers, when, in all likelihood, it is but the brain showing us things that we want to see and even perceive. I may be wrong, I know. But I cannot believe in the impossible, unless it is poetic fiction, like AI moving to the Moon to be far from us.

I am not on Vocal to make money. Good luck with that!

I am not on Vocal to find love. I did already in a past life on Medium.

Why am I on Vocal? I think that I replied.

-----

* Coined by one of my narrators.

-----

Awaken Your Psychic Abilities : )

-----

Vocal - A Brief Critique

No one is speaking or singing, unless one is performing to oneself. We should speak the words of our poetry and sing them if they are also written to a tune, but only we can hear and listen, and whoever and whatever happen to be in our space, our vocal.

humanitysocial media
3

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    It grinds my gears when people use AI for their stories but do not disclose it. Even worse are the AI-Generated comments!

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    All fair points... And why am I here?

  • I do not understand who you are. You are a great writer. You have a lot of issues. I am 74 years old and attended college until I was 51 years old. YOU are complaining about the other writers, and you have programmed yourself as an editor. So, then apply to be an editor, but bear in mind that there are all forms of poetic and writing formats. I am Baltic, Kerry County Ireland and London, African Congolese, Somalia, Coptic Egyptian, Mediterranean Spanish and Italian, Native America, Asian, Indios Mexico. WE survive in an English format on Vocal. Why don't you make a list of all the writers that you think are faux? I believe your expertise will be an added addition.

  • https://vocal.media/poets/i-love-a-i

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.