Humans logo

Who am I

{Keep it Simple, Stupid}

By Amanda JonesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Who am I
Photo by Matt Collamer on Unsplash

I believe that I have struggled with this question, well, for my entire life. I still don’t think I can answer such a simple question. I, like many, look to God for my identity. My problem seems to be that I want to be TOLD who I am. For me, if I don’t keep MY focus simple, I end up begging and crying for everybody’s approval, except my own. I completely lose my self-worth! I believe that I have struggled with this for years & years, but today, I choose to focus on moving forward in a positive direction.

I feel like many self-help authors and therapists focus on the past in order to move forward… That’s great, but for me, I take all of the ownership of my problems and yours! Not blaming the past or even my parents (your welcome, Mom). By taking this “ownership”, I notice several others quite willing to shovel some of their own dirt & maybe not-so-good choices, my way. ***I wish you would stop some days*** Even when life feels heavy, I look around and see so many of us doing everything we can for someone else. I see so many of us fighting through the days, and most of us are fighting for those we love. I know I am!

We hear that people are who they are & don’t change, but I truly believe that I change with the seasons of my life. I think of those who knew me when I was a child. As a child, I often heard my mother say, “be on your best behaver, there might be someone we know here” as she attempted to coral 3 children through every errand she had to make after working full-time herself. I am sure that hearing such as a child, over and over, has something to do with the way I am constantly seeking your approval (and when I say “your” approval, that is exactly what I mean, even strangers!). I know my parents were not perfect. Period. My parents are not perfect, are yours? I am not perfect, but I try awfully hard to be “good”. To me, I want to love others, even on those days that I am grumpy & don’t want to be around myself, even on those days, when I can show another love… honestly listening or speaking truthfully, I always feel better. When I try to be hurtful to another, either with a sly comment under my breath or a roll of my eyes… it ALWAYS makes me worse.

Sometimes, circumstances make it hard for me to feel kind and on those days, I am trying to show myself forgiveness. Unfortunately, when I try to forgive myself, I constantly hear those who make comments, you know the comments… “You will never hold your OWN grandchild” or “You are…”... I just don’t understand the purpose of meanness, but I know that it affects me. Yes, that is the point, everyone says. I just don’t understand how anyone would purposely go out of their way to be mean, but they do & I am going to continue to be myself.

I am Amanda Jones. No longer Amanda Mart, as with that season, I have changed. If you knew me in my past, I hope I made you smile. If I have hurt you (I have hurt people, even those who I love), I wish I could remove the hurt I caused & I would like the opportunity to fill that spot with love. Moving forward, I will strive to be better. No excuses, because this is who I am choosing to be. I choose to love and be kind, even if it is not the easiest or the most logical. Even after being hurt, I will offer you my heart. I promise to forgive. My selfish tendencies have failed me. I choose to find the good. I choose love.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Amanda Jones

I’ve never been accused of having nothing to say, only that I speak too much.

My husband is my world, the girls bring me happiness & energy. Our family defines unconditional love & joy. We make it through what is meant to break us. 💕🐾💕🐾

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.