Humans logo

Kindness Matters

“Whoever is happy will make others happy.” ― Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl

By Amanda JonesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Kindness Matters
Photo by Dakota Corbin on Unsplash

We all know 2020 has been difficult, right? “Difficult”? I wonder about that word, while a friendly & polite “shitshow” seems to describe the past year more appropriately. “Shitshow.”

It is unusual for most people to see me without a smile on my face. Even with the life-saving mask, I still believe that those I interact with genuinely know I am happy to see them, excited to hear about what they may have been reading, or how they have been keeping sane throughout this year. Sometimes when I see people, now, I feel beams of glitter & sunshine run through my veins, I know, it is annoying. I can only assume it is the way our pets see us after we have been away from home. So, if you see an “excited Amanda” jumping up and down waving to you from the driveway, let’s just go with the assumption that it has been a long, strange year. This woman here, I am a hugger. I love the sense of touch and words of encouragement are my love language.

Many times throughout 2020, I have felt entirely alone. Obviously, I am not alone in going through this global pandemic, maybe I have felt more lonely than alone? Most of us have concluded that Covid-19 is real and has messed with the year! Maybe you don’t know anybody who has passed away from the virus, but I bet you know people who have lost their job or home this year, which probably can be traced back to this deadly virus. We are also living through a lot of hatred and confusions affecting each of us. All of the wild fires throughout the world, and fires throughout social injustices… This year is leaving a fire in my heart!

“We don’t have to agree on anything to be kind to one another”. - Author Unkown

I have a fiery feeling lightening up heart, to be kind. I am looking for old ways and new ways to spread happiness through acts of kindness. I am going to share some of the ideas I have tried to spread kindness, betting it causes a smile, and hoping each smile can comfort those around.

We have heard the professionals recommend checking in on loved ones more often this year, how lucky are we to have so much technology in order to check in! In the 90’s, I was lucky to have my own phone line in my bedroom as a teenager. Now, when I say “my own phone line”, what this really means is that it was the days of dial up internet, constant busy signals, and *69 (which really worked, but sadly charges showed up for the bill payer **oops**!). In the 90’s, some of us had caller id & cell phones, but sharing pictures or ideas was much more common going through the USPS. I think of how grateful I am, during such a stressful and hard time for us, as a society, for the advancements in technology. I feel blessed that I am able to videochat, but not just with my niece & nephews able to “drop-in” at any time, although I absolutely love them. The best part of this pandemic (or year) for me is the ability to FaceTime with my 91 year old Grandma & my 93 year old Grandpa!

We will get through this season of our life, I pray to make it through my season sharing love with you, even if I do not physically know you. I am here to spread love in even the strangest times.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Amanda Jones

I’ve never been accused of having nothing to say, only that I speak too much.

My husband is my world, the girls bring me happiness & energy. Our family defines unconditional love & joy. We make it through what is meant to break us. 💕🐾💕🐾

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.