Humans logo

Where is the love?

Love must not live here

By Ebony WardPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

What is love? Love is patience, caring and kind. God is love. Love covers a multitude of sins. Love is felt when it’s genuine. You can always feel in your heart when the love a person gives is coming from the heart. People always say they love, but their actions speaks otherwise. I have been taught that what you feel in your heart is what you speak out of your mouth. Sometimes people lie about love.

When we get into relationships or marriages, we love the person we are with, or so we say. We know how to do a lot of talking. If America was built on God, America is suppose to love everybody, no matter the race. We all bleed the same color blood, our hearts beat the same. There shouldn’t be any hate amongst people. If God is love, we all should be too.

Love is taught, hate is taught as well. It starts at home. Parents are suppose to teach right from wrong, apparently most have taught more hate than love. This is a generational curse because it’s passed down from generation to generation. Until somebody wakes up sand says it’s wrong and changes, the cycle will continue.

People will love their own but hate other races for no reason at all, or because they were taught to hate. I can appreciate those people of snatcher race for standing up to the racism in this country. I appreciate those standing up for the black race, and realizing and knowing that all races are not equal. I see it, and other black people see it as well. Many of us blacks people know that not al white people think the same as others, and are not racist.

I myself have white people in my family whom I love. I am just afraid of my nieces, who are mixed and growing up in this world that is so full of hate. I can only pray that they do not get disrespected because they are mixed. I can appreciate their mother very much.

It is ridiculous to live a life full of hate. You die earlier and quicker having hate in our hearts, because we harbor the hate in our hearts. It’s wasted energy hating on people. It sickens the heart. Some people don’t die because of diseases, they die because the heart couldn’t take all that it was harboring. Eating the wrong way is not the only thing that can damage your heart.

Love does not seem to live in many people’s hearts and it’s understandable. You been hurt too many times and it’s hard to love. That’s why there is healing. You must heal yourself first. It’s understandable that it will take time to love, but do not harbor any hate forwards the person that hurt you. Forgive. Can’t say let go because it will never be forgotten. We need to take lessons from the white baby and the black baby. They were running to each other, hugged each other and then went back to their mothers. Kids just want to play with other kids no matter the race. It’s the patience that pushes them away. The same way kids can love and get along with other kids, adults should be able to do the same, regardless of the color of the skin.

I really hope that all this racism ends. Families will stop hating on their loved ones, or disowning their loved ones because they chose not to hate and be racist, but learn to understand that hating is wrong and they will join them. I hope that everybody will have a mindset change. It may be too much to ask, but it needs to happen.

I experienced racism when I was a child. I was doing laundry in the building that I lived in. We had a white man sitting in the room. He said some very racist things to us. We went and told my mother and she barely did anything. He had a smirk on his face. All we did was go home. We saw him many other times, but he didn’t say anything. We just ignored him,

Then I was profiled by police when I was pregnant. I was walking to the train station after being at my daughters grandmothers house. A cop car ride up on the side of me. They were white cops. They got out the car, asked me where I was going, then they proceeded to frisk me. They asked if I had any weapons on me. Which I didn’t. They then told me they was looking for a black girl who was at a party. That was not me. Then they let me go.

I do know that it’s going to get worse before things get better, but we just need to keep oour hopes up and keep fighting to end racism. I know racism is a hard thing to end because it’s been embedded in people.It’s going to take something for racist people to see that they need somebody, even if it is people that don’t have the same skin color.

I am glad for many people can love without seeing the color of a persons skin. I am glad that people are no longer tolerating hate. People are speaking up and out about it. I believe a change is going to come. It’s not going to happen overnight, it’s gonna take some time. Let’s just keep our heads up. Love is the key that fixes all things. Learn to love each other, no matter who the person is or the color of the skin, and let it be pure and genuine. Nobody should have to figure out if a person loves them. It can be seen. If the country was built on God, then show God’s love.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Ebony Ward

I am a mother of three adult girls. I love helping people. I want to see people achieve in whatever they are trying to achieve. I am also an up and coming author. The name of my book is Overcomer. How I overcame my struggles. Look for it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.