Humans logo

When you love someone but someone already has one

English

By ignatius awang braminiaPublished 16 days ago 5 min read

Alright, let me tell you about a wild chapter from my life that still gets me thinking. It all started a few summers ago when I met this girl, Emily, at a mutual friend's barbecue. You know how it goes—sun setting, burgers sizzling, music playing in the background. Everything was perfect.

Emily was standing by the grill, laughing at something Dave, our friend, had said. Her laugh was infectious, and before I knew it, I was chuckling too, even though I hadn't caught the joke. We got to talking, and it was like we’d known each other forever. We had the same taste in music, loved the same movies, and could riff off each other's jokes like we were a comedy duo. It was one of those instant connections.

For the next few weeks, we started hanging out more. Coffee dates turned into movie nights, and movie nights turned into late-night talks about everything and nothing. I started to realize I was falling for her, hard. There was just one tiny, little problem—Emily was already in a relationship.

She'd occasionally mention her boyfriend, Josh, in passing. I tried to ignore the pang of jealousy I felt every time his name came up, but it was tough. The more time we spent together, the harder it got to push those feelings aside. It was clear we had something special, but I didn’t want to mess things up for her or become the guy who ruins relationships.

One night, we were sitting on her porch, talking about our dreams and future plans. I decided I couldn't keep it in any longer.

"Emily, I gotta tell you something," I said, my heart pounding.

She looked at me with those eyes that made me melt every time. "What’s up?"

"I think I've fallen for you," I blurted out. "I know you're with Josh, and I don't want to complicate things, but I had to be honest with you. I really care about you."

There was a moment of silence. I could hear my own heartbeat in my ears, and I was sure I’d messed everything up.

"Wow," she finally said. "I didn't expect that. I...I care about you too, but Josh is a big part of my life."

I nodded, trying to keep it cool. "I get it, Em. I just wanted you to know. I don't expect anything to change. I just needed to be honest."

Things were awkward for a bit after that. We still hung out, but there was this unspoken tension. I was trying to move on, but it was hard. Then one day, Emily called me up, and we met at our favorite coffee shop.

"I talked to Josh," she said, her voice steady. "We broke up."

I was shocked. "Are you okay?"

"Yeah," she said, smiling a little. "It was a long time coming. We both knew things weren't working out, but we were too comfortable to change anything. And then, I realized how much I valued our connection. I didn’t want to let that go."

Fast forward to now, Emily and I are together, and it’s everything I hoped it would be. Sometimes, you just have to be honest about your feelings, even when it’s scary. You never know—it might just lead to something amazing.

So, that’s the story of how I almost let love slip through my fingers but ended up with something real. Life's funny like that sometimes.

...

So, picture this: I'm at this party, right? It’s one of those random gatherings where you barely know anyone, but you’re hoping to have a good time. My friend Mark dragged me along, promising it would be "epic." I'm not usually one for these scenes, but hey, why not?

I'm grabbing a drink when I spot this girl across the room. She’s got this incredible smile, and there’s something about her that’s just... different. Her name’s Sarah, and we end up chatting for what feels like hours. She’s smart, funny, and we just click. You know how rare that is?

Anyway, we’re in the middle of talking about our favorite books when she casually drops a bombshell. “My boyfriend, Jake, loves that author too.”

I try to play it cool. “Oh, nice. You guys been together long?”

“Yeah, almost three years now,” she says with a smile. It’s one of those genuine smiles, too, like she’s really happy. And that’s when it hits me—I’m falling for someone who’s already taken.

Over the next few weeks, Sarah and I become good friends. We hang out in groups, text all the time, and sometimes grab coffee together. It’s like we’re drawn to each other. But there’s always that invisible line I can’t cross because of Jake.

One night, we’re at this cozy little coffee shop, and it’s raining outside. There’s this warm, intimate vibe, and we’re deep in conversation. I can’t help myself—I let my feelings slip.

“Sarah, I gotta be honest,” I start, nervously fidgeting with my cup. “I think I’m falling for you. I know you’re with Jake, and I respect that, but I just needed to tell you how I feel.”

She looks at me, and there’s this flicker of something in her eyes. “Wow, I didn’t expect that,” she says softly. “I care about you too, but Jake and I… we’ve been through a lot together.”

“I get it,” I say, trying to smile. “I just couldn’t keep it in anymore.”

Things get a bit weird after that. We’re still friends, but there’s this unspoken tension. I’m trying to move on, but it’s hard when someone you care about is so close yet so out of reach.

Then, out of nowhere, Sarah calls me one night, her voice shaky. “Can we talk?”

We meet up, and she tells me that she and Jake broke up. “It’s been coming for a while,” she admits. “We were holding on to something that wasn’t there anymore.”

“I’m sorry to hear that,” I say, genuinely concerned.

She looks at me and smiles a little. “I’ve been thinking a lot about what you said. I needed to sort things out with Jake, but I realized I don’t want to lose you from my life.”

Fast forward a bit, and Sarah and I are now giving this thing a real shot. It’s been a rollercoaster, but sometimes the best things come out of the messiest situations. I guess when you love someone, it’s worth taking the risk, even if it doesn’t always seem like the right time.

And that’s how I found myself navigating through a tricky situation and ended up finding something real with Sarah. Life’s unpredictable, but sometimes it surprises you in the best ways.

friendshiplove

About the Creator

ignatius awang braminia

a

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ignatius awang braminiaWritten by ignatius awang braminia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.