Humans logo

What Multicultural Families Bring To The World

Multicultural households are becoming increasingly prevalent as time goes on

By Gina StefanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
What  Multicultural Families Bring To The World
Photo by Juliana Kozoski on Unsplash

Multicultural households are becoming increasingly prevalent as time goes on. I've always been fascinated by people from other cultures. I've always been inquisitive about the world around me since I was a child. My mother and I often make light of the fact that she did not raise me in a multilingual household. I had no choice but to complete all of the language learning on my own! Though I did not have such a fortunate upbringing, a growing number of children are growing up in a multicultural environment. I've always been interested in learning about different cultures, but I've recently become even more captivated by what it means to grow up in a multicultural home. I'm an American living in France who got engaged recently! My fiancé was born in Japan but raised in France. As a result, we'll be able to share our respective cultures of the United States, France, and Japan with one another and our families! It's both thrilling and lovely. Every day, I learn something new about Japanese and French culture, and the distinctions I notice frequently inspire me dig deeper into my own American culture. I frequently find myself wondering why Americans conduct certain things in such a different way than other countries. My insatiable curiosity constantly leads to fresh discoveries.

I recently came upon an article about newlyweds. In the United States, "one out of every six newlyweds is married to someone of a different race or ethnicity," according to the report. When compared to couples even just 50 years ago, this is a significant change! Multicultural families are on the rise as a result of increased diversity and acceptance of interracial marriages. When people consider what it could be like to have a family with various cultures, values, and viewpoints, they often become concerned. When comparing a couple from two cultures to a pair whose friends, families, and even work colleagues all share the same idea of "common knowledge," there are clearly a lot more factors to consider. Choosing where to live and which language to speak are major decisions! Nonetheless, the rewards far exceed the drawbacks.

Personally, I am confident that we will raise our future children in a bilingual environment. Even this selection has numerous advantages for youngsters! Learning that raising children in a multilingual atmosphere makes them more compassionate is one of the most important benefits for me. They are more accepting of other people. They are exposed to many ways of seeing the world from an early age through the usage of several languages. I also enjoy the idea that teaching children a second language will make it easier for them to learn another language as adults. People find it easier to learn languages when they have already learned a related language. For example, I'm learning Italian right now and finding it much simpler because I'm already fluent in French. The commonalities between the two languages make the procedure a lot easier. We live happier and even healthier lives when we are linked to other people. Knowing another language and culture makes it easier for people to accept others who don't appear or believe the same way we do. Being exposed to people from many cultures can help us be less judgmental of things that are different from our own. It broadens our horizons by exposing us to new languages, customs, and traditions. Everything is brand new, but it's also thrilling!

I believe that for many people, the prospect of venturing into the unknown is terrifying! When you don't know exactly what is culturally appropriate and are worried about being misinterpreted when communicating in a second or third language, it can be difficult. These are legitimate concerns! It's very reasonable to feel this way, yet the prospect of the unknown suddenly excites me. I've already been through it in France, navigating it ungracefully at times, and I'm still alive! It can be frightening at first, but we gain so much more knowledge about the vast world around us as a result of the experience. Surprisingly, we also learn a lot about ourselves in the process. This new information, I believe, will be passed down to my children through tales and how they see me interact with other people in society. Later in life, kids would understand that the world in which they were reared was vastly distinct and diverse from that of other families. They'll watch me navigating the complexities of being part of a multicultural family and realize that their opinions on the value of culture and respect for others have been shaped as a result.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.