Humans logo

What Makes A Real Friend

I've been friends with a special someone since middle school. I went from having a whole group of friends to leaving Alabama with only one of them.

By ChayntellePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
What Makes A Real Friend
Photo by Karl Magnuson on Unsplash

Life doesn't give you a break. At all. I was only 11 years old, ready for Middle school, and feel like I'm getting older. Well...

I Turned out hating it.

Ever since I moved, I wanted whatever happened in Alabama to stay in Alabama. I think if I don't pour my feelings out this one, final time, my wish won't happen. So...Let's goo. (Lemmie save first.)

I had a friend. Let's call her...hm....(I was going to say Angel, but NOOOO) Sky. I was best friends with Sky since elementary school. We were good friends, we called and hung out when we had the chance. She was a grade higher than me, but was held back and in my grade. I had another friend named Lori who was one of my childhood friend's cousin. Anyway, I was in no position to lose friends. I didn't want to end up on my own.

1st PREDICAMENT

After begging my mom to get me my very own phone, she decided to give me a "Practice" phone. A pre-paid phone. I wasn't so mad. It called and texted, right? I was grateful regardless. I put Sky's contact in my phone and also some other girls. I couldn't wait to get a real phone!

One night, at my Grandmother's house, I was on the phone with Sky. She introduced me to her other friend, Sara. Sky's goal was to prank me that she was in the hospital. Of course, I didn't believe it. I'm smart, but not dumb. (Lol) In a playful tone, I said "I swear, Sky, If you are lying, I will slap you. *Laughs*" Sara, not minding her own damn started cursing me out. While she was bitching about my comment, I kept telling her it's a joke and eventually started arguing back. My Mom took my phone away from me and ended the call.

I remember driving home that night, crying on the phone with Sky asking her if she was still my friend and that this whole thing was a misunderstanding. I don't really remember what she said, but I know that she was on Sara's side.

After going to school the next day, I was being threatened by those hoes, receiving nasty messages about wanting to fight, phone calls. My Mom told me to block and ignore them, but how could I when they were following me everywhere? Even after school, I would take the bus to my Sister's elementary school, and they would follow me to where I sit down. This has been happening for days until my Mom's friend found out and WAS NOT HAVING IT.

One day, as always, they were following me to the elementary school. This time, before I sat down, my Mom, my brother, my toddler baby sister, and my Mom's best friend were waiting for them to turn the corner. I was feeling pretty good at this point. I felt like I needed someone to be there for me, give me a little push, give me the voice I needed the whole time. While my Mother's friend was confronting her, my sister stood on the table and glared straight into Sky's eyes. (It was scary ASF) After they backed up and went away, we went home. This made me realized that sometimes, people need that little nudge when it comes to standing up for themselves. I learned a lot. However, the story doesn't end there.

Soooo the next day, I went to school, I was in P.E class. I wasn't planning on doing anything except for hanging out with my friends on the top of the bleachers. I went into the locker room to get some clothes out of my locker when I see that Sky was arguing with another girl in the bathroom. Listen...I needed to have a tiny sip of the tea, ok? When they were done arguing, everybody in the locker room started to leave, including me until Sky spotted me and told me that my Mom had no right to "Attack her." I told her that my Mom is an adult and she was going to listen regardless. It wasn't really back and forth, but I never knew I could actually speak back to her. Welp. That's how my confrontational trait developed. I walked away from her with a "talk to the hair" attitude and went back to sitting on the top of the bleachers where I belonged. It was cool until she came back and sat also. All the girls on the bleachers tried to get us to fight, but I know better. This girl was mad small. I'm not a fighter, but I know I would slingshot her ass if we ever got into it. She then made a comment about....something that really hurt my feelings. I called my mom and told her that she wouldn't leave me alone, and she called the police and told me to wait in the front office.

When my Mom got here, the vibes I got were, "Sick of this BS" She looked so done in so many ways. Confronting her didn't work, pressing charges didn't work, teachers not helping didn't work either. As I was waiting in the front office, an officer came and spoke to the principal about the matter AFTER weeks of an ignored complaint. The principal got both girls in his office, I received a kiss from my mom and went back to class. At lunch, Sky was crying and she left me alone. One day, I hope she experiences the feelings she made me feel. Wishing bullying on people is a bad thing, that's why I didn't mean it like that. This made me learn something also, I can help someone stick up for themselves. I should never treat people how Sky and Sara treated me. I never want anyone to feel that way because of me. So, that's predicament #1.

PREDICAMENT #2

Lori.

I never realized how much of a toxic friend she was. I always thought that her making fun of my weight and flaws were normal. We had a few arguments or whatever because, after that other incident, I'm not allowing friends to walk all over me. One day I just realized that enough was and it was "Goodbye Lori!"

Lily

Lily and I have been good friends. We shared the same passion, but I guess jealousy got in between us. One day, I was just chilling then BOOM. "I don't want to be your friend anymore." I didn't want to fix the situation, because this girl been talking behind my back, making up lies, so it was just smart to let her go.

Talia

Now, I actually dated Talia forrr...a couple of weeks after she came out as Bi-sexual. The one thing that bothered me was that she was very possessive. At first, I thought it was normal...but, she got mad when I kept talking to one of my best friends of today. She gave me the promise ring I gave her and teamed up with Lily to make me feel left out. They both pretended they didn't have beef a couple of weeks ago and if it wasn't for me, they would have fought.

Anna

Anna and I talk a lot even with long distance. She's been with me as I've been there for her through the highs and lows of all my friendships. She was the only one who stuck with me through all of that BS. I'm grateful for her. I consider her a best friend because of the amount of trust I give her.

Speaking of trust, after the Middle school experience, I went to therapy. I don't know if my trust issues bothered my Mom or if she thought I was depressed. Soon, I was both.

To be honest, I consider a real friend to not be limited to your expectations, but caring and understanding, and trustworthy. Jealousy will eat a friendship UPP. I learned many things from this experience. I learned not to judge, that sometimes you have to help someone find their voice, don't bully, and fighting won't solve sh*t, it will only make you look dumb as hell. Hopefully I will learn more once I grow older and determine what type of person I want to be.

*I'm sorry this story was late. Ya girl was busy.

Alright I'mma go. Probably play with my sims and see what they are up to.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Chayntelle

A born writer from Washington. A singer-songwriter. A daughter. An older sister of three. Practicing to become a Pro-professional. T become an inspiring artist. To hone my skills. For now, my uploading days are "Sundays" and "Wendsdays"

Thx

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.