Humans logo

What information should you include on your online dating profile?

12 questions I personally would want answered

By Ashley HamiltonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
What information should you include on your online dating profile?
Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

There are plenty of articles show casing why you should date this or not date this. But as made aware from a male counterpart that there is nothing about what one should put into their dating profile to answer the questions the other may have. To get the best pairs and results.

As a friend I had given him my personal advice on what things I want to know when starting a new relationship. And with that he instructed that I should in fact share it here on my blog.

So without further ado. Here are some things I want to know when starting a new relationship that may help you with your online dating profile.

  1. What are your interests and hobbies? No. not I like working and I like dogs. What things are important to you? Politics, beliefs, wants and needs out of your relationships, and how do you spend your time at home when nobody else is around. I want to know the inner things that bring you the most joy.
  2. What is your family like? I believe families are important. Not because it’ll show me how you'll end up. But I want to know as much about your family lifestyle as I want to know about you. I want to know I will mesh well with your family. I want us to live with an understanding of each others relatives and be respectful of one another. Most importantly, I do want to know about your relationship with your mother/father. Do you respect them? Do they respect you?
  3. If nothing else mattered, what is your dream life? No. not your dream job or car or city you live in. BUT what in life do you seek out most. How in your dreams does your life look? Do you have a family? Are you faithful? Do you have a good work-life balance? How often do you want to take vacations? How do you want to feel about your life when you look back after sixty years?
  4. What are your friends like? I do want to know what they are like, but more importantly I want to know how you act with them. Do you hit up clubs and flirt? Do you go to sports games and just chill? Will you be able to stand up against them if you truly love me and they are not respectful of me?
  5. What does your life with me look like? Are we happy? Are we both working or is one of us a stay-at-home parent? Do we live a fulfilling dedicated life with each other?
  6. KIDS. I'm going to need you to be upfront with me. Do you want them or not? Or are you unsure? Because that’s a plausible answer too. But I need to know either way. If one of us is unable to help with the conceiving of the child(ren) what lengths are you willing to take to get us there? Adoption? IVF? Fostering? Surrogacy? Testing?
  7. I want to know what your dating life was like before me. No not to be jealous. Just general idea. Like what caused these relationships to not work out? Cheating? Didn’t want the same things in life? Your paths led you in different directions? I do not want every little detail nor do I want names or pictures.
  8. I want to know whether you’ll stand in front, beside, or behind me in difficult situations. Will you take charge and fit my battles for me? OR Will you fight my battles with me? OR Will you let me fight my battles by myself?
  9. What is the most important block to you in a healthy, successful relationship? Communication? Trust? Faithfulness? Dependability? (there are more options you don't have to stick with my four. It should be what you think is most important)
  10. What is your go-to date? Your favorite date? The dream date you wish to take me on? None of these should consist of “long walks on the beach” I want some real thoughtfulness and planning to go into this question. Start to finish. I don’t want to just know you'll take me to dinner. But I want to know should I expect flowers when I'm picked up, where will the dinner take place, is it just dinner or do you have some other plans. How will you treat me? Will you want to communicate during our meal or just enjoy the company in silence?
  11. What do you want in a spouse? I want to know the inner thoughts about this, if you have trouble sharing your feelings, it’s the ones you are scared to share with your friends on what you really want in your spouse. For example: I want my spouse to be humorous and kind I want him to share with me how his day went (everyday) good or bad, I want him to be willing to go with me to grow as a person or in work just as I would for him. Things like that.
  12. I want to know all your favorite things. And least favorite things. Color, food, places to go, restaurants, family members, and movies.

Honestly, I just want to be the one person you confide the most in. I want to feel safe with you, safe enough to confide most in you.

No matter why you are starting your dating profile. No matter which of these you want to add to it, if none. I hope that this article meets you with a spark of light in your darkness and provides you with some hope that you will find what you are looking for. Or at least just a little bit of inspiration.

I could go on, but twelve points is enough. Some of you may disagree with me. Some of you may not. But I don’t care either way. Because I know someone somewhere will read this. And find the love ALL of us deserve. 100% real true devoted love. And even just knowing that that is a possibility is satisfaction enough.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Hamilton

Pet mama 🐾. Domestic Abuse Survivor.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.