Humans logo

What I've Noticed about Why Nollywood Women Earn More Than Men - Eso Dike

Eso Dike gives thoughts

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
Like

There are many conversations had daily about the entertainment industry here in Nigeria, and among those conversations, one that keeps coming up over and over again regularly is the topic of money in the industry - specifically how it differs between the men and the women. It seems women in Nollywood flaunt more money than their male counterparts do, and for this reason, a lot of industry folk have given their thoughts and opinions on why they believe this is the case. Now, Nollywood actor Eso Dike is speaking about why he believes this happens during a new interview with The Cable Lifestyle. Here's what Eso Dike had to say about the matter.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about if it's true that women make more money than men in do in the industry and why he feels this is, Eso Dike said:

ESO DIKE: It is true. To be honest, I do not know about pay disparity. I do not know much about that because I am not counting people’s pockets. But I was watching a podcast recently where Etim Effiong was talking about this sort of topic and he very expertly answered that and I think I am on the same page with him. He said that it is not as if women are not just as hardworking as men, it is just that women being women are liable to get more goodwill just because they are women. And that is quite true because people would give women things easier and freer than they would give men. It is just because women are like objects of affection. A man is a man. I have seen situations where my colleagues were gifted just because, “Oh, I saw you on TV. I love your show. I love you. I love what you did there”, and it had absolutely nothing to do with sexual favors or other things that people say. You know, just “I love you. You did this so well. Here you go. Here is a gift. Here is that”. But in my almost a decade in Nollywood, I do not think I have received a gift for being good. Maybe I have, but not in the same capacity. People tend to give freely to women as opposed to men and I think that may be the reason why people think that. I don’t know about the day-to-day pay packages but I know that women receive better than men do for sure.

Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going and I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.