Humans logo

What happened to those who never married?

My aunt never married, 62 years old this year, living alone, with a monthly pension of more than 2,000 dollar, bored every day.

By jasonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What happened to those who never married?

My aunt never married, 62 years old this year, living alone, with a monthly pension of more than 2,000 dollar, bored every day.

After my aunt retired, she lost the sense of fulfillment brought by work, so she had to deal with everyday life by herself, such as buying food, cooking, dancing in the square, and going shopping. Basically, the whole day passed like this. In the past, she would occasionally go on a group tour with her old colleagues.

I once asked my aunt whether the repetitive life would be boring and become depressed. "That's basically what happens when you get old," she said with a sigh. "You just have to find something to do to avoid depression."

Why did aunt never marry? Because she was too picky to meet anyone at marriageable age, she remained single.

Although my aunt is petite, but the features of three-dimensional, durable. When she was young, she loved to dress up, follow the trend, when I was a child greedy for her cosmetics and high heels, also secretly put the blush to his cheek rub, put small feet into the "huge" high heels, left twist right twist learn aunt on high heels graceful appearance. When she was 30, she even took a photo of herself in her wedding dress, which was beautiful.

In fact, my aunt was just a female factory worker at that time. My family once introduced her to someone, but the date fell through either because the man was not attractive to my aunt or because he lived in a remote area.

After all these years, I asked my aunt if she regretted not getting married. She replied helplessly, "Alas! What's the use of regret, only blame at that time young, not sensible."

My dad used to say the same thing.

My dad didn't meet my mom until he was 37, and he didn't have me until he was 40. Older single men and women were a "rare species" at that time, and they were especially vulnerable to discrimination from outsiders, especially women.

I teased my dad: "You were almost 40 years old, and you had been single all your life. It was good to be with your aunt and take care of each other. Why are you suddenly looking for someone?"

"When I was young, I was naive and fond of playing. I rarely thought about going out with my friends without going to work. I didn't care much about falling in love and getting married. When I was in my 30s, I realized that it was hard to hang out with my colleagues and friends because they were getting married one after another. Dad had a straight face.

"Didn't Grandma urge you and Auntie?" I'm confused.

"That's not true. Your grandmother never asked about our brother and sister's love affairs, let alone urged us to get married. If your grandmother had said something at that time, and persuaded us to pay attention to finding a partner, maybe we would have seriously considered this problem, and then we would not have been an old woman who never married." Dad was very emotional.

I guess what my dad and my aunt meant by "naive" was "unconscious," unaware of the impact of missing out on the perfect "season" of love and the lack of a partner in your life.

My grandmother has a low education level, and her seven children are free range parenting. The older generation's family is not well off, and they have many children, so they are busy making ends meet every day. It is good to raise all the children, not to mention to consciously tell their own life experience to the children, so that they do not take detours.

Since childhood can be cultivated to form independent, mature and wise thinking consciousness, on the basis of which can harvest the constructive opinions and experience sharing from others, this standing on the shoulders of the "giant" to reach the "door" to the success of life should be how lucky!

Whether to get married or not, whether to have children or not, no matter how you choose, first ask yourself whether you can accept the consequences of your choice. It doesn't matter if you don't think well, after all, with the passage of time, the growth of experience, some decisions may change!

singlemarriagehumanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.