Humans logo

What Happened to the CARE in Healthcare?

The Business & Standard of Care

By Megan BaldPublished 2 years ago 4 min read

What happened to the CARE in Healthcare?

As a former Healthcare Provider of 13+ years, as well as an individual who struggles with more than one chronic disease or disorder, I have been witness to both sides of the Healthcare industry.

That being said, I have one word to describe this system which is responsible for the maintenance, management, and advancement of our health and medical needs:

Disappointing.

The term Healthcare, in my opinion, is a pretty straightforward designation:

Health: the state of being free from illness or injury.

Care: the provision of what is necessary for the health, welfare, maintenance, and protection of someone or something.

Somewhere along the way, the CARE component either got left behind like the kid in Home Alone, or got tossed out like week-old-leftovers. Either way, my question is simple:

What has caused the Healthcare community to stop CARING?

The Business of Healthcare

Have the money-greedy companies associated with this industry completely corrupted the providers?

At the risk of sounding wide-eyed and naïve, I must confess that when I entered into the Healthcare field, I was driven by the idea of helping people, not a BIG FAT PAYCHECK. It’s a good thing too, because my paychecks were often pretty scrawny and slender. But I found my supplemental compensation in the appreciation and progress of the individuals I provided treatment for.

However, one of the main reasons I gracefully bowed out of the profession resides in the imbalance between the politics and the desire. It became a seesaw of ups-and-downs between the spirit and passion of the experience, vs. the grueling obligations and oppressive nature of the business. When the seesaw started leaning towards the oppressive side more frequently and for longer periods of time, in comparison to the passionate side, I felt it was time to leave. I wanted to cut my losses before I became contaminated with corruption, as I have seen fellow co-workers succumb to.

Standard of Care

Should we hold Healthcare Providers to a higher standard?

Yes. I believe we should. The providers of the community’s healthcare retain a huge amount of power, as well as responsibility.

Most people are familiar with the quote:

“With great power comes great responsibility.”

This phrase was originally penned in the 18th century by the French writer/historian/philosopher François-Marie Arouet; more commonly known by his ‘nom de plume’ (pen name), Voltaire.

This phrase can also be heard from the character Ben Parker, ‘Uncle Ben’, in the Spider-Man comics/Marvel movies. That is probably where most people have heard it.

This profound phrase is versatile and applicable in many forms. Thus, it rings true in regards to the providers of our health. These individuals have the power and ability to heal or to hurt, to save or to slay, to preserve or to discard us. When we turn to them for assistance, it is often assumed, ideally by both parties, that the provider will do just that…PROVIDE.

Provide: to supply or make available (something wanted or needed).

Who’s Responsible?

The majority of people only seek the assistance and intervention of a Healthcare Provider on an ‘As Needed’ basis. In other words, it’s unlikely for someone to inquire a provider’s opinion or retain their services unless an illness or injury occurs; with the exception of those than believe in planning ahead and/or preventative care.

In regards to the ‘As Needed’ occurrence:

When unfortunate ailments intrude on a person’s activities of daily living, it is likely that the injury or illness also brings with it the possibility of disheartening signs and symptoms. These signs and symptoms can often make life unpleasant and difficult.

When experiencing unpleasantness and difficulties, seeking a Healthcare Provider should not increase, exacerbate, or add to these struggles. Unfortunately, when the Healthcare Providers no longer care, that is exactly what happens.

Increasingly-Exacerbated-Added Struggle.

This boosted-struggle often involves lack of dependability. I am personally exhausted with having to depend on undependable people. When did the sick-and-injured be required to do all of the leg work? When did the patient become responsible for tasks that the office staff, paid office staff, is supposed to be doing?

Follow-up calls for referrals, prescriptions, appointments, and lab orders!!

The list of overwhelming tasks is never ending.

Not to mention the costs: insurance, medications, and of course, a la carte fees for the doctor, the hospital, the x-rays, the anesthesiologist, etc.

Why is the burden constantly placed on the broken-and battered? On the wounded-and suffering?

When did the Customer become the Hostage?

The afore mentioned costs placed on the sick and injured, obviously insinuate that they are, in a sense, the customer. The responsible party, yes. But for all intents and purposes, the customer.

Typically, the customer is often granted the capacity to have a privilege or weigh-in regarding how a situation is conducted. I have found that dealings in the Healthcare realm, do not reflect any type of jurisdiction or managemental influence granted to the customer.

The Provider essentially dictates what happens to the Customer.

Our ability to live healthy, quality-filled lives is often held hostage by the Healthcare Providers. It has become a Superior/Inferior type of relationship between Provider and Patient.

Final Thoughts:

I have had Providers cancel prescriptions on me out-of-spite, refuse to change my medications when they caused adverse side-effects, discontinue being my Provider after a difference of opinion, scaring me into getting unnecessary surgery, and one that told me that they didn’t CARE if I ever came back again. The list goes on-and-on, but I think you get my point.

It may be the opinion of some that perhaps these Providers did these things or said these things because I was an unruly patient. Perhaps. But, again, I have been on the side of the Provider, and I have dealt with my fair share of unruly patients.

I cannot imagine treating ANY of my patients the way some of these Providers have treated me. Does that make me holier-than-thou? Nope! Not even close. It allows me to see the color of the grass on BOTH sides of the fence, and realize that neither side is completely green.

humanity

About the Creator

Megan Bald

Medical Professional turned writer.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Megan BaldWritten by Megan Bald

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.