Humans logo

What are you thankful for?

Gratitude list

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 12 months ago • Updated 8 months ago • 3 min read
4
What are you thankful for?
Photo by Viev Loner on Unsplash

What am I thankful for?

That's a hard question for me. I'm not kidding. I like to call myself a bit of a rain cloud. I made a turkey hand once a few years back around Thanksgiving while spending time on self improvement. I struggled with coming up with ideas all the way back then. I only had to pick five things to be thankful for then, but still it can be quite the challenge- especially when you're locked into a state of depression.

I think lists of gratitude are important because our minds are powerful. When all you feed your brain with negativity and sadness, then that’s all you’ll ever think about. When you think about gratitude and positivity, you’ll feel much happier. Trust me there. There's a reason why I call myself a rain cloud- and I don't even mean to be dreary.

Life throws all of us challenges and problems and it helps to focus on the good things rather than the bad. Depression can get at the best of us. Creating a gratitude list helps you focus on the upside to life. Gratitude is a gentle reminder of the things you have. Don't let the bad parts of life make you forget all the good you still have.

Despite all that, I have managed to compile a list below of things I am forever grateful for....

“Be thankful for everything that happens in your life; it’s all an experience.”

― Roy T. Bennett

Things I am Thankful for:

  • I am thankful for a roof over my head.
  • I am thankful for the food that I eat.
  • I am thankful for my children's love and respect.
  • I am grateful for the way music heals my soul.
  • I am thankful to have grandparents still alive.
  • I am grateful for breathing.
  • I am thankful for the stars and the moon, to show me that I am never alone.
  • I am thankful for my gift to write.
  • I am grateful for the opportunity to raise children.
  • I am thankful for good books.
  • I am thankful for the ability to swim.
  • I am grateful for the life-long friends I have made.
  • I am grateful to have a huge heart.
  • I am thankful for the ability to walk, run, and dance.
  • I am grateful to have a vehicle.
  • I am thankful for sunsets and sunrises.
  • I am thankful for my support system.
  • I am grateful to be loved.
  • I am thankful to have strength to endure life and all the curve-balls it throws at you.
  • I am grateful to live in Canada.
  • I am thankful for the computer I own.
  • I am thankful for the opportunities I have been given.
  • I am thankful for growth.
  • I am thankful for individuality.
  • I am grateful to have a source of employment.
  • I am thankful for a good book.
  • I am grateful for long hugs.
  • I am thankful for the universe.
  • I am thankful for opportunities to learn.
  • I am grateful for today.
  • I am grateful to be alive.
  • I am grateful for my health.
  • I am thankful for the family I have.
  • I am grateful for people who support my writing career.
  • I am grateful to be a mom.
  • I am thankful for kindness in a cold world.
  • I am grateful for forgiveness.
  • I am thankful for helpful neighbours.
  • I am thankful for rainy days.
  • I am grateful for taking medication that actually works.
  • I am thankful for people who listen.
  • I am grateful for all the beauty in simple things.
  • I am grateful new beginnings.

_____________________________

This sums up my list of things I am thankful for. I think it's important to look at the beauty in life. There is so much good out there, sometimes it is just hard to see it. Compiling a list like this, can help change your perception on life.

What kind of things are you grateful for? Comment below.

Chloe Rose Violet

social mediahumanityadvice
4

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    I can really appreciate the level of honesty you bring when you write pieces like this, not to mention how vulnerable you might feel publishing it! I admire your candidness and bravery to do so, I find it utterly inspiring! I feel like this piece really links well into your 100 days of happiness posts. I love how large the list is, you did a great job to push yourself and dig deep! đź’ś

  • đź’–đź’Ż

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.