Humans logo

Was it time to let go?

Our relationship was about to change

By Priya GPublished 5 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
Was it time to let go?
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

And there I was, in the back of a car. A red run down Mitsubishi, that also had modern features. We were somewhere foreign it seemed. Somewhere I'd never been, or couldn't have ever dreamed of, because I am not suited for that climate. Anyone who looks at me will tell you that I did not belong there at all. But what I did not realize at the time was, it wasn't about me at all, it was about us.

Anyways, I am trying to flash back to how this all started in the first place.

....

I remember we were all ready to depart. I fit snug around her, as my way of protecting her and keeping her warm - that's my purpose, I rightfully thought.

So next thing, is we were in a car that I felt safe in. This was her car, and we've driven in it plenty of times. It felt familar, and that's what safety means to me. I pray, and say thank you. And then we stole the dark hours of the night, racing along the long stretch of highway ahead.

"(Nadie Sabe lo que va a pasar manana)" - Bad Bunny/Benito 2023 Album/song.

....

We finally arrived at a house, a nice house, also quite familar in MTL. The smell of fragnance and candles hit my senses, as we entered. I was also promptly put on her hard-shelled champagne colour suitcase. I felt like she didn't need me anymore or at least not yet, I thought. But she will soon, I hoped. I saw her sneak out the sliding glass door, onto the back patio for a cigerette, and at that moment, I was utterly confused. Why was she ignoring me? Did she not know I needed her, and she needed me? Did she even value me any more? (Little did I know, more questions like this would later arise).

I saw her trek downstairs, and took her hardshell suitcase with her, leaving me to guard the door. I saw her sift through her bag, and went into the bathroom, and got ready for sleep. I was so confused, what about me? Does she not see me? At least I have a view of her, I thought. I was like a door guard all night.

By Reiseuhu on Unsplash

IT wasn't even a few hours until she awoke and went into the bathroom. It seemed like all of this was pre-planned. She gently awoke her lover, who was in the same bed as her, and let him know that it was time. They gathered their things near the door, but had a coffee and a cigerette before their final goodbyes. The goodbye seemed different. Were we all staying there and not coming back? Was I misunderstanding something?

By Clay Banks on Unsplash

It was 5 am, and I find myself seated next to her, in a quiet airport full of groggy passengers, coffees in hand with dark eye circles. Its 5 am so I don't blame them at all.

Time is passing and I am on a plane, tucked away in an upper compartment, where it is safe and cosy but also dark. I fall into a slumber.

...

Suddenly the air is hot and humid, and people are rushing around, and it's a completely different atmosphere. . Moments later, I am tossed in the back seat of another car mind-you, with no consideration or care, it seems. I trust that her intentions are still good.

I remember the moments I kept her warm and protected, and held valuable items when she needed me to. Did I do something wrong?

On the drive, it smelled like fresh vegetation, humidity and cigerettes.

I have a look around and I realize we are in the city of Cancun, Mexico, as a road sign points. Wait what? We pulled into a community that housed resorts, beaches, restuarants, a huge golf course from I could see from the back seat window.

I then stayed and stayed and stayed in the backseat until what felt like eternity. She stepped out of the car, rejoiced with her friend of 5 years. What about me?

Was she letting me go? Without telling me directly - face to face, but instead through action. Obvious action.

Was I giving more than she was? It seemed that way.

We hadn't been together for that long, but I still valued our connection and relationship. We had good times together, a lot actually. But at some point, IDK, i felt like we distanced. But we didn't communicate it. I don't know. But I waited and waited. She never came back. I now live in Mexico.

The ending is not glorious, in fact it's about heartbreak and a relationship coming to an end. It's the course of nature. I had to accept it.

After all, I was just a light black winter jacket, and not at all suited for a hot climate, and perhaps it was time to let go.

literaturefact or fictionbreakupsadvice

About the Creator

Priya G

I really enjoy writing, it has helped me process and document my life, my journies, the good, bad & everything in between. My hope, is that you as the reader and fellow writers, take what speaks to you! Happy reading! :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Priya GWritten by Priya G

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.