Humans logo

Unspoken Love: Navigating the Silence in a Once-Warm Home

Rediscovering Love in the Midst of Silence and Tension

By TherealsamPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like
Unspoken Love: Navigating the Silence in a Once-Warm Home
Photo by Michael Fenton on Unsplash

In the suffocating stillness of a house once filled with warmth, I found myself locked in a silent battle, my heart yearning for that elusive feeling of home. My gaze fixated on my husband, his arrogant expression illuminated by the unforgiving glow of his computer screen. Unbeknownst to him, my eyes drilled into him, unleashing a torrent of unspoken frustrations.

We were not a couple that often clashed, but in these rare moments of discord, my loving husband revealed a side that mirrored my father's, a facet of his personality I preferred to forget.

I perched on the minimalist couch, surrounded by the stark simplicity of our home—a stark contrast to the comfort we once shared. My fingers absentmindedly plucked at a loose thread on the sofa, reminiscing about a time when this very room was a sanctuary, not a battleground. The air grew thick with tension, suffocating me, and every instinct screamed for escape. My heart raced, and my breaths grew shallow, like a trapped animal seeking refuge. I stole a glance at him; his weary eyes revealed a flicker of vulnerability as he rubbed them with exhaustion.

As my anger waned, I allowed my gaze to soften, tracing the contours of his features. His receding hairline, the curve of his neck, and the sinewy lines of his shoulders—seven years of dedication to sports etched these details into his physique. His shirt, a size too snug, clung to his arms as he sat uncomfortably in the chair he insisted on having. Despite his discomfort, he remained committed to honing his craft.

At that moment, I realized that I had relaxed, the tension melting away, my heartbeat returning to its normal rhythm. He was not an unfeeling adversary; he was human, just like me. Hidden beneath his gentle exterior was a man with limits, a man who, like all of us, had moments of vulnerability. With a heavy sigh, I knew it was my turn to extend the olive branch, as he had done so many times before.

Silently, I rose and retrieved my hairbrush and hair spray. He remained still, oblivious to my actions. As I approached him, I gently placed my hand on his shoulder, offering a faint smile as a sign of apology. I held out the brush and sprayed. His gaze met mine, his eyes reflecting a profound sadness, and for a moment, we sat there, speechless but understood.

He accepted the brush, stood up, and gestured for me to take a seat on the couch. I complied hesitantly, my emotions swirling like a tempest. He gently removed the hair tie from my locks, allowing my hair to cascade freely. Curls and stray strands danced around us, a chaotic reflection of our inner turmoil. A soft chuckle escaped his lips as he tenderly gathered my hair away from my face, his touch a soothing balm to my frayed nerves. He sprayed and brushed, mirroring the way I had shown him. I closed my eyes, savoring the sensation, my tangled emotions slowly unraveling.

Finally, he set the brush aside and embraced me from behind, his tears flowing freely. We clung to each other, two souls unwilling to articulate that no argument was worth this pain. He sat up, concluding his task, and cupped my face in his hands, sealing our unspoken understanding with a gentle, lingering kiss. There were no words needed; we already knew: "I love you."

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.