Humans logo

'Uncharted' Movie Review

Oddly enough, it's really REALLY good

By Mae McCreeryPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
not my image

This is a great movie. I have no other opening line than that.

I had pretty low ex[ectations for this movie, I'm not gonna lie. It was raining and it was either try to drive two hours home in the rain in the dark, or wait out the rain and see a movie.

So, I stayed warm and dry in a theater and just picked whatever was playing next which was this.

I liked Tom Holland as Spider-Man but I haven't really expected much from him and Mark Walhburg is okay, I honestly haven't liked his past few projects.

So, when I tell you that I loved this movie, please believe to the full extent of what you're capable of believing in; this movie is fantastic.

It's full of classic adventure, betrayal, action, comedy, and plenty of puzzles and riddles to keep you guessing.

It reminds me of old school adventure movies like Indiana Jones but it is definitely a modern take on it.

Yes, this movie is based on a video game, and normally movies based on video games fall kinda flat. Rightly so, but this one definitely shoots it out of the park.

Spoilers ahead.

Tom Holland plays Nate Drake, a pick pocket bartender with moves that are seriously impressive. Mark Wahlberg plays some kind of ex-military and treasure hunter, honestly I don't know a whole lot about this character.

I never played the video game and I haven't checked out anything else within this franchise or whatever it is. I can't believe there's a fan made movie but it does not shock me that Nathan Fillion was in it.

So, Tom Holland is basically entrapped by Wahlberg to go after this supposed treasure of Magellan, the man who sailed around the world.

They proceed to attempt to steal an alter cross from an auction house.

At this point in the movie, my expectations were still pretty low. Holland does some tricks with a bottle that are lowkey impressive, not gonna lie, but Wahlberg is his standard shifty character that he's been in the last few projects he's been a part of.

So, when Holland pulls out literally all of the stops while beating the crap out of muscle men twice his size and literally swings from the ugliest chandelier I have ever seen in my life while calling thugs 'fatass'; it is a mood.

Holland plays a tough, sarcastic, and incredibly intelligent hero in this movie.

Before, I figured this kid was bound for Marvel and then kind of go the way of Robert Pattinson where he just works through the indie film circuit until he retires at an early age.

Now, after seeing 'Uncharted', I take it all back. I think he can be the new action adventure star of our generation.

You know, the thing that Tom Cruise thought he'd be and continues to try to do even though he's way past his prime?

Wahlberg is still rehashing a lot of things he's done in the past, but you can see that Holland keeps him on his toes with this movie. Pushing him into this outbursts that I don't think are all coming from the script.

The whole cast of this movie, no matter how small the role may seem all do such a fantastic job.

Maybe I'm biased because I love action adventure movies that include hidden treasure. I love puzzles and mysterious long lost legends of gold and treasure, so I'm a sucker for those kinds of movies.

A lot of them do suck, I will admit that.

But no this one.

'Uncharted' seems like a a great movie with smart puzzles that also doesn't talk down to the audience.

Unless I'm completely missing something and just blinded by my sudden attraction to Tom Holland.

Don't judge me.

My sister has been in love with him since se saw him in Civil War, I was confused because even though he was like 20 or something, he looked legit 14. I didn't get it.

I get it now by seeing his as a sarcastic little know-it-all.

Don't know what that says about me, but we'll move on.

This is a great movie, a lot of fun, just don't take it too seriously.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Mae McCreery

I’m a 29 year old female that is going through a quarter life crisis. When my dream of Journalism was killed, I thought I was over writing forever. Turns out, I still have a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.