Humans logo

Try Something New

Don't Ever Settle for Less

By Ashlee GrantPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I started this new thing for myself for the month of October and I am really excited to try it out. I call it “Focus Points.” I put all my main points for the month on one page, whether it be a quote or something I want to focus on. It also includes a book to read and a personal development book for the month because I don’t want to push myself so far when I just started. I want to ease myself into it, so I don’t set myself up for failure. I have also included two worksheets to help me figure out who I am. I think I lost myself somewhere along the way in life and I want to bring myself back.

I have been blogging for such a long time and for the longest time, it was just a journal for me. A way to get my feelings out, but then I became a mom and I realized, why not blog about my adventures as a mom. My ups and my downs and where my life has taken me. The problem is, I don’t know where life has taken me because I feel like I am spinning in circles. I am standing still and not making progress. I realized something else though, I am the only one that can change myself.

The first thing I had to do was cut out toxic relationships and that had to start with my sperm donor. I filed for full custody in March and I have to say I have been a nervous wreck ever since, but it’s almost over and he’s almost out of my life for good. He’s not in her life and doesn’t want to be but he can’t seem to stay out of mine. I know this case ending will be the end of a chapter and one very toxic relationship.

The next thing I had to do was cut out a very toxic friendship. Someone who I cared for but knew I would never go anywhere continuing a friendship with. I cut it cold turkey and at first it was hard because she still contacted me but slowly the contact stopped and just like that I felt some peace, some relief that I would be ok and I would make it back from the slump I’ve been in.

When I became a mom, I knew I was going to be alone and I thought my life had to stop. I wanted to focus on being the best mom I could be for my daughter, but how was I to do that when I wasn’t being the best version of myself. These changes didn’t happen overnight, and I know I will continue to struggle, but I’m more positive about the struggle now and more eager to change. I read personal development books and listen to music I wouldn't normally listen too. I try new things and then I try them again. I became a Scentsy Consultant, never thought I would be good at selling stuff, but I am and I work hard everyday to move my business forward.

It takes time, patience, consistency, and dedication to build a business. If you invest in your business, you want to see a return on that investment. You have to work hard, reach your goals and then work harder to achieve bigger goals. I work on myself, my health and wellness, and my business every single day and I won't stop until I am successful. When I reach success, I will keep moving towards the next success because when I am eighty years old and looking back on my life, I want to know that I lived a good life, not a simple one. Change is good, just embrace it and let it happen because when it finally does, its awesome.

breakups
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.