Humans logo

To Old Drinks and New Names

I don't do Blind Dates.

By Leah HarrisPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
14

"I don't do blind dates." Leslie mumbled, adjusting her mask again. The Montana wind blew cold, making her unusually grateful for mandated face coverings. November was cold in Missoula, and even though it was her third year there, she sometimes still missed the year-long warmth of Arizona.

Leslie's red-brown hair was flowing out one side of her hood. Her lean frame swimming in the men's size medium hoodie she had stolen from her older brother a few years back. School had been the only thing on her mind recently. Heading straight into her writing career after college motivated every step of her life. She didn't understand why Candace was trying to set her up again.

"Yeah, but you don't do regular dates either, Les." Candace lovingly pointed out. Candace was Leslie's blonde, chatty best friend. She typically dated a lot but had been with her most recent boyfriend for about a year now. Candace had been trying to set Leslie up just as long because she wanted someone to go on double dates with. Leslie knew Candace meant well, but she got pushy when she wanted something badly enough.

She had dragged Leslie out of her apartment for the afternoon, which Leslie was thankful for despite arguing about it. But now, they were arguing about some guy, and she just wanted to take a walk together in the park in silence.

"C'mon, Tyler said he's a great guy!" Candace insisted. "His name is Luke, he's tall-ish, dark hair, and works at a bar. Which means he knows how to make drinks, and you love drinks!"

Leslie rolled her eyes. She did enjoy her nightly glass of wine, but wouldn't say she loved drinking. "Yeah, whatever. I'm just not so sure I want to date someone Tyler approves of. No offense."

"None taken, but you're still going on the date."

________________

"I told you, I don't do blind dates. Not happening."

Luke wiped down the bar. It was 30 minutes into the workday and his friend Tyler sat across from him, trying to convince him to go out with a stranger. "This is a great girl, Luke. She's hung out with Candace and me a few times, and I really do think you'd like her. Plus, you haven't been out since... ya know."

"Yeah, I know."

Luke stopped cleaning. He was irritated, hungry because he missed breakfast again, and he wanted to finish his shift without being hassled by his old college roommate.

Photo Via MensHealth.com

"What if I'm not ready, Tyler? Or worse, what if she's prissy, and I'm stuck in a booth with this woman for over an hour? How are you going to make it up to me?"

"You're just being ridiculous." Tyler was bored and exasperated. He couldn't understand Luke's opposition to one date. "Look, she is a nice girl. You need to get out of this bar and meet new people." Tyler stood up, putting on his coat.

"It's been a year, man. It's time to move on."

The bell above the door rang after him.

_______________

I pray you, do not fall in love with me, for I am falser than vows made in wine. - William Shakespeare, As you like it

Leslie stared at the blank computer screen, dreading the hour and a half ahead of her. She paced around her small apartment, trying to decide how to feel more comfortable. One of her coworkers came into work with COVID symptoms the day before, so her first date with Luke had to be moved to video chat. As if dating in person weren't weird enough. Leslie picked up her glass of Merlot and took a sip.

She paused, looking down at the wine glass.

Leslie ran back to the kitchen and pulled down her favorite coffee mug. It was the middle of the afternoon on a Monday, and she didn't want Luke's first impression of her to be that she's a habitual day drinker. She poured the wine into her mug, feeling like a genius, and sat at her desk.

The call took a few minutes to go through. Just as Leslie started to think that Luke had decided to bail, the browser lit up and a man on the screen sat looking back at her.

"Leslie?" the man asked, almost falling out of his chair.

"Yeah?" she asked back.

Leslie saw him mouth the words OH MY GOD, he thought only to himself. "Are you okay?" she asked, not sure whether or not to be offended.

"It's nothing, I just... Honestly, you're a lot prettier than the women Tyler usually tries to set me up with."

"Well, thank you, I suppose." Leslie said, a bit embarrassed.

Luke had dark hair and eyes to match. He had tan skin and a beard that was well kept. His hair was short and styled, his grey button-up could use ironing, but it looked like he had made an effort to make a good first impression.

"Um, so..." Luke started anxiously, rubbing the back of his neck. "How was your day?" He offered. He was as awkward as Leslie felt.

"It was fine, nothing too exciting." Leslie hated small talk. She was no good at it. She quickly changed the subject. "Can we start with introductions?"

Luke nodded. Leslie reached her hand forward towards the screen as if to shake his hand. "Leslie Avers. Junior at University of Montana, writer, and photographer, hoping to type my life away someday as a journalist. Even though I know journalism is dying. Your turn." Leslie smiled, taking a sip of her wine.

"Nice to meet you, Leslie." Luke reached toward his screen and fake-shook Leslie's hand as well. "Luke Hanssen, former military, but I broke my arm during basic training and got sent home before I could even start. I own a bar. My father owned the bar before me, and I inherited it after he died. And now, I'm just working for the weekend."

"Oh man. I'm sorry about your father."

"It's okay."

He's very real. Leslie thought. He had sad eyes like melted dark chocolate and a half-smile-half-frown that made her think he wanted or needed to talk but chose not to.

She took a sip of her Merlot, and out of habit swished her mug like she typically would a wine glass.

"Is that wine in your coffee mug?" Luke pointed out.

Leslie paused, and looked down guiltily into her mug. Her eyes met Luke's. His eyebrow cocked, waiting for her answer.

"Yeah... yes it is. Dang! How did you know?"

"You swirled your drink. Women always swirl their wine glasses at the bar."

Leslie felt stupid trying to hide her drink from a bartender. She had forgotten about that. "I'm sorry, it's not that I thought this date was going to go badly, and I'd need wine to get through it, but, "

"Oh no," Luke stopped her, "I thought it was going to be bad as well. But if I would have known we were having drinks, I would have gotten one too."

Luke stood up and left the room. The view on the screen now a beige bedroom wall, and a mostly empty room. The only thing noteworthy was a rather large, and full, bookshelf near the desk that Leslie could just barely see the corner of.

Luke returned with a short glass, filled halfway with amber liquid in ice.

"Scotch?" Leslie asked.

"Old fashioned. Without the fruit, because I don't have any." He pointed to her mug. "What are you drinking?"

"It's nothing fancy, just Merlot."

"Which Merlot? I am a bartender, I'm always interested in people's drinks."

Leslie felt a little embarrassed by the title, but she liked the fruit flavors of that particular wine. "Okay, but you can't laugh. I know it's probably a girly drink. More girly than an old fashioned, anyways."

Luke put his hands up. "I promise, I will not laugh."

"It's called CUTE. Red wine with Raspberry and Chocolate is kind of my favorite. This particular one has been my favorite for a few years now. I'm not much of a white wine fan."

"Not bad, not bad. Smooth, not too acidic. There's plum and black cherry in that one as well." He added knowingly. "I wouldn't call a dry wine girly though."

"Wow," Leslie slow clapped. "I am impressed."

Luke shrugged. "I'd say it's a gift, but I've just tasted a lot of alcohol. So," He pointed to Leslie's small bookshelf behind her. "What do you read?"

_______________

3 Weeks Later

"Shut. UP." Candace was practically vibrating in her chair. "I want you to tell me everything! Also, kind of offended you haven't already told me everything." Leslie and Luke had continued talking, long after the day of computer screens and mugs of wine. She was getting ready to meet him at his bar, for the first time in person. She had asked Candace to meet her beforehand for coffee a confidence boost.

"There was a... connection. I didn't think it could happen over video chat, but it made me feel more comfortable somehow."

"So this will be the first time you ever see him face-to-face, right?"

"Yep, the first time." She inhaled sharply. "Here's hoping he likes in-person Leslie as much as the one on the computer screen."

"Hey, stop that. It'd be a crime for someone with your cheekbones and natural auburn waves to die alone. It'll be just fine."

"Thanks." Leslie got up from her seat and hugged her friend. "Wish me luck."

"You don't need it. Go have fun!"

_______________

The bell over the door rang. Each time it sounded in the last fifteen minutes, Luke's heart leaped from his chest. Each time, it wasn't her.

Luke sat at the bar he typically tended to and ordered an Old Fashioned and glass of CUTE Merlot. Luke made sure to have that particular wine in stock at the bar for the night. He was early, eager, and anxious. He hadn't felt this way about someone since his fiancé, who left him after he got sent home from the military. Luke wanted whatever this was between him and Leslie to work, he just wasn't sure how.

'RING'

This time, a young woman walked through the door. Wavy auburn hair just past her shoulders, a pale pink dress cut off at her knees. Her eyes were light hazel green. Luke stood up from his barstool, a little too quickly.

"Hi, Leslie." Luke smiled, taking in the woman standing in front of him. He felt both nervous and at ease with her. "I hope I got our orders right." Luke said, gesturing to their seats.

"An old fashioned and a glass of Merlot?" She smiled, taking her seat. "Just like the first time."

"Almost just like the first time." Luke corrected. "This Merlot is in a glass."

Leslie laughed. She liked how he was able to make her laugh. She pulled her mask off and put it into her purse. The bar was quaint, clean, and had an older style. She figured he probably hadn't changed much about it after his dad passed away.

"This is a nice place." Leslie complimented, "I like the vintage feel."

"Thank you. It make it feel like home." Luke paused. He was happy to just be for the first time in a long while. "What do you say? To old drinks, and new names?" Luke raised his glass, and Leslie did the same, smiling.

"To old drinks and new names."

________

Photo via TelltaleTV.com

“Wine enters through the mouth,

Love, the eyes.

I raise the glass to my mouth,

I look at you,

I sigh.”

~ William Butler Yeats

______________

What to read next:

Thank you for reading! If you liked this article, be sure to click the heart button. Tips are also greatly appreciated. You can find more articles from me here on my Vocal profile.

-Leah H.

dating
14

About the Creator

Leah Harris

Writer, blogger and artist. Inspirations for writing are Markus Zusak and Tyler Knott Gregson. Follow me on Instagram! @LeahNaturally

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.