Humans logo

The Rachel to my Monica

To my amazing best friend of over 10 years.

By Leah HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
My maid of Honor, at my wedding and in life.

Having a best friend for over 10 years is an amazing thing. You know they will stick with you, both because you know too much, and they obviously love you to bits. Even after fights, rough patches and embarrassing memories, they are the person you want to vent to at the end of the week.

This person for me, is Emma Grace. She has stuck with me for so long, and been there for everything over the last 10 years. I think this post comes at an appropriate time because she turns 27 tomorrow, March 26th, and we became friends the same year we both turned 17.

Back when we were Young(er)

Emma and I met back in 2011 at a mutual friends birthday party. We were both awkward homeschool kids, about a year away from high school graduation. There were a ton of people at that party, and as far as I remember, both of us only knew the birthday girl well enough to have a good conversation.

We talked for a good long while at that party, off by ourselves because we were both introverts. It was refreshing, and I hoped we would get to talk again after that party was over. I think we met again at church, but honestly its a bit blurry after that. I just remember that that's the night we became friends.

Me and Emma at my 17th birthday party

As close as Sisters

Sisters fight, defend each other, drive each other crazy, and are the closest people to our hearts. I have two blood sisters, one I am not close to, and the other that is like a best friend. Emma, to me, is as close as a person can get to being a sister.

Her and my sister Bre (who I am very close with) are also great friends, and the three of us together is one of my favorite things in the world.

One of my Greatest Inspirations

Emma Grace is bold, gutsy, and brave. She has traveled the country alone (with her big dog child, Teddy), inspired me to get out of my comfort zone a million times, and knows how to choose what is best for her.

I envy her spirit for travel, her gusto, and endurance in life.

Me and Emma at the Seattle Aquarium in 2015

I have few friendships that have lasted this long so far, and only one other great friendship that has lasted a few years longer. When people stick with you this long, you know it'll be for your whole life.

Emma Grace was there for me through having braces, during my first bad breakup, our terrible prom experience, failed wedding dress shopping, and finding my wedding dress. Bi-weekly coffee trips to Barnes & Noble, getting into petty fights once every few years, and quickly making up. Traveling across the U.S.A together, birthday parties, sleepovers, and even being there with us in the hospital the day after I gave birth to Arthur.

She was my Maid of Honor at my wedding, and in life.

I'm so am so proud of the incredible nurse, sister and Auntie she has turned into, and have no idea who I would be if we hadn't met ten years ago. I'm eternally glad I met you, best friend.

Happy 27th Birthday Emma!

“For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tedious way, To fetch one if one goes astray, To lift one if one totters down, To strengthen whilst one stands.”

—Christina Rossetti

friendship
3

About the Creator

Leah Harris

Writer, blogger and artist. Inspirations for writing are Markus Zusak and Tyler Knott Gregson. Follow me on Instagram! @LeahNaturally

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.