Humans logo

Three harbor aunt: more live more drama

Three harbor aunt: more live more drama

By Ruban SaundersPublished 2 years ago 7 min read

Household:

I'm not afraid of old, I'm just afraid of lack of energy

Already a self-proclaimed 'old woman', Dexian IP is challenging her maid, Tao, who is 10 years older than her. Taking crutches and dyeing white hair is a relatively easy technical problem to solve. She also observed stroke patients, showing their bed-paralyzed depression and irritability, going to nursing homes to experience life, and lying quietly in bed waiting to die. Ann Hui was surprised: "It was quite difficult, but she didn't seem to struggle at all."

Returning to the Hong Kong film scene, Deanne IP faces a very different world. She can't judge between good and bad, as if she often asks people: Do you think A Dream of Red Mansions is more popular or Playboy is more popular? "I'm sure it's Playboy. Not because Playboy is a good magazine, not because "A Dream of Red Mansions" is a bad book, but because there is an audience for books. Just like a movie, there is an audience, there is a movie."

If it weren't for the fact that many audiences had forgotten about Deanie IP's existence in the Hong Kong film scene after her fourth win over A Simple Life, the media would wonder: What have you been doing for the past 11 years?

Indeed, the last time Deanie IP APPEARED on a film screen was in the 2000s The Queen of Kowloon. After that, although not disappear, her most intersection with the entertainment industry, but also as a guest appearance in Andy Lau's solo concert. Even "insiders," think she is very mysterious, Ann Hui to find her to play "A Simple Life," had to send her personal friend Shu Qi to explore the mouth.

Of the 11 years of her life, Ms. IP understates: "Nothing special, just going out every day, having breakfast, coming home and doing things at home. I rarely go out with my friends. I watch DVDs, read books, or do yoga. Sometimes I practice singing... This way."

She wanted to learn everything, from photography to astronomy -- "How many light years from the sun? How far is the Earth from Venus? How long does it take Venus to make each revolution? What I have learned, I have forgotten, and I will not forget it." Learn Mandarin, then learn Italian -- "At first I just wanted to go to an Italian restaurant and say pizza with authentic pronunciation, so I wouldn't be embarrassed." Tap dancing and Spanish dancing -- "They move like matadors." Now she is eager to learn the piano -- "I want to play a Moonlight Sonata by myself. I want to learn it."

She was most excited when she recalled seeing the Northern Lights in Iceland in 2009 and joining a tour group in the United States in which she was the only Easterner. "I'm not afraid of getting old, I'm just afraid I won't have the energy." "Said, Ms. IP.

Wai:

It took me 28 years to get it under control

Hui Yinghong's life, written out is a motivational textbook.

22, the wind became the first in the history of Hong Kong film awards best actress, is "the Liu class" in the red half a generation of women, but with the decline of the Hong Kong martial arts films, has gradually become a dispensable three lines in a supporting role, is all sorts of color the tabloids keywords: "naked photo" and "things", "depression", "suicide"... Until, at the age of 50, she suddenly turned the drama around and took home the best actress Award.

That's why you always think of Wai Yinghong as struggling: "I'm sure I won't be beaten by the environment, but it's been a long time. It's taken me 28 years to get the environment under control. If I wasn't like this, maybe I would disappear completely. I thought about disappearing until I finally figured it out -- okay, I'll fight you and see who wins!"

After winning Best Actress again at the 2010 Hong Kong Film Awards for 'The Devil,' Wai worked harder than ever. In less than two years, she shot a dozen movies, and five or six TV plays, but the mentality has been very different, "fortunately, the woman of my age, in this period in the play, the role is very heavy. Now I have almost all the characters I like, and I look forward to it every day: when is it coming out? The best part of my life is right now. That's my fun. If I don't work, I get sick.

Every time she receives a script, Wai Yinghong's approach is: immediately go to the street to find the subject matter! "I'm a human being, and sometimes I can't do it just by imagination, but there are always things you see on the street that you can use in a play." She never brings a script to work because she doesn't want to be locked into a script. "When I'm shooting, I never use Wai Yinghong. I like to immerse myself in the character and find a certain sense of presence."

Starting with Ann Hui's Human Beings in 2001, Wai felt she could finally shed the label she had worn for nearly two decades. After trying different types of roles, she also want to challenge more, these two years and deliberately put the focus shifted to the mainland, as a result, she became queen sinus in the sui and tang dynasties hero ", "pour the imperial concubine" du in the queen mother, in the feats of the women all over the world even after a queen of the addiction, and yes, this time she is wu zetian.

These are roles Wai could not have imagined when she was filming in Hong Kong. In the movie "The City of One Step," she was cast as a farmer's wife, the widow Du Juan, who raises cattle. Does she look like a farmer to you? Even the agency hesitated, but it turned out to be one of Wai's favorite roles: "Hong Kong never had this kind of role, and in the mainland, few people would think of finding a Hong Kong actress to play a village woman in the mountains." Wai eats and lives with the farmers who raise cattle. She gets up at 5 o 'clock every day to learn how to milk cows and farm. When a friend came to visit her, she milked a bottle of milk with her own hands and praised it back: "If you lose your job, you can change to be a village woman who milks cows."

She wants to make another Ann Hui movie, and she also really wants to make a Wong Kar-wai movie. If it's Zhang Yimou or Feng Xiaogang, the script will follow without reading. They have nothing in common, but in Wai's case, there is only one rule: "They can turn an actor into someone else, and I'm curious: what will I become in their hands?"

Paw hee-ching:

As an actor like me,

It will never wait

You are no stranger to Bao Qijing's current TV series, based on Su Tong's novel Wives and Concubines, which was made famous 20 years ago by Zhang Yimou in the film Raise the Red Lantern.

In 2008, Bao Qijing, who is nearly 60 years old, won the Best Actress award at the 28th Hong Kong Film Awards for her role in The Day and Night of Tin Shui Wai. She is also known as the "Queen of the Common People". In retrospect, Bao Qijing insists that it was very accidental.

"People ask me if I've waited too long, and I think it's not about waiting too long, it's about never waiting. You never dare to say that you will wait until one day. That means you still have that dream for yourself. Actors like me never have that dream." She still remembers how hard it was to make the film: "No boss was willing to pay, the director was so pitiful, and the shooting conditions were unimaginably difficult. At that time, all of us thought: this is a dream of director Ann Hui. She is a director we all love. Let's try our best to help her realize her dream. Even if the movie never comes out, never gets bought, never gets seen."

According to Bao Qijing, it was from the Days and Nights of Tin Shui Wai that the Hong Kong film circle began to change slightly. "I remember that when the nomination was made that year, both newspapers and radio stations were discussing heating -- what would it be like if Bao Qijing won the best actress award at the age of 60? People began to look at the love and persistence of art from a broader perspective, instead of talking about some movie queens who were young and beautiful and gossipy. In the past decade, many Hong Kong Film Awards have been awarded to mainland actors. It was only since Tin Shui Wai that people began to pay attention to Hong Kong actors again."

"I've never seen myself as a big actor. I've always been a supporting actor, and I've never let it go." She likes to call herself a "licorice actress", which is more in line with the Hong Kong context: "Whether it is a flower or a licorice tree if you put your heart and soul into the play, you are a good actress. It doesn't have to be famous, make a lot of money, or climb to the top of the pyramid... Maybe my father never drilled that into us." Father BAO FANG AFFECTS BAO QIJING TO REACH DEEP, SHE STILL LEARNS 4 WORDS FROM HIM OVER THERE: NEVER SAY REST.

celebrities

About the Creator

Ruban Saunders

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ruban SaundersWritten by Ruban Saunders

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.