Humans logo

Thoughts of Self and COVID-19

My opinion

By Merrie JacksonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read

What does it mean to be African American?

To me it means remembering my roots, my ancestors, where they came from. But I have a problem – my ancestors are not just from Africa, some are from Scotland or Ireland, some from Germany and some are Native American, in short, I am all mixed up. So, to simply call myself African American is to deny the rest of my roots! I can’t say I’m African German Scottish Native American American, that would take too long, which is why I simply call myself ‘American’.

If you could see me, you would mostly think that I am Latino because of my fair or light-colored skin. Don’t be concerned, it has happened before, even the Latino think I am Latino and will speak ‘Spanish’ to me expecting me to speak it back, to which I shake my head and say, ‘No Spanish’. They then smile and speak English.

I’ve even been mistaken for a white person, though how with my black features and thick black hair, most likely again it is my fair or light-colored skin that confuses people as to what I am and how to approach me. One time in the pharmacy of a department store I was looking for a home hair relaxer. A salesgirl approached me and asked rather hesitantly, “you do know this is the black people’s section?” I smiled and said ‘yes’. She smiled back and walked away. Others will approach and blurt out, ‘You’re a mixture aren’t you!’ Some will ask ‘how’ I’m mixed, as if it is anyone’s business in what way I am mixed. I used to get upset, but now I just smile and explain the nature of my main mixture – both of my parents were black, but my Daddy’s Mama was white. I only mention being Scottish/Irish and Native American if they ask, not that I’m ashamed, cause I’m not, but simply to same time in the encounter.

Which brings up another point, I would much rather be called ‘colored’ than Black or African American, because I’m more ‘colored’ than either of the others. I know that for an entire generation or two being called ‘colored’ was an insult and I’m not trying to undermine or spit on all that they endured and suffered for so that all children of color afterwards will be treated with dignity and respect, but I feel that until we as a people can let go of the stigmas, prejudices, of being politically correct and be proud Americans, we will never truly be the ‘melting pot’ we are. On a side note: also, no aliens from outer space can call us ‘Earthlings’. We are African American, Irish American, Latino, Italian American, Native American, etc.

That being said, I’m not advocating being ashamed nor to forget about where we all come from, I just think we need to let go of our differences and focus on our same-ness. Specially now with this Covid-19 thing attacking everyone – even animals. Just like in a number of movies and books where a pandemic of some kind wipes out a big chuck of the population and specifically kills cats and dogs. These are fictional stories, but in every one of them a scientist or doctor somewhere makes a mistake in a lab and suddenly that mistake gets spread around the globe.

Just like in those fictional stories, Covid-19 is no respecter of race, religion, financial situation, famous, royal or not. We need to pull together while staying apart to prevent the further spread of this virus. In my opinion, those who protest the ‘stay at home’ order or the 'face mask' order from the President and the CDC are playing ‘Russian roulette’ with their lives, their families’ lives and everyone else they meet. The order is not an attack on our civil liberties or the actions of a tyrant, but an attempt to stem the spread of this virus until a real preventive, a vaccine can be created and provided to all. In a sense it is no different than when FDR ordered the windows of our homes to be blacked out so that the enemy could not find the towns to drop their bombs on. The only difference is now the enemy is a virus, its point of origin is suspected but not certain nor do we know from what direction the attack will come. That is why we must all act responsively and diligently to prevent further spread of the virus.

There is a saying I don’t hear much anymore but here it is – ‘Don’t put off for tomorrow what you can do today!’ Tomorrow is not promised. The next second is not promised, we don’t know when we will leave this place. Bad choices lead to bad situations, sooner or later and in the case of those who tempted not only the virus to strike (if it had a brain to do so) but fate as well, beware the possibilities. Why risk it?

humanity

About the Creator

Merrie Jackson

The youngest of 12 children, country girl from West Virginia, been writing since childhood, trying to get published. I'm a hefty brown woman with a quirky sense of humor - I hear things at right angles and often says whatever comes to mind.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Merrie JacksonWritten by Merrie Jackson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.