Humans logo

Thoughts of a Person

...with serious issues.

By Jane SmithPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
It takes a million compliments to build you up, But only one insult to send it all crashing down.          

Growing up people always said things to me, such as "Girl you got issues" or "There is something really wrong with that girl." Whether I was joking and being silly or being serious. Now after while this starts to take a toll on your development and character. Because you start to wonder, well is there something wrong with me? You'll find yourself afraid to say anything to anyone about anything regarding any situation. Soon you hear yourself saying "I got issues" or "Don't mind me I'm crazy, I need help."

Eventually, where once lived a bubbly, happy go lucky person now lives an energy sucker. We are spiritual beings all created with a purpose. Just because you don't agree with the way someone does their job doesn't make them crazy or having issues. In fact, all the contrary. Don't take away someone's voice! Don't be a voice snatcher! When we become voice snatchers instead of helping the hurt, we hurt the helpers. You never know how a person’s personality may help the next person.

Words are powerful. The Bible says the power of life and death is in the tongue and those who love it will eat the fruit of it. Think about it, the person you love and admire tells you you are a piece of crap on a stick and everything you touch is cursed and you add nothing to their life but chaos and catastrophe. You may not think this about yourself but now that they mention it you did just break your glasses for the second time. Also, they just lost their job maybe it’s because you are around. Now every time something goes slightly wrong you find yourself over criticizing yourself.

There is a quote that says, “Words don’t have the power to hurt you unless the person who says them means a lot to you.” I disagree with this quote. Words hurt, it doesn’t matter who says them. We may want to believe that the words of the random person on the bus that told you you look like a spider don’t matter. But the truth is, every time you walk past a window or mirror you are going to check your reflection. Why? You are going to check your reflection because somewhere in your subconscious those words bothered you. The goal in life is to get to a point where words don’t bother you. However, this shouldn’t be a goal. People are going to say whatever silly, goofy, serious things come to mind. That’s okay because they are going to have to answer for every idle word spoken. Your job is to do that thing you were created to do. Sometimes people can be speaking out of their very own insecurities. Also, you being yourself may make them feel uncomfortable because they weren’t allowed to be their true selves because of a voice snatcher. So, with that being said, continue to be who you were called to be “in righteousness.” (note this is not a call to unrighteousness).

I love being a writer because I can say whatever I want to whomever I want all in righteousness, though. I can be who I want to be. I can go where I want to go! Look out world, here comes Jane! Look out for more from me as I take you on a journey of beautiful thoughts. Because I am not a "girl with serious problems." I am a person with thoughts in a beautiful brain. Accept me or don't; that's something you'll have to decide because I can no longer decide for you. I AM FREE! I will be who I was created to be! You should be too!

advicefriendshiphumanity
Like

About the Creator

Jane Smith

Jane is Jane! You'll love me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.