Humans logo

This is Real life, in a video game.

follow the Stupendium

By Dear MischkaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have only recently discovered this wonderful man while I was stuck in bed sick and needing cheering up.

It was entirely an accident, but it was a great accident.

We will have to take a quote from the creator because he explains it best.

"The Stupendium is a London based musician, animator and content creator, creating weird, wonderful and usually incredibly nerdy songs and animations. Join him on his journey to obscure, niche internet stardom! He has some pretty decent videos, wonderful facial hair and a great sense of discomfort describing himself in the third person."

I really enjoy his brand of humor, and he has helped me discover new games that blow my mind! I don't know how I've been stuck under a rock for so long, and missed out on these games, but they are just SO AWESOME. in fairness, some of them are a little bit intense, and mess with your brain (like a lot)... this was a wonderful distraction from the cooped up insanity that my isolation consistently feels like.

I think that this particular song has become a new favorite, because it hits the nail on the head for so many things that makes our society uncomfortable. Economy functions in a way that... doesn't actually work.

Heck, I started writing on vocal because I thought it would make me some extra cash while I was stuck in isolation. harsh truth, even if you understand the monster that is social media, if you aren't a marketable brand of whatever the frick is feeding the "trend-machine" right now... It doesn't matter!

Still wrestle with this one... on the fence about this, because I don't agree with the monster that is this system.

By I.am_nah on Unsplash

More rant time!...

It's weird, but it is one of the advantages about this whole quarantine lock-down thing. The things that I used to think were important have lost their luster. I was never really interested in the way that our world was run, with social media and the flawed logic of the broken system. WE get conditioned to it slowly. It was never done by force. It was the same kind of logic that manipulates monkeys to do menial tasks for banana rewards.

I have been brought back down to reality... but It genuinely feels like I am trapped in someone else’s system.

I guess I understand wanting to escape.

It is why we have created games, that build us a whole new world to explore to escape our own…

Hilariously enough, we are reminded of our own wasted space, when we play games like this. But we ignore the obvious because in the game world, we became someone important for a short while. Someone with a purpose.

By Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

But what do you do, when you wake up?... What If you feel like everyone else is sleeping?

So many people are dying to get back to normal, but was normal really that good?

My 'normal' was shite, so I don't exactly want to hop on the next train to crapville work-hio population, everyone who thinks they run the world revolved around them... any ways... we have to really think about what we want. What we have isn't working. what we had isn't working, and what we need is at a price we shouldn't have to pay for.

Sorry for the harsh-browns, and realzies, but it isn't wrong. Which is probably why it makes so many people so unbelievably uncomfortable.

SO, if you are fine with uncomfortable realness, and well-played perspectives relayed in a way that is just super duper on point and correct: Follow The Stupendium:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvbc2N6biTMUDFE_b79TPbw

This guy's channel is wonderful and he deserves all the love and attention. He is a musical and lyrical genius, and should have a million subs. <3

By Elti Meshau on Unsplash

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Dear Mischka

I am a new writer. All of my writing is intended to be explorative. I believe we learn best by interacting with what we are learning from or what we are working through.

There is value in both fantasy and reality.



Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.