Humans logo

The Wine Glass

The Greatest Love Story Ever Told

By A World of ExpressionsPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
On the streets of Paris, one of the most romantic cities on earth, two hearts found each other and became one over a glass of French Merlot.

The Wine Glass

If you’ve ever been to Paris, France, “Ol Paree” as some of the French like to call it, then you know they are well-known for their art, culture, fashion, history, pastries, and for being the city of romance. However, if you’re a wine enthusiast or “Connoisseur”, like myself, then you know Paris is also known for its wine. Now combine two of Paris’ greatest assets and you have the recipe for the greatest love story ever told! Yea, I know all romance stories say that, but have you ever met your best friend, your soulmate, your future over a glass of wine? I didn’t think so. So sit back, maybe grab a glass of wine yourself and come join me on this romantic adventure which begins on the old cobblestone streets of Paris.

Anna McClain, an American Columnist for a French food and wine magazine called Le Appétit, started with the small company about two years ago, after graduating from college in the States. Her love and fascination for the country of France, primarily the city of Paris, was her driving force in her decision to move abroad and live in France. She wanted to expand her horizons and immerse herself in the French culture. So what better way to learn and experience more of their culture, then to live in the heart of it all, Paris. Anna studied journalism while she was in school, so that’s how she was able to land a columnist position with the magazine. When she first started with Le Appétit, she had little to no knowledge on wines, but through research, purchasing different types of wines, and attending local wine tasting events around Towne, she quickly learned. This was also a great opportunity for small local cafes to gain public exposure through her magazine. With Anna attending these wine tasting socials, she would write about her experiences at these local hot spots, which wines were her absolute favorite, and the dishes or desserts that paired well with them. It was at one of these wine tasting socials where Anna met the love of her life, the woman of her dreams, over a glass of French Merlot.

It was a warm, sunny, Spring Saturday afternoon and Anna was preparing to attend another wine social at a small cafe called The Wine Glass, located on one of Paris’ famous streets, The Avenue de Champs-Élysées. “I honestly can not say I don’t love what I do for a living. I have the opportunity to dine at new local restaurants and cafes, sample the very best of their wines and foods, and afterwards write a review about my experiences in Le Appétit. It’s a win-win situation for everyone,” Anna thought to herself as she was getting dressed. Once she was dressed, she left her flat and headed off to the wine social. The weather was absolutely beautiful, so Anna decided to take advantage of it and walk the few blocks to the cafe. Once she arrived there was already a line to get inside. Everyone seemed to be out and about today, enjoying the nice weather. Anna stood in line, and while she was waiting, she decided to take note of the outside of the cafe and it’s surroundings to have some descriptive details to add to her article later. While looking around, Anna noticed a woman taking pictures of the cafe, it’s outdoor seating area, and then she realized this woman was also taking pictures of her, too! The woman looked up from her camera and made eye contact with Anna. Embarrassed and all of a sudden feeling very self-conscious for making eye-contact with this very attractive woman, Anna quickly turned away and diverted her eyes and attention to the menu that was posted on the cafe window. While looking at the menu on the window, Anna could see the woman’s reflection behind her. Anna thought to herself, I’ve never seen some one do beautiful as her. This woman was about average height, long dark to jet black semi curly hair. She had a fit build, like she worked out and maybe lifted weights. She was dressed very casually, ripped jeans, sandals, a long graphic short-sleeved T-shirt, a few long thin necklaces on, and wore one of those wide brimmed circular brown hats. Something about this woman made Anna’s heart skip several beats and her stomach flutter like butterflies. Anna looked away from the menu to search for her journalist ID, as she neared the entrance of the cafe. As she was looking for her ID, Anna heard a sweet-sounding voice. “Hi, excuse me, I don’t mean to bother you...,” the voice said. Anna looked up, and it was her, the photographer who she had made eye contact with a few moments ago. “I was just wondering if you knew what was going on here today...at the Cafe, I mean,” the woman asked. “Yes, I do actually,”said Anna, as she cleared her throat. “The Wine Glass is having a wine tasting social today, so that’s why we’re all in line waiting to get in.” The woman smiled and said, “Well it looks like I picked a perfect day to explore the streets of Paris. I’m Tahla by the way, and your name is,”she politely asked with a smile on her face. This woman was even more beautiful up close! Dark brown mysterious eyes, a smile that can make anyone’s gloomy day turn bright, the cutest little dimples in her cheeks, and teeth so perfect and white, that they shined extra bright in the sunlight. “I’m Anna, it’s nice to meet you. I saw you taking pictures, are you a photographer or were you doing the touristy thing?” They both laughed. “Both, actually,” Tahla said. “I’m a tourist doing the “touristy” thing, but yes, I am also a photographer, a free lance photographer.” “Oh wow, that’s awesome,” said Anna. “I hope you get some great shots today.” “I think I already did,” Tahla responded as she smiled at Anna. Anna blushed and turned her head a little. “So what brings you to the Wine Glass Cafe, may I ask?” said Tahla. “Are you meeting someone, or are you just into wines?” Anna laughed and said, “Actually I’m a journalist for a local magazine, Le Appétit. I write columns on wines and dishes from different cafes and restaurants around town, so technically I’m here on business, but no, I’m not meeting anyone here...well until now.” They both smiled at each other. By this time, Anna had reached the entrance of the cafe. “Well, it looks like it’s my turn to go in and I can’t hold up the line,” Anna said. “Are you coming in, too” Anna asked. “Ummm, I’m not sure, I have so many other places I have to photograph today,” Tahla said. “Oh, ok then. Well it was nice to meet you, and maybe we’ll bump into each other sometime again.” said Anna.

“Yes, maybe we will...I’d like that, and it was a pleasure meeting you, Anna the columnist.” Tahla extended her hand out to Anna’s, Anna extended hers and they shook hands. Her hand shake was strong and firm, yet her skin was so soft and silky. Anna melted right where she stood, and then she turned around and walked into the cafe. Tahla stood there for a few seconds as she watched Anna disappear in the crowd inside. The wine social was set up beautifully. They had tables of different wines and the countries they were from, and they also had an filled with different types of fruit, pastries, and cheeses. Soft classical music playing in the background. The atmosphere was simply amazing, and yet Anna could not fully enjoy it. Her mind was so distracted with the thoughts of the woman she had just met. Instead of focusing on her task at hand, Anna was busy thinking about Tahla, and wishing she had at least gotten some sort of contact information from her. They were clearly attracted to one another but neither made a move. Anna walked around the cafe sampling the different wines and trying to pair them with the spread of fruit, cheeses, and pastries that were laid out on the table. Nothing seemed to give Anna that excitement she was looking for. “I’ll try one more wine before I call this a bust,” Anna said to herself. “My mind is just not in the game anymore and I need to snap out of it,” she said. Anna walked over to the wine table and reached for a glass of French Merlot, at the same time, another hand reached for the same glass. Their hands touched and when Anna looked up about to apologize, her eyes widened and a huge smile came across her face. It was Tahla, the photographer from outside. “So, I figured, all of the other places I have to photograph today could wait, because When I thought about it, I already photographed the best picture I’m going to take today, so why not celebrate with a glass of wine...and maybe, too, get to know you better as well. Anna the columnist.” Anna still smiling, said “Is that so, Tahla the photographer. Well, it just so happens, I love French Merlot. Here, you take this glass and I’ll grab this other one.” The two women both grabbed a glass of the Merlot and walked outside the Cafe to their outdoor seating area. “Let’s make a toast,” said Tahla. “Ok, sure, but to what,” asked Anna. “ Let’s toast to fate, this glass of French Merlot, to the Wine Glass and to this wine social because if it weren’t for these fated events, I don’t think I would have ever met my perfect photograph.” Anna smiled and blushed “So, I’m the perfect photograph, and this whole time I thought it was the Wine Glass Cafe you were referring to. I’m speechless, I don’t know what to say.” “You don’t have to say anything except cheers,” Tahla said with a smile on her face. “Salud,” said Anna. “Salud”, said Tahla. They both took a sip of the Merlot, and the rest is history. On the streets of Paris, one of the most romantic cities on earth, two hearts found each other and became one over a glass of French Merlot. It truly is the greatest love story ever told!

Take a sip.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

A World of Expressions

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.