Humans logo

The unique bounty

—a Love Story.

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 30 min read
10
The unique bounty
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

The long intermittent walk from Oklahoma to Texas, hitching rides with strangers, in between staying at strange and shady looking inns(to save on money)—-was taxing and uncomfortable. And long. His feet were aching, and it felt like they might just collapse under the hot sun, leaving him to die without ever reaching his destination.

He was starting to understand how his father must have felt coming home from work late every night.

Bo wanted a new start. A fresh, new look at life.

And he believed that Texas would have something in store that could help him get out of the poverty stricken existence he had led his whole life.

Bo Silas Thomas had never had a bank account.

Either had his Pa, or his Ma.

Nor his Mawmaw.

His Granddaddy sure didn’t either.

Nope.

In 1867, though, two years after that bloody Civil War ended, the one that took his older brother Amos in battle, he decided it was his duty to finally establish his family name into a fine institution like First Mortuary Bank.

He was proud to say that he had saved enough to actually make a deposit, too.

$100 big old American buckaroos.

By Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

He had been living place to place, just barely scraping by, working as a day laborer, farm hand, field hand and even tried at being a carpenter’s apprentice.

But, he managed to save that $100 bucks, even to his own detriment.

He lived like a vagabond for too long and he was tired.

He wanted to settle down a little.

But, he kept looking at all those Wanted! Posters that were offering up a lot of money to kill or capture criminals, and he was itching to make even more money, even faster. It was making him itchy.

Well, maybe because he needed a bath, but, he was started to feel something.

As he went into the small Texas town, he immediately sensed that this place would be somewhere he could call home.

Home.

What a strange feeling, to have a home where you never really did.

To look at the window of someone’s house, and envy the light and warmth you could somehow feel inside. The energy of love and trust, glowing inside—-and you—-were outside. Always an outsider.

By Valentina Locatelli on Unsplash

He checked through his pockets, and felt the wrinkled bills.

All crinkled up and folded crooked.

His parents were always poor.

His Pa always tried to keep them afloat, doing every and any job no one would do by choice.

But, they never got to stay in one place too long. Debt collectors always had a way to find them. Evictions and having little to eat was a daily situation for his family.

Despite this being their consistent reality, his parents were dreamers. Their parents had talked (when things were at their lowest) of one day packing just the essentials and living life on the lam on a ship that was sustainable for long term living. No more bills, no more troubles, just easy living. They’d catch their own food, only reach harbors to gather necessary supplies—trading in fresh caught seafood for everything they needed. It would’ve been great.

But, Bo never entertained such a fantasy now that he was grown. He wanted to find a way to help his family become even more reputable and distinguished, even.

He figured it started with a bank account.

So, he found a cheap Inn, settled a bit, cleaned up the best he could, and went over to the only bank for over fifty miles.

He put on his only good outfit. It was sort of like a suit, but the pants were still dark jeans.

But, he did his best to look presentable.

He saw the sign of the bank hanging down with two ropes, swaying a bit in the wind. It said, First Mortuary Bank.

He nodded and went inside.

He saw a tall gentleman in a very nice, tailored suit come up to him, immediately shaking his hand.

“Hello, Sir. How may we help you, today?”

Bo smiled courtly, and shook his hand. “I’m here to set up an account, Sir. My name is Bo Thomas, nice to meet you. I’m new in town.” He said it in a way that made him feel grown up and adult.

He was only twenty years old.

But, he smiled and they chatted for a while. The man was the manager of the Bank.

“Where are you from originally, if I’m not being too intrusive?”

Bo started to scratch his head, but stopped himself. He didn’t want look ill-bred or unkempt. “Oklahoma, all my life. I headed to Texas to find stable work. I heard this town had been growing and has lots to offer.”

“It sure does, Mr. Thomas. Would you be making a deposit today?” The man asked.

Bo nodded. “Yes, I have been making it a point to do so for quite a while. I have my first cash deposit of one hundred dollars.” Bo said proudly.

The manager nodded in agreement. “Yes, that would suffice as a first deposit. Please, let me show you to a banker who will be able to assist you further.”

He showed Bo to the back of the room.

There was another gentleman, who looked at least forty years old. Salt and pepper hair trimmed neatly and slicked back. He was tall, and also had a very nice suit on. He looked distinctly modern, with laugh lines Bo could see plainly on the older man’s face. The man had broad shoulders and a half smile that seemed to create a flutter of something strange in Bo’s chest—-but he cleared his throat and he felt it go away.

But Bo still felt self conscious and underdressed.

The manager introduced them to each other, and they shook hands.

“This is Alistair Freeman, Mr. Thomas.” The manager said as he stood between them. The two shook hands. And once the manager was finally out of sight, the banker said cheekily, “Pompous ass, my boss is.” He cringed dramatically. “Hah, no, I’m only kidding. You can call me Al. And your first name was again, kid?”

Bo felt that flutter again. He swallowed some spit.

“Bo,” He said quietly. They made eye contact, and Bo saw that Al had cool, gray eyes.

Almost silver. To Bo, they reminded him of the moon.

By Luca Huter on Unsplash

“Well, Bo, ya look like something bit you, you okay, kid?” Al said with a worried look.

Bo nodded. “Yes, Sir.”

“Don’t call me Sir. I hate that. Please, call me Al. Would you like something to drink, so we may sit down and discuss business?”

Bo shook his head. He wasn’t sure why his heart was pounding so bad.

“Please, sit down, then.” Al said, and they both sat down at a desk. “Where you from, kid?”

“Oklahoma.”

“They all blonde and brown eyed from over there in Oklahoma, Bo?”

Bo shook his head, touching his own blonde hair subconsciously.

“Hah! I’m only fooling around!” Al laughed raucously. “I like to tease my customers. I apologize.”

Bo tried to be polite and smiled, but he was starting to feel a little strange around this man. He shrugged saying, “My older brother teased me, as well.”

“Is he here, too? I can sign your whole family up for accounts, if you like.”

“No, that won’t be necessary. He... my older brother Amos died in Gettysburg. We were both close. During the war, I wanted to fight too, but Amos wanted me to stay with Ma. I...” Bo couldn’t believe he was starting to open up but he kept going, “I wanted to be the first person in my family to have a bank account.”

Al nodded sympathetically. “That’s tough. I’m sorry, Bo. I heard about that horrible battle. It was just... all that bloodshed. I can’t stand it.” Al shuddered. “I don’t like the sight of blood.”

Bo sat up a bit straighter. “I quite agree, Al. My brother was on the side that was right. With President Abraham Lincoln, and he fought for America to become proper again. No more slaves.”

Al nodded in affirmation. “I hate the very concept of slavery, Bo. It is very immoral to use people for labor without any pay. And take away their rights. Their basic sense of humanity. I... I agree with your brother’s cause.” He coughed a bit, holding his chest for a moment. He smiled at Bo weakly. “I didn’t fight. I’m a little too old, Hah.” But as Al said it, he was looking down, almost ashamed.

Bo frowned a bit. He felt like the older man might be sick, or had something wrong with him.

Unfortunately for Bo, this was actually the first person he had sat down and spoken to in months so he didn’t know if this was considered normal. Especially the fact that his heart felt like it was fluttering, almost trembling in his chest whenever they made eye contact.

The very idea of friendship and of social relationships, of any kind of relationship, seemed foreign to Bo now.

He only lived to work, survive, and move forward.

“Well, I appreciate that, Al,” Bo said gently. “Sir, I mean... uh, Al, how do I set up a bank account?”

Al laughed, his face turned bright red. “Why, we got to talking and I forgot that you came here for a reason!”

Bo shrugged, laughing nervously.

“So, an account!” Al got out some paperwork. “We need to fill out some information. I can give you a key for your deposit box, if you need one. I can set you up today, and fast. No issues.”

Bo smiled, “Thank you.”

“You’re most welcome, kid.”

As they got the paperwork together, Al handed him a pen, and their hands brushed together.

Bo felt that flutter again.

But, started filling out the paperwork, and pretended to forget it again.

“So, are you from here originally?” Bo asked Al.

Al looked flustered from a moment, nervously biting his pen, looking away from Bo.

“Uh, yeah. I’m from Texas.” Al said quickly, and then said too loudly, “I got something for you, my new customer!” Al said, grinning.

Bo bit his lip, and almost jumped a little in his seat. This man was certainly not how Bo pictured a banker would comport themselves, or even how he thought a banker would look.

Al looked rough, but strong, and streetsmart, yet also smart about books, too.

Bo even had another thought: this man was very handsome.

But, more than that, he felt compelled to share everything with him.

But, even still, something was definitely off about him, Bo decided.

The atmosphere of the bank didn’t match Al.

Bo didn’t mind.

Al coughed again, and then got something out from under his desk.

“Well, kid, what do you know about keeping your finances up to date?”

Bo shook his head. “Not much.”

He handed him what appeared to be a black notebook.

“I buy these out of my own pocket for my customers. Well...” he lowered his head. “No, I am lying. You’re my favorite new customer, and because of that, you’ll be the first one to get this. New customer gift. It’s a financial ledger. They are top notch. Best paper around. It’ll help you get your financial information in order.”

Bo grinned, taking the ledger, feeling important. “Well, thank you kindly.”

Al smiled. “You’re most welcome!”

“If you ever need assistance with your account, or have questions regarding financial wellness, please contact me.” Al coughed. “Well, since you’re new in town, I could show you around, too. If you’d like to, kid.”

Bo nodded, realizing he didn’t really know anyone in the town anyway, and felt that this opportunity would be possibly a good segue into settling into a town for more than a few months or weeks.

And he felt a connection to this man.

Bo nodded. “Yes, I would. When do you get off of work?”

“At five o’ clock, kid. I can meet you in front of the bank after then.”

“Great. Nice to meet you, Al.” Bo got up and started to walk away, his face feeling hot.

Al laughed. “Bo, wait! We didn’t finalize the account!”

Bo stopped, his face even redder than before. “Oh, shit,” He said under his breath, turning around to go back to the desk.

Bo realized with almost a strong sense of deja vu that he had found a notebook similar to this one on his journey to this town. It was really far from this town when he had found it, but, still. Strange coincidence, Bo thought.

He actually had it back in his room he was staying at in town, with his belongings.

It looked very similar to the one he had just received from Al.

And for some odd reason, he felt compelled to pick it up.

It had writing in it.

He remembered a particularly devastating part he read: My partner died in my arms, and I couldn’t do anything to save him. It reminded me of momma, who died so scared and angry, but then, I couldn’t do anything either. I can’t save shit. I can’t save anyone. Like myself. I’m damned.

And the paper... was similar in quality.

And the writing... Bo stopped himself and felt foolish.

There was no connection to this man and the random tattered black notebook he had found. Right?

But as his mind started to wander, Al noticed Bo more, too.

“So, what do you do for a living?”

Bo jumped a bit, getting out of his daze. “Oh, yeah, I... I do everything.”

“Everything?” Al said, looking at him amused.

“I do carpentry, field work and I can do basically any physical job, if I’m trained a bit.” Bo made a concentrated effort on the paperwork, finishing it. He then looked at Al, “But I’m looking to change my outlook. A new career.”

Al looked at him curiously. “What change would that be, kid? You are quite young.”

Bo nodded. “I’ll be twenty one in June. But, I’m thinking of becoming a bounty hunter.”

Al looked concerned. “That’s dangerous work. Even for a seasoned man.”

“Make my fortune, and then I can retire early.”

Al smiled sadly. “I knew someone that said that very same thing. You might wanna rethink that. But, it’s up to you.”

Bo nodded, but felt like he was out of this person’s depth, and said nothing.

Al looked at him plaintively, and it made Bo feel even more strange. His heart fluttered a little.

The two men gave each other another direct look, and then Al sighed.

“I don’t mean to offend you. Bounty hunters can be noble.”

Bo shook his head. “No, that’s alright.”

Something about that look Al gave him struck another chord with him.

He remembered another passage that got him engrossed in the ongoing story that the unknown person was penning in the black notebook: I am so goddamn lonely. I hate it. Even when my Pa beat me bloody everyday, at least there was momma to keep me company. I am gonna die alone. I have no one to blame but myself. I’m not guilty of everything, but I am not innocent either. One day I’ll just die, and it’ll be better without me.

Bo didn’t know the name of the person, or even the gender, but he felt connected to them, too.

Suddenly, Al snatched up all the paperwork and put it together, organizing it. “Well, Bo, you are officially a customer to First Mortuary Bank, congratulations! I’ll buy you a beer later to celebrate!” He said with a smile. “You can go up to my co-worker, Sally, to make your first deposit.” He pointed to a tellers desk up front. “She’s the cute little black haired gal with a nice smile,” Al said with a saucy tone. “You got yourself a pretty gal, Bo?”

Bo shook his head. “No.” He cleared his throat, feeling a bit bold. “You?”

Al looked at him with a nonplussed expression. He laughed nervously, saying, “Well, no. I mean, yes, once. Long ago.”

Bo bit his lip. “Well, I had a girl when I was nineteen in my home town. I left to find a job, never came back. Her name was Dottie.”

Al sighed. “Such is life, huh, kid?”

Bo nodded, and they shook hands again. He lingered on the handshake a bit, feeling the older man’s calloused hands. It was a firm hand shake.

Bo liked it.

Well, he liked Al.

“Thank you for the ledger. It is very nice.” Bo said appreciatively, and they said their goodbyes.

“You’re most welcome and I’ll see you after work!” Al said.

After Bo, left, he talked to the local sheriff and a couple of other locals.

He got a sense of the jobs available and what the town was like. He mentioned to the sheriff that he wanted to be a bounty hunter, as well.

He had to become licensed first, and get a gun.

Well, Bo decided, he might just do that.

When he went back to his small rented room, he took out the ledger, and then the unknown notebook.

They looked very similar.

He read some more of the black notebook.

I keep having nightmares. I keep dreaming about nonsense, things that go bump in the night, and I wake up, and I’m more afraid than when I was asleep. I know it’s crazy but it almost seems that I’m in a living nightmare. All the time.

Bo saw it was the last page.

He felt his heart drop.

He put down the notebook and then he picked up the ledger he got from Al.

He felt a connection between Al and himself.

And somehow, even though he didn’t know this person’s name even, he felt connected to them, too.

He wrote down the date in the ledger, and it said, April 17th, 1867: Deposit of $100.00 in Checking. Met Al, banker.

He smiled at the page, and then got ready to meet up with Al.

The two men hit it off again, but at the local bar.

Al kept cracking jokes, making Bo laugh a lot and they had a good time.

Al bought all the drinks, too.

Their unlikely friendship grew over the next few weeks, and they saw each other everyday.

Bo tried unsuccessfully to get to know Al better, but slowly, like a siphon, he started to understand him better.

His mother died when he was young.

He didn’t speak of his father. He did mention how terribly his father had treated his momma and him at times, but didn’t fully explain.

Bo’s parents were both still alive. He loved them both, speaking of them often, and Al appreciated that.

Al didn’t have any siblings. Bo only had his older brother who passed away.

He never had a wife. Only girlfriends. When Bo asked why, Al merely said, “I’ve been running my whole life, kid. Running from people. Running from everything and anything. Especially, if it’s a good thing for me.”

Bo retorted, looking at Al’s glassy expression. The tone in Bo’s voice snapped him out of the sleepy eyed stupor: “My parents would always give us a big story of us all running away someday. Of just... poof! Getting the hell out of dodge—-away from all the money troubles, and just live on a big old ship,” Bo paused, laughing sadly, “But that ship never came. Even if we had run away—problems will always follow you. You gotta change your own circumstances. Your mindset. The way you live. Then.... the problems will truly go away.”

Al nodded in surprise by Bo’s wise words, saying, “You are on to something, there, Bo. You really are.”

And, Bo had found out, he hadn’t always been a banker. He didn’t specifically say what else he had done; Bo didn’t push it.

He traveled all over the United States when he was younger. Seven different states.

Bo also got fully licensed to be a professional bounty hunter.

Al slapped him on the back and congratulated him. He bought him a beer and dinner.

They had a great night.

But, something heavy was on Bo’s mind. On his heart.

And he couldn’t understand why.

He kept thinking about that old tattered black notebook with that sad, thoughtful story he had read.

And he dreamed about Al.

A lot.

He hadn’t officially started the bounty hunter business, but he had picked up a random handful of Wanted Posters, and was going to look at them later that night. Handbills. Bo had been working at that Inn as a handy man to make money until he figured out this new trade.

But he had started having dreams of Al.

Of being close to him.

Of things he would never dare say out loud.

But, God help him, he wanted to kiss Al more than anything else.

And that night he had dinner with Al, he finally admitted to himself.

He had heard tell of a criminal at large that had committed robberies with an already deceased partner in crime, Jonas Decree. The partner would kill the victims, and the other would steal the goods.

The bounty for the one that was alive, named Dash, was for the grand reward of $20,000 big old American buckaroos.

That seemed impossible, though.

Bo figured that Dash was long gone.

Maybe in Mexico.

Not here, in Texas.

He wouldn’t be so lucky.

He didn’t discuss anything about that at dinner, but Al had asked him a question that made Bo feel like Al was hiding something. They left the restaurant and Al lit up a cigar. He had a habit of smoking big fat cigars, and it irritated his lungs terribly.

“Why you hanging out with an old man all the time, kid? Don’t you have other younger people to see?” He said, exhaling the smoke from his lips.

“No. I like you,” Bo said plainly. He cracked a sarcastic smile. “Why do you always hang out with me, old man?”

Al laughed. “Well, I guess I got no complaints. I don’t have many older people I can connect with. And at least, I have one person in the world who will laugh at my dumb jokes.”

Bo rolled his eyes. “Anyway, I found a place to live. It’s just outside of town. It’s a small room. Private bathroom. Not too expensive, either.”

“Well, good! I was going to offer you an extra room at my place, if you didn’t find anything soon.”

Bo smiled. “Thanks. Wanna come over?”

“Huh?” Al asked.

“Wanna come over?” Bo repeated. “Come see how it looks?”

Al nodded. “Okay.”

They walked over to Bo’s place, and had a comfortable silence as they did.

Bo never thought silence could feel so safe.

To Al, it felt like home.

Once they got inside, there wasn’t much to see. A single room. A small bathroom. A few chairs.

A small coffee table.

“Nicely done, Bo. You got yourself a nice place to bring a girl. You even cleaned up.” Al teased.

Bo scoffed. “Nah. I’m just glad I found a place to stay finally. I never really had a home.”

Al nodded, sitting on the bed. “Well, as you told me, you and your family never really had a real sense of security; times being as tough as they are. I understand that.”

“It’s just a place though. No one to share it with. Yet.” Bo said quietly, but stressed on the last word, and the two men looked at each other in the eye deeply for a minute. Bo felt his breath go shallow, and he clenched his fists, trying to not to go up to the man and hold him tightly, like he wanted to.

“Why are you looking at me that way?” Al asked, in a barely audible whisper.

“What way?” Bo asked boldly, taking a few steps toward where Al was sitting.

“I don’t know.” Al looked away, his cheeks feeling hot. “Don’t bother an old man.”

Bo frowned. “What are you thinking right now? Am I bothering you tonight?”

“No. You aren’t. I’m kiddin’” Al sighed. “I... I just can’t believe how much time you spend with me. You are so young. You should find a pretty young wife. You’d find one easily. Leave me alone. It... it hurts too much.” Al covered his face. “And ...I was thinking, how it feels so nice to be with you everyday. To talk to you. To share with you. It hurts to share things about myself, but I am feeling better. I want to be open. I want... that security. But here I am... I’m babbling. I’m a fool.” He whispered, and then he looked at Bo again, and he smiled. “And you’re a fool for being around me. I’m nothing. You’re worth so much more than I’ll ever be. And it hurts, because I feel like I’m home when I’m with you.”

Bo sighed frustratedly, but inside his heart was pounding and he felt euphoric; Al felt the same way he did. “Al, what’s wrong? All night, you’ve been acting... strange.”

“I... I don’t know, kid. I’m losing it.” Al said with a heavy sigh. He coughed, but it was particularly harsh.

Bo learned that Al had a lung problem.

But, he had medicine for it.

“You should stop smoking those cigars.” Bo said softly, going up to Al. He placed his hand on Al’s shoulder.

“Sure, Bo. I will try to quit. I’m... I’m going to go. Have a good night.” Al said with another cough, walking to the door.

Bo said, “No, old man! I gotta show you the ledger!”

Al turned around and chuckled. “Oh yeah? What about it?”

“I have been keeping track of my financial situation very well, thanks to that ledger you gave me.” Bo said proudly.

“That’s great, kid.” He went and sat down on a chair. “Okay, I’ll stay.”

Bo breathed in with a slight tremble. He really wanted Al to stay.

“Al?”

He smiled at Bo. “Yeah, kid?”

“You feel like home to me, too.”

Al looked down, and then back at Bo. “Stop. You are making fun of me.”

Bo looked at him with hurt expression. “Hell if I am.”

“Okay, I’m sorry.” Al frowned. “I’m used to pushing people away.”

“Don’t push me away,” Bo countered.

“I won’t.”

But Bo doesn’t believe him.

“Those blonde locks are getting too long, kid.” Al said to him with a sigh.

Bo shrugged, ignoring the comment. “Al, why did you say you weren’t worth as much as me? Because I don’t think so.”

Al smiled sadly. “Because I ain’t worth a damn. I done things I really am not proud of. And you got a real career. And a life.”

Bo looked at him confused. “What? What do you mean, I got a real career? You are a banker. I’m the real fool here thinking I’ll make my fortune by bringing in criminals.”

Al laughed, but his eyes were tearing up. “You aren’t a fool.”

“Then you are worth a damn. Okay?” Bo said with passion. Al nodded, smiling softly.

“My Pa used to beat me all the time...” Al started, and Bo perked up. It reminded him of another story. “For everything. For nothing. My mother got beat too. It was a sad, angry life as a kid. Once I accidentally spilled a jug of milk on my Pa’s work boots. He needed those boots for his construction jobs. And he beat me so bad... I was in my bed for almost two weeks from the pain.” He chuckled humorlessly. “But, I promised myself I would never do anything like that. To anyone. I became something else I didn’t like. But, still, better than my Pa. I’m just glad you have nice, loving parents.” He said softly.

Bo felt a burst of emotional warmth and empathy for his friend and went over to Al suddenly. Al’s eyes widened as Bo leaned toward him, embracing him fully, unabashedly.

Bo tried not to make it too tight, but when he felt Al hug him back, his heart fluttered like crazy and he moved his arms higher, wrapping them around the older man’s neck.

Suddenly, they were face to face.

Inches apart from each other.

“Kid, what the hell has gotten into ya?” Al said it, but there was no bite in it.

Bo bit his lip. “I’m sorry that happened to you, is all.”

Al felt like he was losing all control now.

Slowly over the last few weeks, he had found a deep and resounding connection with this young man.

He wasn’t mincing words when he said that Bo felt like home. The only real home he had ever known.

In a deep breath, Al leaned in carefully, his hand gliding carefully along the side of Bo’s face, caressing his cheek.

Bo felt his breath go a bit faster than normal, and he was still holding onto Al’s neck gently.

And then, to Bo’s utter disbelief, Al kissed him.

Bo kissed back, immediately.

It was soft, tender, loving and everything Bo could’ve ever dreamed of. But, better.

Because it was real.

After they kissed, they both breathed in, and they stared at each other. Bo was still in shock. Al was scared.

Al finally spoke, “Are... are you alright, Bo?”

Bo smiled. “I’m fine, Al. Are you okay?”

Al nodded. “Bo, I just wanted to you to know that... I love you.”

Bo couldn’t help but gasp a little.

Al played with Bo’s hair.

Bo leaned in close and whispered back, “God, Al, I love you, too.”

They kissed again. This time, even slower, but passionately.

Bo felt dizzy, elated and tired. Being with Al this way made him think of a beautiful piece his mother used to play on the piano. Moonlight Sonata.

Al felt terrified. He was hoping that Bo wasn’t playing games with him. But just the way Bo was holding him, and the way he had just said he loved him too, it made Al really, really happy.

But, Al had a secret.

But, for now, he was starting to believe he could be happy.

That was until his vision caught sight of something on the coffee table.

Two black notebooks.

One was the black ledger he had given to Bo.

And the other...

He almost had a heart attack. It was his goddamn notebook. The one he lost after his partner in crime got killed by that lone bounty hunter.

“Bo?” He asked with some degree of urgency.

Bo was in dreamland, though, and his pupils were big as he looked at Al again.

“Yeah, Al?” Bo asked lazily, a huge grin plastered on his face. Al wanted to laugh and kiss him again, but he was more panicked than anything else.

“I’m... I... what is that notebook? Where did you get it? That tattered black one over there?” Al pointed to the coffee table.

Bo shrugged. “I found it.”

Al realized Bo didn’t suspect anything. He loved Bo so much. He realized he had to leave. Forever.

Al kissed him on the cheek. “Bo, kid, I got to go.” He gently stood up, and Bo was trying to hang on him.

“Wait, what?” Bo snapped out of his reverie. “Don’t go!”

Al turned his back and headed toward the door anyway.

Bo grabbed his arm. “Wait!”

Al stopped. He turned around.

“Where are you going?”

Al sighed. “I’m leaving.”

Where?” Bo asked with a specific tone.

“No where. Look, kid, we’ve had a nice time together. But, I’m leaving. Okay?” He felt his heart break into a million pieces as he saw Bo’s expression turn into severe pain. It was the pain of rejection.

“No... but, Al, I just...” Bo couldn’t muster up an argument anymore.

“I’m sorry.” Al said, looking down.

Bo wasn’t stupid. He was starting to put it all together. The stories matched. From the notebook to Al’s own words.

The Wanted Poster that Dash character, $20,000 DEAD or ALIVE. No picture available. Male, 5’9, mid forties. Wanted for robbery across seven states, including Texas.

And yes, Al had traveled to seven different states across America, as he had told Bo before. Just not why, until now.

He had a gun in his holster. He was legally able to conceal and carry a weapon. He carried it all the time.

But, he had to ask Al a question first.

“Have you gone completely straight? No more robberies, Dash?” Bo asked, looking at him directly.

Al nodded. “Yeah, Bo.”

“You swear?”

“I do. I have been straight. I haven’t committed a single crime since my partner died.” Al sighed in defeat. “I respect you so much that if you were the one to bring me in to the law, I wouldn’t mind it. And, Bo, I’d almost prefer it. You deserve a pretty girl. And you deserve the money.”

Bo frowned, and felt conflicted, but he knew his heart and mind really felt the same.

Bo truly loved this person.

“I don’t want to do that, Al-I mean Dash.”

“You can call me Al. Al is my real name. I just used Dash as an Alias for my crimes. Just take me in. I’ll go quietly.”

Bo shook his head. “Was everything you told me the truth?”

“Yes. I never lied. I didn’t make things up. I just never told you about... this part of my life.”

Bo walked up to Al and took his hand. “All I know is you are a good person now. You weren’t the person who killed. You stole. Right?”

“Right. But I helped a murderer.” Al said sullenly.

“But... you are reformed. You work at a bank. You... you’re boring now.”

Al laughed. “Thanks. I think.”

“I want you. I don’t want a pretty girl. I want to be with you,” Bo said decisively.

Al wanted to smile, but he forced himself to be stoic. “Think about it. You’ll get twenty grand. A new life. You’ll be able to live off of that for decades.” Al said, tearing up. He coughed. It turned into a coughing fit. He was hunched over from the pain in his chest, and Bo helped him up.

“Come on, let’s go on the bed,” Bo said.

He helped Al on the bed, patting his back.

“I knew you bounty hunters were noble. The one who shot my partner let me go.” Al said. “When my partner died, I was feeling mighty bad. Blood really bothers me, I know I told you that. And he died in my arms, Bo.” He coughed and started to speak again. “The bounty hunter let me go, and said, try to do something good, and I said, I will.”

Bo smiled. “You did do something good. For me. You helped me open my first bank account.” He laughed, and Al laughed, now looking back at how unimportant it seemed now. But, also, how incredibly important it all really was, too.

“And...” Bo began. “You became my favorite person. My safe house. My true... my true love. My home.”

“So... you’ll take the bounty money?” Al asked, lying down.

“No,” Bo said, “I’ll take you.”

This time, Bo kissed Al first.

More wildly, but still, sweetly.

And they made a plan to go to Mexico.

And they did. On a ship they purchased together, it took them over a week to sail across the Gulf of Mexico—-but they made it.

Bo made a career change too.

They both were bankers.

And boy, could they run the numbers. But, they did everything legally and with conviction.

They had their safe getaway, and as the years went by, they both fell deeper in love, with no more bloodshed.

lgbtq
10

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.