Humans logo

The traders knew that

The traders knew that

By samuel blotPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Ali Sa looked at the girl's outstanding features and said, "Swear to Allah! I'll wait here and see who buys her." At the same time he wondered how much such a girl could be worth.

So he waited in the crowd. The traders knew that Ali Sa's father was a rich merchant, so they thought he had come to the market as well.

As the crowd grew larger, an agent slowly walked up to the girl, pointed at her, and shouted:

"Lords of wealth! Dear friends, The girl's name is Emerald Green. She looks like a piece of flawless jade, is truly priceless. Even put her in the beauty pile, to her is only the praise of the stars. She is the real beauty for men. Now it's time to sell. Which master would like to make an offer first? No matter how high or low the price is. My lords, our business is fair and free. No one will blame the first bidder. Now name your price!"

"I'll give you five hundred gold pieces." Before the broker could finish, a man who looked like a businessman made the first offer.

"Five hundred and ten dollars." Another dealer jacked up the price by ten dollars.

"Six hundred dollars! An old man named Raschton added $90. He was small and thin, with blue eyes that bulged like frogs.

"Six hundred and ten dollars." Prices are still rising.

"A thousand dollars! "Raschton shouted. The old man planned to hold other businessmen back. Sure enough, the $1,000 price stopped everyone, and no one went any higher.

It was clear that the highest price had been reached, and the auction was halted.

The broker went to the girl's owner and asked if he would sell the girl for a thousand gold pieces. "I swore that when I sold her," said the girl's owner, "I would have her consent as to whom and how I sold her. Now that I have given my word, ask her for me if she will."

So the broker came to the emerald green and said, "Beautiful girl, the great master is willing to pay one thousand gold pieces to buy you, would you like to go with him?"

Disgusted by Raston's ugly face and obscene manner, and even more by his blue eyes staring at her, the emerald refused firmly: "I will not be sold to an old man with white hair, who is as old as rotten wood. A poet once sang such lines that even Allah would reward him with:

The day I begged for her kiss,

Despite my age, I have money and power.

She rebuffed my request:

'No, swear to Allah, I will never say yes. '

Alas! My hair is white, I lose love's favor,

Am I no longer entitled to enjoy the beauty of life?"

Hearing Zubailu's words from the bottom of her heart, the agent sympathized with her and understood her situation. He said, "Allah is witness, people should really understand and understand your difficulties. To tell you the truth, a thousand dollars wouldn't buy you. You'd be worth ten thousand." He came again to Emerald-Green's master and told him why Emerald-Green did not want to be with the old man. The master heard this and said:

"In that case, talk to her again about finding another buyer."

Raschton's attempt to claim the emerald green as his own was shattered. The sale fell through because she didn't want to. At that moment, another merchant went up to the agent and said, "I'll give you a thousand dollars for her at the same price. Ask her if she will sell herself to me?"

The emerald green gave the man a cold look and couldn't help being surprised. The man had inked his pale beard and was trying to look like a vigorous young man. The emerald-green was so sick of this sanctimonious and despicable creature that she sang aloud:

"A strange looking fellow came up to me,

His neck was thick enough to be struck with the soles of his shoes.

His unkempt face is like a gnat's nest upon his face,

An abrupt prong on the forehead can be used as a wooden peg to tie an animal.

This demon is obsessed with my beauty and figure,

And sneakily dyed his white hair black,

You have no shame in deceiving me.

His black and white hair and hair changed all the time,

Like a clown with a magician's stick who makes people laugh."

Here she sighs: "The poet has hit the nail on the head in his revelation of such people:

She said, 'You can't hide it if you dye your hair black. '

'Just so you wouldn't find out,' I replied. '

She said, 'This is so funny and ridiculous.

You're used to cheating,

Even her hair was sneaky. '"

The agent thought Emerald Green had it right: "Allah is my witness, I totally agree with you."

The buyer, stunned, asked, "What on earth is she talking about?"

artbreakups
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.