Humans logo

The Three “D’s” In A Woman’s Life That Will Make Her Blossom

How to embrace life's changes and bloom

By The Writer ChickPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

There are three “D’s” in a woman’s life that will make her blossom.

Death

Divorce

Desertion

In every one of these three “D’s” a woman’s life will change forever and if she learns to embrace these changes, instead of fight them, she will flourish.

Death

The death of a mate, spouse, companion… however you break it down, when a man dies in a woman’s life, she is lost. Chances are, she has put in a lot of time, love, and energy into the marriage (or relationship), taken care of him if he was ill, and waited on him to the best of her ability.

She is a woman who took care of her man.

Afterward, she feels a sense of loss and emptiness in her heart, home, and life. She wonders if she can go on without him.

A younger woman may feel she will never love again. 

An older woman may feel she will grow old and die alone. 

This is a time in a woman’s life where she needs to take a step back and breathe. This is her time now.

After a respectable period of mourning, if she embraces this time as a new beginning, she will begin to blossom and feel good about herself again.

Maybe her marriage was not a good one and she will now feel free from the burden of abuse.

Maybe her marriage was an incredible one and she can now look back fondly on their time together.

Whatever your situation… mourn, step back, breathe, embrace… then blossom.

Divorce

No matter whose idea it was to dissolve the marriage, divorce is the end of a dream.

You vowed to love this person until death do you part and now you are ending it while both of you are still breathing.

You may feel guilty, sad, hurt, betrayed, or maybe even free…

Again, like in any other death, take a step back and breathe.

This is your time to discover who you are without being a wife.

So many marriages are bad and men complain they are living with a dead woman. When, in fact, they are the ones who killed her.

If you had the courage to end a bad marriage, take pride in the fact you are brave and could get out of it intact.

If the marriage was good and the bombshell of divorce came out of nowhere, catch your breath and as much as it hurts, let it go. You cannot make a man love you, stay with you or want to keep something alive when to him it is dead.

Take this time to find yourself… mourn, step back, breathe, embrace… then blossom.

Desertion

Being deserted or abandoned by the man you love is beyond devastating. Believe me, it happened to me.

It’s not like a death where they had no choice but to leave you.

It’s not a divorce where you made the decision to end the relationship.

It’s unlike any of the other “D’s"… He had a choice and he chose to leave.

It is especially heartbreaking when a man just disappears and there is no note, no phone call, no nothing. He is just gone.

When it happened to me, he was there one minute, dropped me off in my driveway, told me he would be back in an hour and never returned.

To say I was in shambles was an understatement, especially since my mother had just died three weeks before.

I thought I would die and often hoped I would.

It really is possible to die from a broken heart and I didn’t know who to mourn… the death of my mother or the death of our relationship.

Made worse by the fact I had no idea where he was.

It took a while, but after some time of being without him, I was okay. In fact, I was great. I even become thankful for his desertion because he did me a favor by leaving. It made me stronger.

I took this time to discover me, find out what I wanted, what I didn’t want, what I would tolerate, and what I wouldn’t

If a man is weak enough to abandon you… be strong enough to let him go.

You know what I did… I mourned, I stepped back, I breathed, I embraced… then I blossomed.

You can too! I promise! ♥

humanity
1

About the Creator

The Writer Chick

Lisa V. Proulx is an award-winning and international bestselling author, an award-winning speaker and storyteller, a publishing consultant, a feature writer and columnist, and the Editor of The Brunswick Herald newspaper in Maryland.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.