Humans logo

The Third Love

...when you least expect it.

By Nikquania GamblePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The Third Love
Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

They say you fall in love with 3 people in your lifetime. The first is usually that young love, maybe you all were high school sweethearts. This is the love where you live through fairy tales and living on cloud 9 because this is your first taste of that firey emotion that leaves butterflies in your stomach 24/7. This is the one where you naively plan your whole future together and strive to live happily ever after.

Next comes the second love. The one that punches us right in the gut. This love is said to be the hard love, the one that teaches us painful life lessons and places a mirror right in front of our faces. This love hurts. It leaves us with scars because this is the one where we keep cycling through, thinking there may be different outcomes if we just ignore the past and try again. But this love continues to reveal our demons until we learn what was being taught to us.

Then, there's the third love. The one we don't see coming. The one that changes our whole perspective on the meaning of love. Let me tell you a little story....

I have found the love of my life, like seriously, she is my love at first sight. I was at the tail end of a very toxic and unhealthy relationship when I started working at my current job. I was in a very dark place because I was emotionally exhausted, hurt, angry, and just defeated. I guess you can say I FINALLY cycled out of that second love we just spoke about. It was a few days after I started when I met her. As soon as my eyes laid sight on her, it was as if she took my breathe away while simultaneously breathing new life in my lungs.

I was unaware what had hit me. I was captivated by her beauty: her smile, those 2 cute pony tails on the top of her head, her lips, the sparkle in her eyes, the way she moved, her beautiful voice, and her warming presence. I thought for a moment that maybe I was trying to attach myself to someone new so that I could ignore the pain that I was feeling. But I began to realize that that wasn't the case and what I was feeling was more true than I had wanted to believe.

I found myself going into work early to prepare my "Good Morning" with a smile for her as soon as she stepped into the office, I was searching up questions to prepare to ask her everyday to get to know her, I would find myself cooped up in her office for hours just enjoying our conversations and wanting to hear her voice...as if I didn't have work to do myself, I was effortlessly flirting with her as if I was the smoothest criminal to ever walk this earth, and I was ready to make her mine although we had just met.

Everyone who knows me is aware that I hate talking on the phone but with her, I never had to think twice about answering her call. I was actually looking forward to it, I would hold my phone close to me just to be ready to answer when I saw my favorite persons name pop up on the screen.

This beautiful woman is imprinted on my heart and there was no way around it. I literally fell in love with her without hesitation, condition, or reason. She stole my heart and haven't given it back since then. This is the love that makes us rethink and rewrite what we thought about love because it shatters all pre-conceived notions that we graciously build our beliefs on. This is the love that is effortless, freeing, unexplainable, and just pure. We never see it coming but we sure enough enjoy its company.

We are currently friends who have known each other for 2 years now. I have tried to let go of these feelings and have tried to ignore the fact that we share so much chemistry, we mirror each other, and that we have such an unexplainable bond, but deep in my gut, there is a voice that starts yelling at me, "DO NOT GIVE UP. She is your person. Believe in the love she has yet to speak but has shown. The time for you all to come into union is approaching soon, KEEP HOLDING ON".

She is my Soulmate. I never believed in those before I met her. Our story is still being written and I am happy to be on this journey to let love win.

The third love, hold on to it. It will be the best decision you ever make in your life.

love
1

About the Creator

Nikquania Gamble

Hey y'all. I am happy to be on this platform. I have always been fond of writing and how words can have powerful meanings. I am a lover of meaningful and emotion-driving writing. I am a lover of pups and pasta ahaa!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.