Humans logo

The Tale Of You & Me Part 3: Together Again

The third part of our story

By Carlos GuerraPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Greta,

Once again, it is time for me to continue telling our story. When we last left off, it was reaching the end of our first time apart. Throughout the years, I have joked every now and again about being the king of self-destructive behavior. While I may have always said it in a joking manner, I wholeheartedly believe that I have the bad habit of sabotaging anything good going for me in my life. It's undoubtedly one of my worse habits and something that I have recently been trying to address. Unfortunately, my self-destructive tendencies applied to our relationship as well. There's no way for me to sugar coat it Greta, I fucked up. I broke your heart and I was absolutely sure that we wouldn't ever be together again after I did. Although, life can have the habit of surprising us, this time the surprise came in the form of a message that I received from you.

The Message

I'll never forget the night that you chose to reach out to me. I was working the night shift at KFC and was getting ready to close up the store for the night. When I was taking out the trash, my phone went off and I was surprised to see that you had sent me a message through Instagram. I vividly remember how startled I was to see your name across the screen of my cellphone and I paused everything I was doing to read what you had to say. You wanted to thank me for always respecting and never laying my hands on you. You told me that when we were together, I always made you feel safe and that was something you were grateful for. At first, I was unsure of how I should answer; the statements had completely caught me off guard and I didn't want to send back a generic response. Whatever I was going to say when I answered you, I wanted to have put some thought into it first. Finally, after much consideration, I chose to answer you by saying that thanking me was unnecessary, that's how a man was supposed to be but that I was also extremely sorry for how things turned out between us. That was the night that you and I began to speak to each other again and with every passing day, the time we spent talking to each other continued to increase.

Getting Back Together

The more you and I spoke to one another, the more that it became obvious that there were still some feelings between us. Eventually, the subject of us possibly getting back together came up. Before we could do that, however, I had to break up with Sophie first. That wasn't going to be too hard given the fact that the relationship between her and I had been reaching its end either way. There were other conditions that you expected me to meet as well. For starters, you made it very clear that you wouldn't tolerate any bullshit with Sophie or any other girl for that matter. Second, I had to go back to school and finish the last class that I needed in order to get my diploma. You told me that I was way too smart for me not to have my diploma yet. Last but not least, I wasn't, under any circumstances, allowed to disappear again. Whatever life was to throw at us, you wanted me to give you my word that we would deal with it together.

I was thrilled about having the chance to be with you again and was more than willing to do whatever it took for that to happen. This time I was going to do things the way I should've done them the first time around. You might find this hard to believe but us being together again was one of the happiest times of my entire life. Aside from when I was in class or at work, we were usually always together. We would either stay at my mom's, where I was living at the time, or at your place but we rarely ever went a night without sleeping in the same bed. Eventually, my mom and I started bumping heads again and that's when you offered me to move in with you permanently.

datingfriendshiplove
Like

About the Creator

Carlos Guerra

Born on 09-07-95 in Miami, Florida.

Are you a fan of my work?

Follow me on Instagram @Carlos_War @Carlos_thewriter, DM me for requests/feedback

Writers & Readers need to stick together, if you enjoy my work, please subscribe 🧐🤔

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.