Humans logo

The Tainted Heart of Misery

Humanity

By N.Published 18 days ago 3 min read
1

The heart is an organ that pulses in you for as long as you live. It was as though the heart held another purpose. That purpose was to connect our feelings to our mind and body.

I have lived for a short while, but I feel like I've lived forever. Simply because I like to learn about what I find interesting. Most things or subjects are about the past. I've heard, seen, and read the most brutal and horrific as well as the beautiful and peaceful. Even though I lived a short while, I have matured to seem like I've been here for a long time. In my many days, I feel a burden rest upon my shoulders. It hangs there as I walk from place to place. A burden whom I do not know.

Watching life pass by as I sit around, the weight grows steadily heavier. I looked from the busy school halls to the quiet playground across the street and felt misery. The burden that now I knew as misery. Watching friends pass by. Laughing, smiling, and sharing makes my heart ache. Why? I knew the feeling of 'friends' and the feeling of being loved by friends, so why does it pain me now? It's simple. I don't have friends. I'm incapable of keeping friends. Now they are merely acquaintances. A guilty burden, assuming it's my fault, the burden of misery living on my broad shoulders. But is it truly my fault? No, it is of course that they never wanted to be friends to begin with. It's our fault.

Words are like melodies, stories even. My heart yearns for this unwanted misery to leave my body. I know I have words to tell. Praising and agreeing with my opinion are the words that shine upon my heart the most. My heart yearned for it as if it was starving. Although misery will hit back twice as much. For he doesn't like the happiness that I have. Then starvation goes back to my untested heart. The void of misery ever so slowly tainting my life.

Misery. I have known him for as long as I can remember. Why can't I be normal? Why does nobody speak to me on their own time? Why am I alone? What's the point? Why am I alive?... A tainted heart can shatter in an instant. But it's fine. I lived a long time, I know how the world works. I just have to live to find out when it ends. To see the final ending and leave this tainted heart to rest.

The feeling is indescribable, but to put it into one word, it would have to be Monachopsis. This is the burden I feel, the days I felt sombre. The life and emotions I feel... the word monachopsis is one I have always had. Resting on my tired shoulders, whispering its seductive words into my tired mind.

A heart. An organ that connects all life. A fragile piece of life that goes through the worst until the best. A heart. The beginning and ending of a story.

Words of Gratitude:

Thank-you for reading this amateurish work. I hope you found that this was at least different than what you've read before. If not than I'm just glad you made it to the end. Once again, thank you very much for reading "The Tainted Heart of Misery" and I hope you'll read more of my works once I publish them onto Vocal. Feel free to criticise this as much as you'd like. I'd love to hear my mistakes and learn how to make them better.

humanity
1

About the Creator

N.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.